MPLAB ICD Memory Usage Gauge Issues
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    21

    Default MPLAB ICD Memory Usage Gauge Issues

    When using View -> 1 Memory Usage Gauge, the amount of memory used for program memory seems correct although the amount of data memory is always zero. I have 1600 + bytes used in variables. Is there some setting that needs to be set ?

    - Martin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, FRANCE
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: MPLAB ICD Memory Usage Gauge Issues

    Hi everybody,

    Not an answer but an additional question to this old threat.

    I use a 18F26K22 which is supposed to have 64Kbytes Program Memory and 3896 bytes for the RAM

    The Memory Usage Gauge reports a total program memory of 32768 bytes (half the expected value) with 21350 bytes occupied. Where are the remaining 32 Kbytes ?

    For the RAM, the Gauge reports 0 byte used. But I have a lot a variables in my program, including arrays so it should not be zero.

    Did I miss something ?

    Thank you for your help.
    MikeBZH

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,218

    Default Re: MPLAB ICD Memory Usage Gauge Issues

    Does the gauge actually show BYTES or the number of instructions?
    Yes, the 26K22 has 64kB of FLASH but that's equal to 32768 instructions. Add a NOP and see if the available space shrinks by one or two. If one then the gauge shows instructions, if two it shows bytes and something else is wrong. You're sure it's not a 25K22?

    The RAM gauge just does not work with PBP. Never has AFAIK and probably never will.

    /Henrik.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    271

    Default Re: MPLAB ICD Memory Usage Gauge Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by readitaloud View Post
    When using View -> 1 Memory Usage Gauge, the amount of memory used for program memory seems correct although the amount of data memory is always zero. I have 1600 + bytes used in variables. Is there some setting that needs to be set ?

    - Martin
    To answer the original question (which I had never seen before), DATA may refer to EEPROM memory. If the EEPROM isn't used, DATA memory would be 0.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, FRANCE
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: MPLAB ICD Memory Usage Gauge Issues

    Thank you for your answers.

    You may be right HenrikOlsson.
    Without a "nop" my gauge reports 21405 and the amount reported in the .LST file is 42811.
    With a "nop" the gauge goes to 21406 and I find 42813.

    Looking at the .LST file is probably the most reliable way to get the memory usage information even if it would have been more direct with the gauge....

    The Flash usage is reported near the end of the listing.

    For the RAM, there is a list of the variables at the beginning of the listing with their addresses : RAM_START + XXX. In my case RAM_START = 0 (found at line 98) so my RAM usage is XXX (1E4H in my case).

    For the EEPROM there is also EEPROM_START + YYY

    mpgmike, I don't think that DATA refers to the EEPROM. Mine is used so is should not be reported as 0.

    Anyway, we have all the memory usage information we need. But we have to to dig into the .LST file to obtain it.

    MikeBZH

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    703

    Default Re: MPLAB ICD Memory Usage Gauge Issues

    Or let something else do work for you...
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...580#post138580

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, FRANCE
    Posts
    64

    Smile Re: MPLAB ICD Memory Usage Gauge Issues

    Thank you pedja089

    MikeBZH

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,015

    Default Re: MPLAB ICD Memory Usage Gauge Issues

    For the memory gauges, data is RAM, and it used to be labelled that way.
    Program used to be labelled flash, and is the sum of program, EEPROM, and configuration.
    The latter might be expressed differently depending on the word size for the processor.

Members who have read this thread : 15

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts