frequency prescaler using PIC


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    97

    Default frequency prescaler using PIC

    hello
    I am not fluent to search on database, I try to reach some thead with the word "DIVIDER" or "frequency" without succes.
    my question is :
    Instead using a lot od 74LS390 dividers to have a 1 Hz output from a 10 Mhz oscillator
    I try to find a solution using a PIC.
    Is somebody has done such application ?

    this will be use in the GPS solution (1pps output) to synchroniqze a 10 Mhz VCXO

    thanks in advance

    Francois F1CHF

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,388


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: frequency prescaler using PIC

    try a search for PLL

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,818


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: frequency prescaler using PIC

    You can use a 32.768 KHz clock crystal on timer 0 to get 1 Hz timer interrupt. Darrel did this for someone recently for a frequency counter or tachometer project. Nice thing is code runs in hardware.
    EDIT: Found it
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...ht=#post125647
    Last edited by Archangel; - 7th August 2014 at 19:49.
    If you do not believe in MAGIC, Consider how currency has value simply by printing it, and is then traded for real assets.
    .
    Gold is the money of kings, silver is the money of gentlemen, barter is the money of peasants - but debt is the money of slaves
    .
    There simply is no "Happy Spam" If you do it you will disappear from this forum.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    97


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: frequency prescaler using PIC

    Thanks for your replies, I found some example using serach with "counter" and "frequency"
    I must explain now with more details
    I don't need to generate a 1hz signal

    I need to divide the signal from a 10 mhz VCXO(variable oscillator depending a control voltage)
    the well know solution is to use 4 IC like 74LS390 .. too big for me ...i term of placement

    That why I am looking for a newer system (example OCXO signal will become the PIC crystal and
    I must find "something" to count up to 10.000.000 pulses , I know that we are working with Words
    each time the word register is full, I will add 1 in a second register (up to 152 times) remaining
    is 38680 ....
    may be I am "outside my shoes ...." French expression ...

    this 1hz signal (from VCXO) will be compared with a GPS signal (called 1 pps) this GPS is one of
    the best reference to get the lowest PPM deviation

    output from the comparator will be injected to the VCXO, this is in fact a PLL system !

    all the PLL integrated circuits I know, don't have the internal divider up to 10 millions
    I know that I can put a prescaler between the OCXO to feed the PIC but if can avoid it
    it will be great !

    hope my "spannish writing" is enough clear

    Francois

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,388


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: frequency prescaler using PIC

    if you used a 16bit timer interrupt (say the timer is preloaded with (65536 -7 -10000 )) and its clock source the 10mhz osc that would give you a 1khz signal .
    if that was incremented into a word var and subtracted from 1000 on an edge signal of the pps you would then have a + or minus error signal .
    but how you could use that error to vary the vco is another story and would the resolution be fine enough ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,614


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: frequency prescaler using PIC

    a pair of CD 4059 ???

    ... ooooops....

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    97


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: frequency prescaler using PIC

    hello
    I didn't answer to Richard, I must rere read the timer and interrupt story and make a test first ...
    for the CD4059 it's an idea !
    I have already said "the well know solution is to use 4 IC like 74LS390 .. too big for me ...i term of placement
    there is also an other way, using FPGA item ... I have a good contact to test this solution (not easy to understand)
    thanks
    Francois

Similar Threads

  1. Maximum frequency output from a PIC
    By NickMu in forum General
    Replies: 68
    Last Post: - 5th December 2013, 20:38
  2. Changing PreScaler during interrupt
    By bcd in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 1st May 2008, 13:48
  3. Measuring change of frequency with PIC
    By Aussie in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 19th July 2007, 01:47
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 10th February 2006, 01:04
  5. Frequency Counter using PIC and PicBasic
    By PICtron in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: - 28th January 2005, 06:20

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts