PIC BASIC command query

Closed Thread

Default PIC BASIC command query

HI,
    I'm a beginner wanting to program PIC chips using BASIC. I have downloaded the Amicus stuff, but also bought the PIC book by Chuck Hellebuyck, who uses the MELabs free compiler PBC.
    I am completely baffled by one of his I/O commands for the direction register.
    To control the PORT direction , Microchip use the convention 0 = output; 1 = input. Of course, that is in Assembler.

In Hellebuyck's book he attempts to flash an LED using PIC 16F876 (pp135-6 in my copy).
    To set the direction he uses a command DIRS ( that isnt DIR$, BTW ).
    There are 2 problems:
    1. the command is %00000001 to set RB0 as output. Well, he may be right, but it makes no sense to me.
    2. There is no reference to this command anywhere in the book, or, for that matter, in another website I looked at with a long list of 150 BASIC commands. Duh!

Can any kind soul explain this one to me?

bruce

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Default Re: PIC BASIC command query

If you use PicBasic from Melabs, just look in the pdf manual. That is the only manual to trust.

And in there, TRIS is the direction command. 0 for Output, 1 for Input, just like the initials of the direction.

Ioannis

Poriet,
    So which PIC are you using? Is it the 18F25K20 that is on the(my) Amicus?

Which ever one you are using... (and whenever you use a new PIC) ALWAYS download the .pdf datasheet for that PIC (google the PIC partnumber and "datasheet"). Then spend some time looking through it... Look for the section that summarizes the various "Registers" in the PIC... this section is KEY to setting up the PIC pins to be what ever you want them to be. (input, output, analog, pulse width modulation, etc)