Remove Text Formatting
Loading...

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Varese , Italy
    Posts
    300

    Default how to reprogram 12f675 and 12f629 ?

    hi to all of you in this forum,
    I programmed some 12f675 and 629 and I reassigned the pin that are normally used for programming the chips.
    MCLR, PData and PClock do not have their function anymore.
    I have to reprogram those chips but the PicKit_3 does no longer recognise the chips. So they bicame like an OTP !!!
    I follow some instruction found on the net and suggested in the forum but with no success.
    Any proven procedure available to recover the chips please ?
    Thanks in advance.
    regards,
    Ambrogio

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,923

    Default Re: how to reprogram 12f675 and 12f629 ?

    I will guess that you have the chips in circuit and the three programming pins are connected to something.

    You will need to disconnect the three pins or in some way isolate them from the remainder of your circuit.

    Then you should be able to re-flash them.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    1,194

    Default Re: how to reprogram 12f675 and 12f629 ?

    vcc may need to be 5v also , and sometimes its best to let the pickit provide the power
    This is more entertaining than Free to Air TV

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Varese , Italy
    Posts
    300

    Default Re: how to reprogram 12f675 and 12f629 ?

    Thanks,
    The three programming pins are connected to the PicKit only.
    The 5vdc is applied to the PIC by the circuit : PICKit does no suuply power to Pic.
    No way for now to recover them.
    Bye
    Ambrogio

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Varese , Italy
    Posts
    300

    Default Re: how to reprogram 12f675 and 12f629 ?

    I forgot to say that I have read and applied those instruction:

    http://www.microchip.com/forums/tm.a...&mpage=2&key=&

    Ambrogio

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    1,194

    Default Re: how to reprogram 12f675 and 12f629 ?

    PICKit does no suuply power to Pic.

    that's my point , the pickit needs to provide the power . timing is critical in getting the chip into programming mode
    This is more entertaining than Free to Air TV

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    1,194

    Default Re: how to reprogram 12f675 and 12f629 ?

    vpp must be asserted before vcc to enter pgm mode


    see this for the reason that the pickit must supply the power if your interested [figure2.2]
    http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/e...Doc/41191D.pdf
    This is more entertaining than Free to Air TV

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,923

    Default Re: how to reprogram 12f675 and 12f629 ?

    Ambrogio,

    I am curious as to how you reassigned the functions of these pins. As far as I know it is not possible. The pins can be used for other things such as MCLR can be used as an INPUT, but if programing voltage is applied it is once again part of the programming chain.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Varese , Italy
    Posts
    300

    Default Re: how to reprogram 12f675 and 12f629 ?

    thanks Richard,
    Are you saying I have to remove the power to the PIC (target ) and supply it from the PICKIT only ?
    I forgot to tell that if I connect a brand new pic12f675 everything goes well ...
    Thanks again.
    Bye,
    Ambro

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    1,194

    Default Re: how to reprogram 12f675 and 12f629 ?

    Are you saying I have to remove the power to the PIC (target ) and supply it from the PICKIT only ?
    there is no other way to get the chip into prg mode if the mclr pin is assigned as an input pin

    I forgot to tell that if I connect a brand new pic12f675 everything goes well ...
    a new chip has a mclr pin
    This is more entertaining than Free to Air TV

Similar Threads

  1. can't reprogram 12F615
    By Max Power in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 29th March 2013, 22:22
  2. How to reprogram the OSC cal. 12F675
    By rtsandiego in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 21st April 2010, 23:27
  3. 12F675 won't reprogram or erase
    By modifyit in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: - 19th May 2006, 05:07
  4. 12F629 help
    By willie in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 26th January 2006, 15:27
  5. 12f629
    By MICOCALI in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 16th October 2004, 23:50

Members who have read this thread : 20

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts