Pic to GSM Phone connection (HSerin problems) - Page 7


Closed Thread
Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 345678 LastLast
Results 241 to 280 of 289
  1. #241
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,802

    Default

    Since you can send and receive with the current cable I don't see why you should change it.

    Also please note that the phone might send other characters too, like more CR and LF.

    You said you have only one Com on you PC, ok. You can do a "thief" with two 10K (or even 4K7) that take samples of the Tx and Rx signals while PIC and Mobile are connected together and send them to the Rx pin of the PC Com Port, just to monitor what they are doing while you are not looking. This way you will see exactly what the PIC wants the mobile to do, and what exactly is the mobile responding.

    Please try to take a Screenshot of this and post it.

    Ioannis

  2. #242
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    brighton
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Thanks Ioannis

    I am gonna do that now and would keep you posted

    Isaac

  3. #243
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    brighton
    Posts
    149

    Post

    i am trying to upload the screen shots but keep getting msg that this exceeds 200kb
    Last edited by isaac; - 23rd June 2007 at 16:45. Reason: cant send attachments

  4. #244
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    brighton
    Posts
    149

    Default

    I dont know what happened to my last post.
    i was trying to attach the screen shots but couldn't.
    i connected breakout as you suggested and think i know what the problem is but not the solution lo
    When i connected the Tx/Rx to the Rx of the Pc when i run my program
    the pic is not sending anything to screen at all so this means the phone is not receiving anything so its not responding.
    But if i then disconnect the phone DLR-3 cable from the serial port of my project board i can see the AT command being sent to the phone on screen so i think the phone cable maybe faulty.
    i am still trying to get the shot to you but keep getting this massage below

    Your file of 1.08 MB bytes exceeds the forum's limit of 200.0 KB for this filetype.

    Isaac

  5. #245
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,802

    Default

    Make the file smaller jpg, png, bmp. No more than 200kb. This size is more than enough!

    About the problem not monitoring try smaller resistors like 4K7 or smaller. May be your driver from the PIC side is not powerful. What chip do you use?

    Ioannis

  6. #246
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    brighton
    Posts
    149

    Default

    i use Max232 which comes with the project board

  7. #247
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    brighton
    Posts
    149

    Default here is the results

    here are the results
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #248
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,802

    Default

    What I see is in the first case only AT. Where is the rest of the string?

    Something is not working here. Check your overall setup of the PIC. Are you sure about the loaded program in the PIC memory? Try erasing before programming.

    Should come up with the rest of the commands, like ATZ etc.

    Ioannis

  9. #249
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    brighton
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Sorry about that.
    you would only see AT because the pic times out when it dont get ok back and goes back in the loop
    snipper of code

    'Send SMS Test-Message
    sms:
    HSerout ["AT",13,10]
    HSERIN 5000, SMS,[WAIT("OK")] ' wait for response ok for 5 seconds
    HSerout ["AT+CMGF=1",13,10] 'Set Text Mode
    HSERIN 5000, SMS,[WAIT("OK")] ' wait for response ok for 5 seconds
    HSerout ["AT+CMGS=",34,"+447895711481",34,",129",13,10]
    HSERIN 5000 , SMS, [WAIT(">")]
    HSerout ["Test-Message",10,13]
    HSerout [26]
    Pause 500

    RETURN ' return from subroutine

  10. #250
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    brighton
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Just a thought
    Is there a Difference between DLR-3 & DLR-3P

    Isaac

  11. #251
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,802

    Default

    I don't know the difference between these two.

    But,

    1. Are you sure that Rx and Tx are connected correctly to the mobile? May be they are reversed?

    2. When you tried the mobile with Hyperterminal, did you set the hyperterminal Handshaking to Hardware or to None?

    Ioannis

  12. #252
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    brighton
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ioannis View Post
    I don't know the difference between these two.

    But,

    1. Are you sure that Rx and Tx are connected correctly to the mobile? May be they are reversed?

    2. When you tried the mobile with Hyperterminal, did you set the hyperterminal Handshaking to Hardware or to None?

    Ioannis
    I set it to none
    i even trid a null modem cable but all in vain
    i dont have a scope here at home but i gonna get one 2morrow so i get have a good look

    Isaac

  13. #253
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,802

    Default

    After all the suggestions, I think wishing to you Good Luck is the last resource!

    Ioannis

  14. #254
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    brighton
    Posts
    149

    Thumbs up

    Ioannis

    Just for your info.
    The problem was the cable.
    I borrowed someones DLR-3P cable and it worked great with my project board.
    I noticed that my cable we were having problem with was a DLR-3 cable without the P

    Regards
    Isaac

  15. #255
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,802

    Default

    Oh, doh! What stupid case! I am glad you did it!

    Ioannis

  16. #256
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Phone Connections

    I'm planning to make a security system wherein I can connect any mobile phone. I've seen some connection diagrams of mobile phone, where do we connect the hardware USART of the PIC16F877 to the mobile phone, Mbus or Sbus? I have experience in interfacing the PIC to a GSM module, I was here wondering if anybody knows, is there a similarity in the AT commands of a GSM Module and a mobile phone? Does all phones support text mode? On last thing, I would really appreciate is somebody could provide me websites that give me additional help in this regard. Thanks!!!!!

  17. #257
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,802

    Default

    Mbus or Sbus?

    Depends on the phone.

    Not all mobiles support text. Old Ericsson used to support PDU format only. Nokia's do support text. All of the GSM modules I checked support text too.

    AT commands are common in these modules to control. I'd prefer a module rather than a phone for control applications. See Telit, Wavecom and others too.

    Ioannis

  18. #258
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    33

    Post Buy

    Hi,

    Can I ask where can I buy the data cable DLR-3P ? In any nokia shop? because nowadays a lot of shop only sold the usb one not the serial port...hard to find ya...THANK YOU..

    dragonball

  19. #259
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default help me plz

    I am trying to send sms with siemens c55 by Pic 16f876.I already know at command.I have sent already sms by hyperterminal.And I tried on pic 16f876 ı failed.I dont know where i mistake.Plz help me.my source codes are below...

    my schematic is:

    http://images.elektroda.net/15_1185282984.jpg


    ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

    #include <16f876.h> // Kullanılacak denetleyicinin başlık dosyası
    tanıtılıyor.

    #fuses HS,NOWDT,NOPROTECT,NOBROWNOUT,NOLVP,NOPUT,NOWRT,NO DEBUG,NOCPD //
    Denetleyici konfigürasyon ayarları

    #use delay (clock=20000000) // Gecikme fonksiyonu için kullanılacak
    osilatör frekansı belirtiliyor.

    #use rs232 (baud=9600, xmit=pin_C6, rcv=pin_C7, parity=N, stop=1) //
    RS232 protokolünün 9600 bit/sn baud hızında olacağını ve
    //
    TX,RX uçlarının hangi pinler olacağını tanımlıyor
    //
    parity bitinin olmadığını, stop bitinin 1 bit olacağı belirtiliyor



    unsigned char mesaj_gonder[] = "AT+CMGS=19";
    unsigned char mesaj[] = "0011000C910945447198660000FF05E8329BFD06";

    /********* ANA PROGRAM FONKSİYONU********/

    void main ( )
    {
    setup_spi(FALSE); // SPI birimi devre dışı
    setup_adc_ports(NO_ANALOGS); // ANALOG giriş yok
    setup_adc(ADC_OFF); // ADC birimi devre dışı
    setup_ccp1(ccp_off); // CCP1 devre dışı
    setup_ccp2(ccp_off); // CCP2 devre dışı

    set_tris_c(0x80);



    puts(mesaj_gonder); //AT+CMGS=25
    putchar(0x0D); // Enter tuşuna basılıyo
    delay_ms(3000);
    puts(mesaj); //Message in PDU format
    putchar(0x1A); //Control-z tuşu
    putchar(0x0D); // Enter tuşuna basılıyor
    }

  20. #260
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,802

    Default

    This is not general purpose forum! We do only Pic Basic and specially MELABS PicBasic language!

    Ioannis

  21. #261
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    brighton
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CLLUNLU View Post
    I am trying to send sms with siemens c55 by Pic 16f876.I already know at command.I have sent already sms by hyperterminal.And I tried on pic 16f876 ı failed.I dont know where i mistake.Plz help me.my source codes are below...

    my schematic is:

    http://images.elektroda.net/15_1185282984.jpg


    ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

    #include <16f876.h> // Kullanılacak denetleyicinin başlık dosyası
    tanıtılıyor.

    #fuses HS,NOWDT,NOPROTECT,NOBROWNOUT,NOLVP,NOPUT,NOWRT,NO DEBUG,NOCPD //
    Denetleyici konfigürasyon ayarları

    #use delay (clock=20000000) // Gecikme fonksiyonu için kullanılacak
    osilatör frekansı belirtiliyor.

    #use rs232 (baud=9600, xmit=pin_C6, rcv=pin_C7, parity=N, stop=1) //
    RS232 protokolünün 9600 bit/sn baud hızında olacağını ve
    //
    TX,RX uçlarının hangi pinler olacağını tanımlıyor
    //
    parity bitinin olmadığını, stop bitinin 1 bit olacağı belirtiliyor



    unsigned char mesaj_gonder[] = "AT+CMGS=19";
    unsigned char mesaj[] = "0011000C910945447198660000FF05E8329BFD06";

    /********* ANA PROGRAM FONKSİYONU********/

    void main ( )
    {
    setup_spi(FALSE); // SPI birimi devre dışı
    setup_adc_ports(NO_ANALOGS); // ANALOG giriş yok
    setup_adc(ADC_OFF); // ADC birimi devre dışı
    setup_ccp1(ccp_off); // CCP1 devre dışı
    setup_ccp2(ccp_off); // CCP2 devre dışı

    set_tris_c(0x80);



    puts(mesaj_gonder); //AT+CMGS=25
    putchar(0x0D); // Enter tuşuna basılıyo
    delay_ms(3000);
    puts(mesaj); //Message in PDU format
    putchar(0x1A); //Control-z tuşu
    putchar(0x0D); // Enter tuşuna basılıyor
    }
    From your circuit you have got gnd connected to pin 5
    also if you can communicate to the phone using hyperterminal
    then you need to connect a null modem between your pic and the phone or just swap Tx with Rx

    Isaac

  22. #262
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DragonBall_6 View Post
    Hi,

    Can I ask where can I buy the data cable DLR-3P ? In any nokia shop? because nowadays a lot of shop only sold the usb one not the serial port...hard to find ya...THANK YOU..

    dragonball
    Why don't you make it yourself?

  23. #263
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default data cable

    I also think like that but is it very hard?
    maybe I want to take a try.
    Do you have the schematic or website?

    Thank a lot.

    Peter

  24. #264
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default data cable


  25. #265
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    41

    Cool dlr3p_cable plus hex file for PIC16F84A

    Hi

    Here's my cable i frequently use in my gsm sms-remote control projects hope this helps!!! the dlr3p firmware is a hack version!!!

    original ckt!!!
    http://www.atrox.at/datacable/dlr3/index.html
    Attached Files Attached Files

  26. #266
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    33

    Post How Can connect my Phone to the circuit?

    Thank for the reply..Really thank.....

    May I know in your circuit which part is to connect my handphone connector such as nokia 6100.
    I'm not able to find the serial data cable in the market(malaysia) nowadays to connect my mobile phone. What i can find is the usb connector one not the serial port one.

    Can I connect like this??: handphone-->handphone connector-->usb male-->usb female to female converter------>usb-serial adapter then i can connect to my PC.Is that possible and do i need any driver?????

    Because as i know, to send data thru usb is very complicated so i need to find a way to send data using serial cable. it is much easy.

    Pls advice...

    Thank you very much>>>>

  27. #267
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    41

    Talking GSM to PIC

    Firstly you need to find out if u'r fone is AT-capable most of valid fones have modem dlr3p cable will only work in 6110 series and 7110 series or compatible phones i believe 6100 is using POP-PORT and if u'r talking about USB connection either HOST or PERIPEHERAL mode you will be needing USB to TTL logic converter like those chips from maxim or FTDI because USB is LVDS "low voltage differential signaling" try to find out more about your phones POP-PORT if it sends out TTL and if it is AT-commands compatible and by the way you need to figure out if your phone is can handle TEXT or is PDU by defualt the formeris easier!!! if it is in PDU mode you wont be able to get a response from your phone you will need to be doing translation in your software!!!

    PS.

    The 7-pin in the ckt is directly pin to pin to 6110 or 7110 port i used an old headfone very cheap even the fone is cheap roughly 900 pesos or 20US$

    Yours Trully Ryan

  28. #268
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,802

    Default

    I would strongly recommend to use mobile modules that support native serial communication. Not by USB adaptors.

    Try Wavecom, Telit, Ericsson or other similar. They are made for this purpose.

    Ioannis

  29. #269
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    41

    Talking

    I strongly agree!!! but if u want to do some recycling and by the cheap approach it's worth trying!!!

  30. #270
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leisryan View Post
    Hi

    Here's my cable i frequently use in my gsm sms-remote control projects hope this helps!!! the dlr3p firmware is a hack version!!!

    original ckt!!!
    http://www.atrox.at/datacable/dlr3/index.html
    Bro what do you mean "HACK VERSION" of firmware...

    What part was hack?


    Mabuhay!!

  31. #271
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    41

    Talking HACK dlr3p

    original dlr3p has a propreitary signal which sets up the 6210 series and alike fone inorder to accept data from their PORT unlike older cables MBUS,FBUS etc!!! you can follow the link i posted recently above!!!

  32. #272
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    17

    Default Hack DLR3P

    So what can we benefit for using the "hack" version? can you inumerate the the differences here?

    BR

  33. #273
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    41

    Talking

    I can't bro "tamad ako magsulat" hehehe!!! but the mere fact someone "hacked the cable" instead of buying the expensive one i'm pretty much sure you will find tons of applications!!! RECYCLING is one thing!!!

  34. #274
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    41

    Lightbulb Megasquirt!!!

    EVERYBODY in this Forum AVR-guys are getting so much popular making add-on applications for MEGASQUIRT!!! they even developed this LCDASH dashboard and it's freaken jam-packed!!! i believe if you want PICMICRO to hold its position lets start projects for megasquirt too!!! as a start i created idle servo controller for an old 1992 lancer watch my video!!!


  35. #275
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Cheapest GSM Module

    Can someone help me direct to a website where I can purchase oneline cheap GSM Module? Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

  36. #276
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leisryan View Post
    I can't bro "tamad ako magsulat" hehehe!!! but the mere fact someone "hacked the cable" instead of buying the expensive one i'm pretty much sure you will find tons of applications!!! RECYCLING is one thing!!!
    The DLR3P found on this site http://www.atrox.at/datacable/dlr3/index.html is already "HACKED" of the original..and it is working perfectly..thanks to the author..

  37. #277
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    41

    Wink gsm_module

    Quote Originally Posted by pagi View Post
    Can someone help me direct to a website where I can purchase oneline cheap GSM Module? Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

    Here you go bro look for BENQ gsm modules GPRS capable also using standard AT modem commands!!!

    http://www.e-gizmo.com/

  38. #278
    agnius's Avatar
    agnius Guest

    Default

    i have maked : http://ktl.kauko.lt/~av2/projektai/gsm/1.png

    pic16f84a and phone siemens c55

    test program:

    define OSC 10
    Rx var PORTA.0
    Tx var PORTA.1
    Led VAR PORTA.3

    speed = 84

    start:
    high led
    pause 2000
    serout2 Tx, speed,["ATD+37060000000",13,10] <--- in this step, phone turn off, whay???
    pause 10000
    low led
    end

    for this scheme (http://ktl.kauko.lt/~av2/projektai/gsm/1.png) are hex (http://ktl.kauko.lt/~av2/projektai/gsm/softas/1010.rar) and it work fine
    Last edited by agnius; - 10th December 2007 at 19:48.

  39. #279
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    41

    Question Duh????

    Quote Originally Posted by kasamiko View Post
    The DLR3P found on this site http://www.atrox.at/datacable/dlr3/index.html is already "HACKED" of the original..and it is working perfectly..thanks to the author..
    DUH????? DUH?????

    Quote Originally Posted by leisryan View Post
    Hi

    Here's my cable i frequently use in my gsm sms-remote control projects hope this helps!!! the dlr3p firmware is a hack version!!!

    original ckt!!!
    http://www.atrox.at/datacable/dlr3/index.html

  40. #280
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Laguna
    Posts
    2

    Default help po pls....

    gud day po mga ffriiends. gusto ko lng po humingi ng tulong about our project.\
    title po nun sms controller. anu po bng PIC ang gagamitin? at panu po ba gagawin un? wla po kasi kming idead about dun. pls help po.. salamat... e2 po contact numbver ko po.. 09216625350

Similar Threads

  1. Serial VB 2005 pic 16f877a problems
    By Snap in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: - 8th July 2013, 00:52
  2. HSERIN & Interupts (aka controlling PIC programs from a remote PC)
    By HankMcSpank in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: - 17th June 2009, 14:46
  3. problem with the GSM controller
    By Dariolo in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 30th May 2009, 20:33
  4. Automatic VB6 to pic serial connection
    By arniepj in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: - 10th January 2008, 07:57
  5. Pic to GSM Phone connection
    By samertop in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 14th July 2005, 13:40

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts