+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    792

    Default VB6 and Win7 (off-topic discussion from Multicalc thread)

    Unfortunatly, VB6 cannot be installed on win7!

    Al.
    Last edited by Demon; - 25th March 2012 at 23:36. Reason: We went OT in Steve's thread so I moved things here since the information is still helpful.
    All progress began with an idea

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    1,816

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    Thanks for the heart attack Al.

    But I can develop on the XP machine and copy the executable to the Win 7 64-bit system, right?

    Robert

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    792

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    That should work, Robert.

    Cheers

    Al.
    All progress began with an idea

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,270

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    I had a small VB6 executable that was developed on a XP and it runs just fine on a Win7-64.

    It was for callories and weight check (for boys and girls). Very PIC related...!

    Ioannis

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul, The Only City and The Only Place That Connects Two Continents
    Posts
    1,090

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    Quote Originally Posted by Ioannis View Post
    I had a small VB6 executable that was developed on a XP and it runs just fine on a Win7-64.

    It was for callories and weight check (for boys and girls). Very PIC related...!

    Ioannis
    PIC = Practical Imbalance Calculator
    "Either appear as who you are or be as you appear. Whoever you are, you are welcomed to join us anyway." - Mevlana

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,270

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    You got it!

    Ioannis

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,896

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    Quote Originally Posted by Demon View Post
    Thanks for the heart attack Al.

    But I can develop on the XP machine and copy the executable to the Win 7 64-bit system, right?

    Robert
    Yes you can, but you really want to move on .NET buddy ASAP. I doubt the executable will work AS IS, you may want to create an installation Package first to include all extra dll & components.

    You can do a lot with all EXPRESS version, VB, C# & so forth. Of course, full version of Visual Studio offer more tools & template.

    Lot of info & code example all over the place. CodeProject is also a nice place to grab some knowledge.

    If you want, I have the installation package for the PICMultiCalc somewhere... it just don't fit the max upload limit of the forum
    Last edited by mister_e; - 24th March 2012 at 10:18.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,270

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    Steve, does the Express version:

    1. Create Installer for program distribution as VB6 did?

    2. Does the new VB Studio support Serial Ports?

    Ioannis

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,896

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    The Express version create an "ExpressInstaller", says a "one click setup". You can't specify any path, no EULA, no nothing. It's meant for easy software distribution. You can't sale any software made with any EXPRESS version either.

    Yes it has a native SerialPort support. It's not limited to COM16 like VB6 (unless you "patch" the OCX). Easy Easy.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  10. #10

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    Quote Originally Posted by aratti View Post
    Unfortunatly, VB6 cannot be installed on win7!

    Al.
    I beg to differ.

    I have VB6 installed on Win7 32 Bit and all I had to do was set it to run in compatability mode for Win XP SP3 and diasable desktop composition. It doesnt give me any problems on Win7 but I gave up with Vista as I would often get 3 or 4 blue screens within an hour !!!!
    Keith

    www.diyha.co.uk
    www.kat5.tv

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    792

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    Keith, your post is interesting, but it could be extremely useful if you could post also the step by step procedure to install VB6 on win7, since your simple summury didn't help me at all.

    Thank you for sharing your succesfull experience.

    Cheers

    Al.
    All progress began with an idea

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,896

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    http://vbcity.com/forums/p/161080/689494.aspx
    http://www.isoleech.com/2012/02/19/installing-vb-6-on-windows-7-64bit/


    stop wasting your time with vb6, as of today, win8 is not going to support it anyways...
    Last edited by mister_e; - 25th March 2012 at 12:45.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  13. #13

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    Quote Originally Posted by aratti View Post
    Keith, your post is interesting, but it could be extremely useful if you could post also the step by step procedure to install VB6 on win7, since your simple summury didn't help me at all.

    Thank you for sharing your succesfull experience.

    Cheers

    Al.
    From memory, I just ran the normal setup.exe. I think there may have been a popup that said what I had to change to allow it to run, and I eithr clicked on the OK button or just right clicked on the shortcut for the installed program and set it as mentioned above.

    Sorry I cant be more clear but it is around two years since I installed it so remembering exactly what I did isnt easy !!!
    Keith

    www.diyha.co.uk
    www.kat5.tv

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    1,816

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    Quote Originally Posted by mister
    ...

    stop wasting your time with vb6, as of today, win8 is not going to support it anyways...

    Funny, I was planning on not wasting my time with Window$ 8.

    I just got win7-64.

    Robert

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    792

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    Steve, thanks for the link but no way, Win7 does not like VB6.

    Cheers

    Al.
    All progress began with an idea

  16. #16

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    Quote Originally Posted by Demon View Post
    Funny, I was planning on not wasting my time with Window$ 8.

    I just got win7-64.

    Robert
    Ah !!! My VB6 install is on Win7-32. Maybe that makes the difference.

    I havent moved to 64bit yet. At work I built a new laptop with Win7-64 and still havent been able to install some 64 bit programs becuase if conflicts with other 32 bit programs that are running. We have an application that uses MSaccess 2010 DB engine and trying to install that on someone machine failed becuase they had Office 2010 - 32 bit installed.

    On the laptop I built, we have Office 2007 32 Bit so I thought I would be OK with the app that used Access2010 but no "you have 32 bit office programs installed - please install the 32 bit version of this program "

    So many third part programs rely on using parts of MS Office or Internet Explorer that it is just a minefield. !!!
    Keith

    www.diyha.co.uk
    www.kat5.tv

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,896

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    One more reason why many move on SQL server or on SQL Lite. However, you could give this a shot
    http://blog.codefluententities.com/2...distributable/
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  18. #18

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    Quote Originally Posted by mister_e View Post
    One more reason why many move on SQL server or on SQL Lite. However, you could give this a shot
    http://blog.codefluententities.com/2...distributable/
    Hi Steve, the application I was talking about is actually the programming tool for Mitel phone systems. It includes the Access DB engine redistributable and they have both 32 and 64 bit versions of the programming tool.

    The issues that I have had are they it wont install the 64 bit version of the tool on a 64 bit computer IF there is a 32 bit version of Office on those machines. Its just really frustrating the way different software product conflict with one thing or another.

    A couple of years ago I was developing a digital signage application and was using Quicktime to play MOV files. Apple released an updated version of Quicktime with one of the iTunes updates and it broke my application, there were problems with the aspect ratio of the image. I downgraded Quicktime and my app was fine, but then iTunes refused to work despite the fact that I never used any of the features that needed QT as I only ever used it for loading songs onto my iPod.
    Keith

    www.diyha.co.uk
    www.kat5.tv

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,896

    Default Re: New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    mmm yeah that sucks. I suggest you to ask the question on the MSDN forum then. Sure enough, there's a solution for that.


    Hi, we are pleased to see that you are using our forum.

    We'd like you to become a member of our community. Membership is FREE, please REGISTER and view our forums without these annoying reminders!

    Once registered you may post on the forums, download from the file areas and use the WIKI without interruption.




    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

Members who have read this thread : 3

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts