Voltage Ref Problem


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Voltage Ref Problem

    Marry Christmas and Happy New Year everyone!

    I am using pic12F675, picbasic pro compiler.
    I use ADCON0.6=1 uses GPIO.1 as Vref then ADCIN 0, VA it works ok
    then I use ADCON0.6=0 to use the Vdd as Vref then ADCIN 3, VA1 it will not work...no readings
    Adin 0 uses external Vref and Adin 3 uses the VDD
    how can I read both 0 and 3 with different Vref
    I use the following:

    ADCON0.6=1
    ADCIN 0, VA
    ADCON0.6=0
    ADCIN 3,VA1

    what is the problem? can't I use different Vref in the same program?!
    Please help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,521


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Voltage Ref Problem

    Does it give you a reading if you don't switch VRef?
    I'm guessing you have the TRIS and/or ANSEL set wrong for the particular pin (GP4) but you don't show that part of your code so it's hard to say.

    /Henrik.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Campbell, CA
    Posts
    1,107


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Voltage Ref Problem

    Do you have ANSEL set to %00011011 ?
    ANCON0.7 = 1 ?
    TRISIO.0 = 1
    TRISIO.1 = 1
    TRISIO.4 = 1

    My guess is that you have the Vref pin configured as digital, or as an output
    Charles Linquist

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Voltage Ref Problem

    This is what I have set:


    trisio = %00011011
    ANSEL = %00001011
    CMCON = %01010111
    ADCON0.7 = 1 ' Set PORTA analog and right justify result

    ADCON0.6=1
    ADCIN 0, VA
    ADCON0.6=0
    ADCIN 3,VA1

    Thanks for help

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Campbell, CA
    Posts
    1,107


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Voltage Ref Problem

    Are VA and VA1 WORD variables?
    Charles Linquist

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    133


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Voltage Ref Problem

    'For global reference to system voltage, use the Voltage variable, which is based on a
    'scale of 1 to 1000, with 775 = 7.75 volts. Remember that the resistors on the board
    'divide the actual battery voltage in half so the ADC can "digest" it without damage.
    'ADCIN voltages are limited to 5. Both EGT and Voltage are compared with the onboard
    'precision voltage reference which delivers a perfect 5V.
    '**Voltage**
    LCDVLow=0
    LCDVHigh=0
    Voltage=0
    ADCIN VoltChannel, Voltage 'Take just 1 voltage sample. 7.6V = 194
    ' SerOut LCDScreen, T9600, [LCDCmd, LCDLine1,"VoltsX=",#Voltage] 'RPM
    ' PAUSE 2000
    Voltage = Voltage * 4 '194 * 4 = 776
    LCDVHigh = Voltage / 100 '776 / 100 rounds to 7
    LCDVLow = (Voltage // 100) / 10 '776 // 100 = 76, 76 / 10 = 7
    LCDVLow = LCDVLow - 2
    'Final Display = 7.7
    My Hobbies is PicBasic PRO

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts