Making PBP code more modular

Closed Thread

Hybrid View

forgie Guest

Question Making PBP code more modular

Hi there,
    I've been using PBP on and off for a few years, now semi-professionally. I'm interested in what coding techniques people use to keep their PBP code modular and portable (i.e. the way that you code using C for a PC)...... or should I be using a C compiler to satisfy my desire for modular code? I find that things become unwieldy and messy when I start splitting projects into multiple files, as far as variable/pin declarations go.

I don't want to start the tired old BASIC vs C flamewar here, I just want to know if anyone else uses multiple files for their PBP projects in a way that is properly modular/portable as well as being very readable.

Any code examples/tips/tricks/whatever would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Nick Forge

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Personnaly, i never use Include in my code, i prefer to see everything in my face. I have several routine that i built and i just copy/paste them in my code.
    Steve

It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

I agree with Steve,

I have a number of SUBs I use on many projects.

When I started I used to include them.
    But today, I cut and paste them into my projects for better readability.
    That way I have everything at a glance.
    (No need to look at different files)

It is no real problem to write modular code in PBP.
    agreed, VARs are global,
    but with some creativity you can write modular and readable code
    and minimize RAM usage.
    regards

Ralph

forgie Guest