+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    172

    Default Logic Level Triac

    Hi... I was wondering if anyone has used any of these logic level triacs with a PIC with success and if so any tips you may be able to give are appreciated.
    Regards
    David

    http://www.mouser.com/new/stmicroele...-logic-triacs/

    oops I mean "Logic" not "Logiv" sp.
    Last edited by DavyJones; - 29th March 2015 at 19:36. Reason: spelling

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,254

    Default Re: Logic Level Triac

    Corrected.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Logic Level Triac

    Thanks.... I did not want to be annoying and repost that that because of my spelling mistake.
    David

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Logic Level Triac

    Back.... I just got one of the T410-600T logic level triacs in and my preliminary tests are good. I hooked up the gate to very low current and it switched on a 75watt bulb. It runs very cool the warmest it got so far with my prelimiary test was 94f barely warm to the touch. Of course I unplugged it before I grabbed it but held a digi thermometer to the back of the heat sink. I was going to try a laser thermo probe to make sure I accurate. My next step will be to tie the gate directly to my PIC later this evening. I'll keep everyone posted.
    David

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,254

    Default Re: Logic Level Triac

    CNN April 2 2015: most of Harrisburg Pennsylvania consumed by largest fire in history of United States.

    Robert

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,254

    Default Re: Logic Level Triac

    Quote Originally Posted by DavyJones View Post
    ... I hooked up the gate to very low current and it switched on a 75watt bulb. It runs very cool the warmest it got so far with my prelimiary test was 94f barely warm to the touch. ...
    What voltage?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Logic Level Triac

    Standard voltage from wall plug. Looks like today it is 120.9 ac

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Logic Level Triac

    and... sorry the voltage on the gate is 3.3vdc

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Logic Level Triac

    I'd suggest you use an opt-triac to drive a triac for best protection and ease of use.

    The MOC3041 works very well, just follow the data sheet. Use a zero cross type for best results.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Logic Level Triac

    Agreed... after further consideration I did choose to opto isolate that with an MOC and it's working perfectly.

Similar Threads

  1. PULSIN - Logic Level Voltage Transiion
    By cc1984 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 30th November 2011, 12:51
  2. Weird problem with logic level on pin.
    By HenrikOlsson in forum General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 13th June 2011, 06:31
  3. input logic threshold level for pic 16F628
    By aratti in forum General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 29th December 2008, 11:35
  4. Logic Level Triac
    By emavil in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 29th November 2006, 18:18
  5. Driving a logic-level HEXFET
    By thelightbrain in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 10th November 2004, 23:34

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts