16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    653

    Default 16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?

    So I want to use pin 4 (RA3) as a switch input pin, I've enabled weak pullups...I measure 5V on there - all seems as it should, but whenever I press a switch (which ground the pin), the PIC resets (I have an Hserout command at the top of my code, so I see the word "reset" only if erhm,....the PIC has reset!)

    So I have this as the config.....

    Code:
    @ __CONFIG _CONFIG1, _FCMEN_OFF & _FOSC_INTOSC & _WDTE_OFF & _MCLRE_OFF & _CP_ON & _IESO_OFF & _BOREN_OFF & _PWRTE_OFF
    @ __CONFIG _CONFIG2, _PLLEN_OFF & _STVREN_OFF
    I thought the bolded entry allowed me to use pin 4 (RA3) as a normal digital input.

    Is there anything else I have to do to stop the PIC barfing just for grounding the MCLR pin?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Storrs, Ct.
    Posts
    91


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?

    That pic is new to me but it looks like you may also need to check the configuration word 1 bit 6.
    "It will never happen here!" just happened here.
    My thoughts and prayers for Sandy Hook victims and families.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida USA
    Posts
    642


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?

    Are you using an external pullup resistor for your switch configuration?
    "No one is completely worthless. They can always serve as a bad example."

    Anonymous

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    653


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?

    Quote Originally Posted by rsocor01 View Post
    Are you using an external pullup resistor for your switch configuration?

    no...if i'm reading the datasheet correctly, it is possible to use a weak pullup for that pin, which is what i've done...

    Code:
    OPTION_REG.7 = 0
    WPUA =  %00011000
    IOCAN = %00011000

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida USA
    Posts
    642


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?

    Quote Originally Posted by HankMcSpank View Post
    no...if i'm reading the datasheet correctly, it is possible to use a weak pullup for that pin, which is what i've done...
    Hmmm, try using an external resistor (maybe 4.7K Ohms) and see if you have the same problem. You might be drawing too much current when closing the switch and that might be causing the problem.
    "No one is completely worthless. They can always serve as a bad example."

    Anonymous

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    653


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?

    just tried an external pullup resistor on RA3 (vs internal weak pullup)- same results.....if I ground RA3 (MCLR pin), the PIC resets

    ...aaaaaaarrrrgggHHHH

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?

    Before programming your PIC, you've checked the configuration bits in your device programmer software and they match your code right?

    Are you sure your programmer do it right?
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    653


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?

    If it helps, I'm using a Pickit2 programmer ...whilst I've been away from all of this for a while, I don't recall having to do anything special previously wrt the programmer when using RA3 as a digital input (albeit probably using a different chip).

    Just moved the Sitch off RA3...to another input pin, device is not resetting now whe the switch is pressed, so it is definitely related to when RA3 goes low, the 16f1824 is resetting!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?

    post your .hex files here, just for double-checking purpose.

    Are your compiling under MPLAB or MCS?

    Still on PBP 2.60?
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?

    A shot in the dark, but what if you add
    _LVP_OFF
    to config_2
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    653


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit View Post
    A shot in the dark, but what if you add
    _LVP_OFF
    to config_2
    "A long shot....but it might just work" (as they say in the movies), and whaddayaknow.....

    BINGO!

    with _LVP_OFF ....no resetee, ....*but* without that _CONFIG2 entry, my 16f1824 resets every time RA3 goes low.


    So Mr Mackrackit ...choose any cuddly toy from the top shelf!

    How bizarre - many thanks, it would have taken me a few weeks to get that one! (& it's just come flooding back why I took a break from these puppies in the first place - ie. somtimes they're *way* obtuse!)


    Thanks for *everyone's* input!
    Last edited by HankMcSpank; - 6th May 2012 at 18:12.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?

    One thing I may suggest... never under do the config fuse lines.... I mean, grab the whole list available in the .INC file and assign each of them, OFF or ON.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  13. #13


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16f1824 MCLR pin going low causes PIC to reset - what am I missing?

    It's explained on the 16f1824 data sheet. See pages 52 and 54. LVP must be 0 for MCLR to turn off. LVP is set to 1 on any reset.

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts