Remove Text Formatting
Loading...

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    To install PBP in MPLAB X 1.95:
    0) First download MPLAB X from http://www.microchip.com/pagehandler...family/mplabx/ and install it, then run.'<< Added later
    1) Go to Tools>Plugins
    2) Select tab Available Plugins
    3) Mark PBP Tool Chain and PicBasic Language Syntax
    4) Click "Install"(Require internet connection), after installation plugins should be visible in installed tab
    5) Restart MPLAB X
    6) Tools>Option
    7) Select tab Embedded then click "Add...",
    8) Browse to "C:\PBP3", do not open folder, just select.
    9) And that's all, folks
    To create new project:
    1) File>New project>"Next"
    2) chose PIC>"Next"
    3) Select programmer/Debugger>"Next"
    4) Select PICBasic pro>"Next"
    5) Enter project name, Set as Main Project>"Finish"
    Now add source file:
    1) Right click on Source Files in project tree
    2) New>Other> click Basic directory, select PICBASIC file>"Next"
    3) Enter name(Must be without spaces)>Finish, Now file is visible in project tree.
    Enable Long
    4) File>Project Properties> PBPW> check PBPL Compilation.
    Add few lines, try to debug... Right click on toolbar to customize, to add step, Add PIC memory view, configuration bits, etc...
    Attachment 7151
    Now there is little problem with debugging WORD and LONG var's and bit's. Just with that
    As you can see, only first byte is showing.
    Add new watch, but this time by entering address of variable, not name.
    Watch are case sensitive.
    Attachment 7152
    And select size of var(WORD=16bit, Long=32 bits),
    And now we can see actual value in variables.
    Define byte container for bits, eg
    BitCont var byte
    LightOn var BitCont.0
    And then add BitCont to watch... Another way is to find PBP's byte container in .mac file if I can remember correctly. Right click to customize layout...
    Attachment 7153
    Note that address of Z isn't same. So watch out for that. Every time when variables is added/removed, check address...
    Check out local history by right click on file name
    Attachment 7154
    And save often, sometimes when I pres shift and "[" or "]" by mistakes, it should just add char "{" or "}" but 99,9 won't add char, it will freeze...
    On 1.70 version after minute or so you can click save button if you have luck. On this version seems to stuck forever...
    I hope this will be helpful...
    Attached Images Attached Images     

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,566

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    Thanks to the above tutorial, I have been triggered to install and try for the first time the MPLAB-X v2.00.

    All went smooth and got my first small program compiled succesfully.

    I don't know if I will continue on MPLAB-X IDE or MicroCode Studio, since the latter is much more quicker in setting up an new project.

    I wonder if anyone else has seen all these new files in the User Document Folder spread around, like MPLABXLog.xml.*

    Can I delete these?

    Ioannis

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,566

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    While I was trying to use PicKit3 with MPLAB-X v2.00, there was a very persistent problem. Target chip was detected but with wrong ID!

    The solution is to lower the Power from Pickit3 from 5V to say 4.875...

    Well, I think that I was just fine with the stand alone PicKit3 programmer.

    Ioannis

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    I found MPLAB X files all over system. In C, User doc, app data, temp files, etc. Just ignore them, if you can't then delete them, and if something doesn't work, just reinstall MPLAB.
    I use 3.3V for PIC power supply, so I didn't notice problem with ID's.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,566

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    Have not tested at 3.3 volt. It is dissaponting that this problem exist back from 1.6 version...!

    Also Watch window does not show the variables of the program. Only PIC registers. And they do not change as I step the program...

    I do not think I am going to use this IDE. OK, installed it just to have the latest *.inc files but I am not happy to change.

    MicroCode Studio is just fine for now.

    Ioannis

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    Watch are case sensitive. As you can see you can watch variables:
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/atta...achmentid=7153
    And they change with step.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,566

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    Tried to add a watch but the list gave only the SFRs and none of my variables.

    Ioannis

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    Duble click on last line(<Enter New Watch>), and just type name, then enter

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,566

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    Really? Will try it soon.

    Thanks,

    Ioannis

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    Also open Program memory window so you can see each step.
    If you have arrays, open RAM(file registers window).
    To find address of first element, add array to watch. This will show only first byte, but also show address, so you can easy locate start of array in ram.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,566

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    Thanks for the tips. Will test that too.

    In general, there is a big overhead in using the MPLAB-X comparing to MCS. Also the problem with the Pickit is annoying too.

    To add a +, the new look and feel is much nicer than the old classic cold MPLAB 8.x

    Ioannis

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    For me only reason for using MPLAB is debugging using ICSP pins.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,168

    Default Re: To install PBP in MPLAB X 1.95

    Yeah, I SO wish they could/would add source level debugging to MCSP, code folding and other editor features would be nice too but source level debugging would be gold. It has been THE ONLY reason I've ever tried to get MPLAB going.

    Anyway, pedja, I thank you for the writeup! I'd be sure to go thru it next time I feel forced to try MPLAB.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default Re: To install PBP in MPLAB X 1.95

    I'm glad I could help

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,245

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    Quote Originally Posted by pedja089 View Post
    For me only reason for using MPLAB is debugging using ICSP pins.
    I'm still using my Microchip USB programmer, no debugging via ICSP for me.

    Robert

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    TURKIYE-KONYA
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    I'm using MPLABX IDE v3.40. Installed "PBP Tool Chain" and added PBP3 in options/embedded/build tools.

    After all of them, i wanted to make new project. I sellected PBP3 for compiling but i couldnt add a new PBP3 file to source file. All C or asm types i can see but PBP files. Is there anybody to success this?

    Name:  Untitled.jpg
Views: 490
Size:  72.5 KB

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default Re: PIC Configurator

    No as far as I know, it is bug...
    Download 2.35 or 2.05.
    Both version work for me really good, but all version I tried it freezes when I press "`"

  18. #18

    Default Re: To install PBP in MPLAB X 1.95

    Since the old V2 LanguageToolsuite plugin isn't compatible with MPLABX 3 you'll have to add the file by hand.
    Either create the file outside MPLABX or from the screen you're showing scroll down in the 'File Types' window
    and select 'Empty File'.

    There you can create a file with any extension. Be sure to use '.pbp'

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    TURKIYE-KONYA
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: To install PBP in MPLAB X 1.95

    Quote Originally Posted by pedja089 View Post
    No as far as I know, it is bug...
    Download 2.35 or 2.05.
    Both version work for me really good, but all version I tried it freezes when I press "`"
    Quote Originally Posted by tumbleweed View Post
    Since the old V2 LanguageToolsuite plugin isn't compatible with MPLABX 3 you'll have to add the file by hand.
    Either create the file outside MPLABX or from the screen you're showing scroll down in the 'File Types' window
    and select 'Empty File'.

    There you can create a file with any extension. Be sure to use '.pbp'
    Thank you for your answers. I made a new .pbp file with no problem and compiled well but i cant see highlighters for basic commands now.

  20. #20

    Default Re: To install PBP in MPLAB X 1.95

    but i cant see highlighters for basic commands now
    And you won't without the language toolsuite plugin.

    For that you'd need to go back to MPLABX 2.35 and install the old PBP MPLABX support files.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    TURKIYE-KONYA
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: To install PBP in MPLAB X 1.95

    Quote Originally Posted by tumbleweed View Post
    And you won't without the language toolsuite plugin.

    For that you'd need to go back to MPLABX 2.35 and install the old PBP MPLABX support files.
    I installed old version now everything is ok. i hope we can use last versions of mplabx with pbp3. thank you very much.

Similar Threads

  1. pbp 3 and MPLAB X
    By Marcick in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: - 1st January 2017, 16:12
  2. PBP 2.6 and MPLAB 8.4
    By ChrisKiwi in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 13th December 2011, 08:02
  3. Can't find "Install MPLAB Plugin"
    By Charles Linquis in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 20th March 2010, 04:22
  4. MPLAB and PBP ...
    By Acetronics2 in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 28th August 2008, 20:51
  5. How to install new programmer to MCS+
    By fnovau in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 6th February 2008, 14:37

Members who have read this thread : 11

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts