How to invert OWOUT pin in assembly?

Closed Thread

Default How to invert OWOUT pin in assembly?

Using 18F67K22, I need a "stronger" OWOUT to drive a "heavy" 1-wire network.
    So using 2 FETs, in a modified version of Maxim's AN244.

This means that to be able to use the PBP OWOUT command to drive the lower FET (the one that pulls the line low), and not wanting to add an external inverting gate, I need to invert the pin level at the OWOUT pin.

I will be reading from the 1-wire network using non-inverted levels on a different pin, so no need to invert for OWIN.

I have no knowledge of Microchip assembly, but I think it would probably be possible to invert the OWOUT pin levels with a simple edit of the OWOUT section of the pbppic18.lib library file (PBP 3.0).

Any hints (other than go learn Assembly!)?

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Default Re: How to invert OWOUT pin in assembly?

It doesn't look too hard. I would create a new DEFINE (DEFINE OWINV 1 ?) if I were you. That way you can use the same library - inverted or not.
    I did nearly the same thing with DEBUG. I have a define that lets me run DEBUG in an open-collector mode - useful for high-speed serial networking
    between PICs.

I can give you some hints this evening, but I don't have any OneWire devices to test.
    Charles Linquist