Pbp3


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Pbp3

  1. #1

    Default Pbp3

    Hi: I would like to know if a PBP3 manual is available for viewing,I would like to see
    how many new commands or features have been added.


    Thanks
    Bob C.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924

    Default Re: Pbp3

    When you download the trial the manual comes with it.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    825

    Default Re: Pbp3

    I downloaded only the user manual @ http://pbp3.com/downloads/PBP_Reference_Manual.pdf

    Al.
    All progress began with an idea

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default Re: Pbp3

    From the README.txt
    New in PBP 3.0.0.0:

    New Functionality:

    •Conditional-compilation with #IF, #IFDEF, and #IFNDEF. Control all PBP code
    with conditional statements, including DEFINE, Variable and Alias declarations,
    and Configuration Directives.
    •Conditional constants can be defined in source code or passed to PBP via
    command-line options.
    •#CONFIG block allows configuration directives in source code without modifying
    system files. Multiple configuration blocks can be selected with conditional
    compile.
    •Custom compiler message, warning, and error generation.
    •Mechanism to create custom PBP commands.

    Installation and Compatibility:

    •License protection through online/offline activation.
    •MPLABX/MPASMX Compatibility with PBP-aware syntax highlighting.
    •Automatic MPLAB 8.x setup and configuration.
    •Assembler selection from Start Menu allows specific assembler-version
    selection, regardless of PATH variable entries. Selection setting accessible as
    an environment variable.
    •PATH environment modification no longer required for assembly process.
    •63-character limit on path\filename removed.
    •Complete compatibility with 64-bit Windows.

    Structural Changes:

    •Various include files consolidated into one support file per device.
    •SFR names declared for each individual device.
    •Device-specific command library capability.
    •Single executable (PBPX.exe) for both PBPW and PBPL compilation.
    •PM Assembler no longer supported.

    Usability and Accessibility:

    •Newly revised and expanded, 300+ page reference manual.
    •Configuration information provided for each supported device.
    •Multiple editions with different device-support subsets available.
    •Free major upgrades for one year with every upgrade or full-version purchase.
    •Minor updates and new-device support distributed frequently through free
    downloads for all current-version licensed users.
    •All PBP3 editions and upgrades may be purchased as downloads.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,817

    Default Re: Pbp3

    WOW ! Someone worked very hard on that manual ! Thank You for that !
    I just read briefly in the variable section, and I think this manual will help people learn much better than past editions.
    If you do not believe in MAGIC, Consider how currency has value simply by printing it, and is then traded for real assets.
    .
    Gold is the money of kings, silver is the money of gentlemen, barter is the money of peasants - but debt is the money of slaves
    .
    There simply is no "Happy Spam" If you do it you will disappear from this forum.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    825

    Default Re: Pbp3

    Supports more than 500 microcontrollers
    One concern! Once I buy the new PBP3, how can I update, at the same level, the list of my USB U2 programmer ?


    Al.
    All progress began with an idea

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959

    Default Re: Pbp3

    Al,

    You can use the free beta version of meProg ...
    http://melabs.com/support/progsoft.htm

    Or for $10, you can download the release version ...
    http://store.melabs.com/cat/upgrades.html

    The current version of meProg is 4.40
    DT

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    825

    Default Re: Pbp3

    Thank you Darrel for the prompt answer.

    Al.
    All progress began with an idea

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lake Villa Il.
    Posts
    40

    Default Re: Pbp3

    How can I find or tell what version my MEL U2 programmer is?

    Terry K9HA

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959

    Default Re: Pbp3

    Go to Help > About in the meProg software.
    DT

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lake Villa Il.
    Posts
    40

    Default Re: Pbp3

    Thanks Darrel,
    Amazing what you can forget when you do not check on it often.
    Now to MELabs site to see how antique Ver. 4.23 is.


    Terry K9HA

  12. #12

    Default Re: Pbp3

    Hello everybody.

    I wonder if anyone has had experience aa compile a program with PBP3. I wonder if a program previously compiled in version 2.5 can have your code when compiling with reduced PBP3.

    I wait for answers ...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default Re: Pbp3

    Hi and Welcome on the forum,
    Not sure to understand your question, I feel a sort of language barrier in here. No problem, so let me guess.

    Yes a code compiled in PBP 2.50 will also compile with PBP3, BUT if it's USB, you'll need to modify it to suit the next USB requirement since v2.60.

    Reduced PBP3... this one I'm not sure of what you mean.. There's the full demo version which work for 30 days, this one no problem. But there's also The Gold and Experimenter version who have their limitations listed in the following link when you click on the Compare Edition tab.
    http://store.melabs.com/cat/PBP.html

    HTH
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,204

    Default Re: Pbp3

    Hi,
    You mean if PBP3 is more efficient, producing smaller code than earlier versions?

    My current project compiles to the exact same size (currently around 12k) between 2.6 and 3.0, no difference at all. I don't have 2.5 on my system so I can't compare.

    /Henrik.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Pbp3

    Thanks Henrik, this is my doubt...

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    825

    Default Re: Pbp3

    Question!

    Page 58 of PBP3 manual state that DEFINE statement and all parameters associated should be always in upper case.

    This should be read: " with the exeption of the define statement ", since microcode editor turn the word DEFINE into lower case.

    Is the above correct?


    Al.
    All progress began with an idea

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959

    Default Re: Pbp3

    MicroCode Studio only changes the case that is viewed in the editor.
    The characters saved to the file are exactly as you typed them.

    But DEFINE is a PBP statement, and PBP is not case sensitive, so it doesn't matter how you type the actual word DeFiNe.
    What comes after DEFINE is passed to the assembler unchanged and MPASM is case sensitive.
    Any defines that PBP will be looking for are all UPPERCASE, so anything after DEFINE should be all UPPERCASE.

    If you are using defines in your own assembly language code then anything after DEFINE must match the case that your ASM code is looking for. Those do not have to be uppercase, but it makes things easier if you stick with the standard convention of all uppercase.
    DT

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    95

    Default Re: Pbp3

    Just a query regarding deactivation of picbasic pro3, you say you have the ablity to deautherise a computer so you can move your copy of picbasic pro to another. But what happens when the computer has a hardware faliure. How do you deautherise that computer.

    Thanks Sphere.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959

    Default Re: Pbp3

    You have multiple installations available.

    If it comes to the point where they have all been used, just give melabs a call or drop us an email and we can reset the key.
    DT

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    95

    Default Re: Pbp3

    Thanks for the reply. The only reason I asked was because I had a similar issue with itunes.

    Sphere.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default Re: Pbp3

    [OT] Why on earth are you still using iTune?
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    95

    Default Re: Pbp3

    I don't anymore for that reason. I can appreciate the reason for software activation but it doesn't stop the software pirates. They just crack it and release it. The only people it annoys are the people who paid for it.

    Sphere.

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts