Electro-hydraulic actuator

Closed Thread

Default Electro-hydraulic actuator

I need to control an electro hydraulic actuator from a PIC. I've some experience with doing this, but the actuator schematic has me a bit confused. The data sheet indicates that you swap the + and - leads to change direction. An h bridge should work, but the data sheet shows doing it with a SPDT switch/relay. I've attached the data sheet, can someone clue me in here?
    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Default Re: Electro-hydraulic actuator

Hi,
    It seems to me like that SPDT (with center position off) switch controlls two relays/contactors (CR1 and CR2). The contacts of these relays/contactors forms a H-bridge.

/Henrik.

Their schematic is confusing..
    You will need two switches/relays.
    Page three of the attachment figure B should help.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

Thanks for taking a look at it. I assumed it was an hbridge switching polarity with a secondary relay to cut power. The unit will draw upwards of 40 amps max, with a typical draw of around 20 amps at 12 vdc.
    I've started looking for suitable relays, but have not found much other than automotive type relays. I have not found anything with a DPDT configuration to change the polarity with. I did find a few SPDT units but still looking. Any suggestions would be great!
    Thanks, have a great Holidays

Replace the SPDT unit with two SPNO units.
    Your logic should actuate none or only one of the SPNO units at any given time.
    Both SPNO units ON is what you want to stay away from.

Nick

I always seem to end up up using automotive SPDT for things like this, mainly because they are easy to find and reliable.
    Use two and have the coils wired together so they are both energized at the same time giving you a DPDT. Be sure to use a fuse just in case....
    Dave