Group - ungroup of commands


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    573

    Default Group - ungroup of commands

    Hi !
    I need to do this : when I push a button (main program), I send through a pin this command (gosub command): Header, body,pause, body, pause .. where "body" repeat as long I push the button ( header it's something like "010001010", where 0 is us pause, 1 is "x" us of logic "1" ; the body resembles header).
    Next time when I push the button, the command must be the same : Header, body, pause, body, pause, so on, so on ...
    I cant find a way to send just for one time the header at each press of button ... I try to increment one variable (n=n+1) but wherever I put its reset, the results are not the expected ... the entire command are send (including header).
    Please, give me a clue ! Thanks in advance ! Regards !

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bombay, India
    Posts
    947


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    Something like this?

    Code:
    main:
    
         ' somewhere in main
    
        if ButtonIsPressed then gosub ButtonProcess
    
        goto main
    
    
    ButtonProcess:
         gosub SendHeader                    ' send the 010001010 pattern with this subroutine
         while ButtonIsPressed               ' as long as the button remains pressed,
              gosub SendBody                 ' send the body pattern
              Pause xxx                          ' followed by the pause
         wend                                      ' loop @ while statement
    
         '  when button is released, you may want to send something too!!
         gosub SendTrailer                    ' similar to the header but sent at end of button press.  Makes it a bit exciting !!
    return
    Regards

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    573


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    Thank You !
    Unfortunately, my code it's a little ... special and this procedure dont work ...
    My code :
    Code:
    Main:
    ;reading buttons on line 2    
        Portb.0 = 0
        TrisA.1 = 1
        pause 10
        status_3 = PortA & 011100
        Portb.0 = 1
        TrisA.1 = 0
        select case status_3
                    case 12
                    Gosub Starting  ; this is "header"
                    Gosub Sursa     ; ths is "body"
                    case 20
                    Gosub Starting  ; this is "header"
                    Gosub VolUp     ; this is "body", composed by Adresa + VolUp
                    case 24
                    Gosub Starting
                    Gosub VolDn 
        end select                       
    Goto main
    
    STARTING:
    PORTB.4 = 0
    pauseus 8400
    PORTB.4 = 1
    pauseus 4200
    Return
    
    ADRESA:
        For i = 0 to 7
        lookup2 i, [a,a,a,a,b,b,b,a], j
        PORTB.4 = 0
        PauseUs 526
        PORTB.4 = 1
        PauseUs j
        next i 
    Return
    
    VolUp:
    GOSUB ADRESA
        for i = 0 to 7
        lookup2 i, [b,b,a,b,b,b,b,a], j
        PORTB.4 = 0
        PauseUs 526
        PORTB.4 = 1
        PauseUs j
        next i
    Pause 12    
    Return
    Last edited by fratello; - 4th May 2012 at 17:49.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,516


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    Why wouldn't Jersons procedure work with that code? You just need to think about how it works and APPLY it to your program...


    Code:
    case 12
      Gosub Starting  ; this is "header"
      While (PortA & %00011100) = 12
        Gosub Sursa     ; ths is "body"
      Wend
    OR, if you want to be SURE to send 'body' atleast one time.
    Code:
    case 12
      Gosub Starting  ; this is "header"
      Gosub Sursa
      While (PortA & %00011100) = 12
        Gosub Sursa     ; ths is "body"
      Wend
    Also, since you're always sending the header you could move that to outside of the Select Case structure. Send 'header' then select which 'body' to send. That'll save a couple of GOSUBS.

    /Henrik.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    573


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    Still don't work...
    First try:
    Code:
    ;reading buttons on line 2    
        Portb.0 = 0
        TrisA.1 = 1
        pause 10
        status_3 = PortA & %00011100
        Portb.0 = 1
        TrisA.1 = 0
        select case status_3
                     case 20
                     gosub starting
                     While (PortA & %00011100) = 20
                     Gosub VolUp
                     wend
         end select 
    Goto Main
    the "code" generated is ... totally inadequate (picture 1).

    Second try :
    Code:
    ;reading buttons on line 2    
        Portb.0 = 0
        TrisA.1 = 1
        pause 10
        status_3 = PortA & %00011100
        Portb.0 = 1
        TrisA.1 = 0
        select case status_3
                     case 20
                     gosub Starting
                     Gosub VolUp
                     While (PortA & %00011100) = 20
                     Gosub VolUp
                     wend
         end select                       
    Goto main
    the "code" generated is ...full, with "header" at any VolUp command ! (picture 2).
    What do I do wrong ?
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,516


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    Hi,
    One possible cause is that when you read PortA inside the WHILE-WEND loop PortA.1 is not read properly since you make it an output before entering the loop. If you're going to read the pins they need to be inputs.

    /Henrik.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    573


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    Wherever I put this code (While (PortA & %00011100) = 20 : Wend) the result are always the same : full command is sending.

    Recap :
    - if I push button for VolUp (case 20) I need to send this code : Starting (heading) , followed by VolUp command (body). If the VolUp it still pressed, while the button is pressed, only body must be sending ;
    - the next time I press VolUp, the whole process must be repeated : Starting, followed by body while buton is pressed ...

    Maybe instead of (While (PortA & %00011100) = 20 : Wend) I must use another command ... but I dont realise which one ...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    573


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    Bingo ?!
    Code:
    ;reading buttons on line 2    
        Portb.0 = 0
        TrisA.1 = 1
        pause 10
        status_3 = PortA & %00011100
    ;    Portb.0 = 1
    ;    TrisA.1 = 0
        select case status_3
                    case 20
                    gosub starting
                    while (PortA & %00011100) = 20
                    gosub volup
                    wend
        end select                       
        Portb.0 = 1 ; I've moved these here
        TrisA.1 = 0  ;   "  "
    Goto main
    I think You are right again, Mr. Henrik ! I will made hardware test and post the results ! Thanks ! Regards !

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    573


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    The code posted earlier ...
    Code:
    ;reading buttons on line 2         
    Portb.0 = 0     
    TrisA.1 = 1     
    pause 10     
    status_3 = PortA & 011100     
          select case status_3                 
          case 20                 
          gosub starting                 
                 while (PortA & 011100) = 20                 
                        gosub volup                 
                 wend     
          end select                            
    Portb.0 = 1      
    TrisA.1 = 0   
    Goto main
    Work verry, verry fine !!!
    Thank You, Mr.Henrik !!!
    Last edited by fratello; - 9th May 2012 at 14:01.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    573


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    Mr.Henrik, I need Your advice, again ...
    I make some "experiments" with my specific matrix ... searching for best solution.
    I use the code from previous post, with good results.
    But now I need to have a little different function of buttons.
    I need to have portb.x = 1 while correspondent button.x is pressed.
    I don't understand why the code don't work proper ...
    Code:
    @ __config _INTRC_OSC_NOCLKOUT & _WDT_OFF & _PWRTE_ON & _MCLRE_OFF & _BODEN_ON & _LVP_OFF 
    include "alldigital.pbp"
       Define   OSC 4           ' 4MHz 
       CMCON = 7                ' Disable on-chip comparator, PORTA in digital mode
    
    
    TRISA = %00011100           ; coloane la RA2, 3, 4 ; randuri la RA1, 0 ,7 
    PORTA = %00011100
    PORTB = %00000000
    TRISB = %00000000
    
    status_1 VAR BYTE
    
    Main:
    ;reading buttons on row 1
    PortA.0 = 0
    TrisA.1 = 1
    pause 10
    status_1 = PortA & %00011100
    ;    PortA.0 = 1
    ;    TrisA.1 = 0
    select case status_1
                    
    case 12
      while status_1 = 12
      portb.1 = 1
      wend
      portb.2 = 0 
    
    case 20
      while status_1 = 20
      portb.2 = 1
      wend
      portb.2 = 0
                    
    case 24
      while status_1 = 24
      portb.3 = 1
      wend
      portb.3 = 0
        
    end select
    PortA.0 = 1
    TrisA.1 = 0
    
    Goto main
    I KNOW I made some mistakes, but I DONT KNOW where ... Please, can You help me ?! Thank You so much !
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,516


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    You're not updating status_1 within the while-wend loop so it will always be whatever it was when you entered that loop.
    Code:
    status_1 = PortA & %00011100     '<---This is where status_1 gets its value.
    ;    PortA.0 = 1
    ;    TrisA.1 = 0
    select case status_1
                    
    case 12
      while status_1 = 12    ' <---- Here, if you don't "refresh" the status_1 variable within the loop its value will NEVER change.
      portb.1 = 1
      wend
      portb.2 = 0
    /Henrik.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    573


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    Hm, now is clear why don't work !
    It's possible to refresh this status ? I guess not ..
    Or it's another way to get results ?
    Sorry I am so dumb ...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    573


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    LE : Solution (not so elegant, but working) :
    Code:
    Main:
    ;reading buttons on row 1
    PortA.0 = 0
    TrisA.1 = 1
    pause 10
    if porta.2 = 0 then
      portb.1 = 1
    while porta.2=0 :  wend
      portb.1 = 0 
    endif
    
    if porta.3 = 0 then
      portb.2 = 1
    while porta.3=0 :  wend
      portb.2 = 0
    endif
                    
    if porta.4 = 0 then
      portb.3 = 1
    while porta.4=0 : wend
      portb.3 = 0
    endif
    
    PortA.0 = 1
    TrisA.1 = 0
    
    
    ;reading buttons on line 2    
    Portb.0 = 0
    TrisA.1 = 1
    pause 10
    if porta.2 = 0 then
      portb.4 = 1
    while porta.2=0 :  wend
      portb.4 = 0 
    endif
    
    if porta.3 = 0 then
      portb.5 = 1
    while porta.3=0 :  wend
      portb.5 = 0
    endif
                    
    if porta.4 = 0 then
      portb.6 = 1
    while porta.4=0 : wend
      portb.6 = 0
    endif
    
    Portb.0 = 1
    TrisA.1 = 0
        
    Goto main

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,516


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    Hi,
    It's possible to refresh this status ? I guess not ..
    Of course there is, same way as you got the status in the first place, here with a little twist:
    Code:
    Main:
    GOSUB GetStatus    ' Get inital state
    
    Select Case status_1
    
    Case 12
      PortB.1 = 1
      WHILE status_1 = 12
      GOSUB GetPortStatus    ' <--- Now we'll update status_1 so we know when the button is released.
      WEND
      PortB.1 = 0 
    
    '.... And so on
    '.... and so on
    '.... and so on
    
    Goto Main
    
    GetPortStatus:
       status_1 = PortA & %00011100
    RETURN
    /Henrik.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    573


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    Wow ! Nice ! Thanks !
    How far am I from this technique ...

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,516


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Group - ungroup of commands

    Just stick with it.
    Make sure you always try to really think what's going on, think what the program is actually doing and what the cause of that is.

    Like, OK, when the value of this or that variable is 12 I'm going to loop around here untill the value is no longer 12 - that's fine. What makes the variable change value? Well nothing because I'm not evaluating anything within the loop. Duh, I need to make sure the value CAN change by reading the port and evaulate the result WITHIN the loop, not outside of it....

    /Henrik.

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts