Beginner I2C Questions

Closed Thread

Default Beginner I2C Questions

I have a PIC18F13K50 (Master) which I'm trying to transmit some I2C commands to a DTMF chip (PCD3312 - Slave).
    The processor has an inbuilt 16Mhz oscillator so I assume I include a "DEFINE I2C_SLOW 1" declaration to operate the I2C in standard 100KHz mode? Do I need to set any additional I2C timing registers directly through the processor or does PBP look after that?
    What are the suggested resistance values for the data and clock lines for I2C?
    Do I need to set these pins to digital inputs or just inputs?

Thanks for any help,

Troy

Default Re: Beginner I2C Questions

Oops:
    What are the suggested resistance values for the data and clock lines for I2C?

should read: What are the suggested pull up resistance values I should use for the data and clock lines for I2C?

Thanks,

Troy

Quote Originally Posted by rocket_troy View Post
    Oops:
    What are the suggested pull up resistance values I should use for the data and clock lines for I2C?
    4.7K There's a good diagram in the manual - look at the I2CREAD command.

I've never bothered with I2CSLOW - PBP seems to set up all the registers by itself and it works fine.

Good luck!
    "I have noticed that even those who assert that everything is predestined and that
    we can change nothing about it still look both ways before they cross the street"

-Stephen Hawking

Hi,
    I've never actually done anything with I2C so I'm no expert - by far.