Remove Text Formatting
Loading...

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    Default How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?

    Could someone please point me in the right direction to some ACCURATE instructions on how to get the PBP3 compiler to be seen in MPLABX? I have googled for hours, and everything I find is 8.x, and none of it seems to remotely apply to X....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,535

    Default Re: How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?

    Good luck getting any sort of help. MElabs and Mecanique seem to be too busy with other projects to support their legacy products. I recently purchased PBP Pro 3.0 and MCSP full version and am disappointed to find that MCSP particularly provides ZERO support.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?

    Cyberdove, what are you doing to request assistance? I usually get prompt replies from emails, and Charles (at ME Labs) has shown generosity with his time on the phone. I have never attempted to utilize tech support from MCSP.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,531

    Default Re: How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyberdove View Post
    Good luck getting any sort of help. MElabs and Mecanique seem to be too busy with other projects to support their legacy products. I recently purchased PBP Pro 3.0 and MCSP full version and am disappointed to find that MCSP particularly provides ZERO support.
    the question could be ...

    What's your problem ? Both are quite straightforward.

    moreover MCPSX gives you a straight link to the Melabs Forum ( Where Charles Leo himself can help you ... ) ... so you just have to hit your HELP tab !!!

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?

    I'm getting hung up:

    "3) Mark PBP Tool Chain and PicBasic Language Syntax"

    PicBasic Language Syntax is not showing up as one of the options. Did find the PBP Tool Chain option.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    95

    Default Re: How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?

    Those instructions are from a much older version of MPLABX. The Language Syntax plugin is no longer available.

    A number of features no longer work the same way (if they work at all). Last time I tried it source level debugging was just about useless.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?

    Last time I tried it source level debugging was just about useless.
    I agree , i'm heading back to mikro C for new projects . their latest update enables source level debugging for some of the newer chips ,finally!
    This is more entertaining than Free to Air TV

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?

    So if I understand correctly, there is absolutely no advantage (debugging) to going through a massive ordeal to attempt to get PBP3 to work in the new MPLABX over the MicroStudio?!?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,535

    Default Re: How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?

    Hmm, source level debugging seems a distant dream for PBP.

    But to be fair, the language syntax of PBP is much more straight forward than C so it is easier to debug and correct errors.

    Still, debugging is on top of my wish list.

    Ioannis

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?

    But to be fair, the language syntax of PBP is much more straight forward than C
    not if you include usercommands and asm code blocks .
    and that's the only thing that keeps pbp3 viable for me
    This is more entertaining than Free to Air TV

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?

    Quote Originally Posted by mpgmike View Post
    Cyberdove, what are you doing to request assistance? I usually get prompt replies from emails, and Charles (at ME Labs) has shown generosity with his time on the phone. I have never attempted to utilize tech support from MCSP.
    I used MCSP years ago and got prompt support directly from them. Now - nothing.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    1,202

    Default Re: How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?

    Quote Originally Posted by richard View Post
    I agree , i'm heading back to mikro C for new projects . their latest update enables source level debugging for some of the newer chips ,finally!
    wrong [again] its almost if nobody wants anyone to be able to use 8 bit pic chips any longer .

    the chips can be now compiled for and programmed but that's it , no icd support.

    pic16f1619 is a no go for icd
    This is more entertaining than Free to Air TV

Similar Threads

  1. Integrate PBP3 in MPLABX.
    By Ziko87 in forum PBP3
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 21st May 2013, 13:41
  2. PBP3 Long setup
    By iphillipsca in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 30th October 2012, 21:03
  3. Can't get ISIS/Proteus VSM to work with PBP3 and MPLABX
    By chicowoodhill in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: - 28th July 2012, 20:45
  4. PIC16F777 - setup
    By orjon1 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 2nd June 2011, 20:17
  5. ADCIN setup help need
    By dangill in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 26th February 2008, 16:22

Members who have read this thread : 25

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts