DT Instant Interrupts - Clarification?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 23 of 23

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    166

    Default DT Instant Interrupts - Clarification?

    Hi All,

    I am preparing to tackle my first project using interrupts and have been looking at Darrel's Instant Interrupts. The link I have is for DT_INST-18 Ver 3.3 but the web page says this is for use with PIC18F's. I intend to use a PIC12F683 or PIC12F1822 for my project. Am I correct in assuming that DT_INST-18 cannot be used on these devices? If so, is there another version which can be used?

    Cheers
    Barry

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,516


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: DT Instant Interrupts - Clarification?

    That is correct, there are two versions - one (DT_INTS-18) for PIC18 and one (DT_INTS-14) for PIC12 and 16. See here for more details.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: DT Instant Interrupts - Clarification?

    Hmmm.... it would appear that DT_INST-14 doesn't work with PIC12F683
    I downloaded Ver 1.1 of the application and trialed the "Hello World" program from Darrel's website.
    I made the necessary change from PORTB.1 to GPIO.1 for the LED1 variable but got a host of errors when compiling:

    Error[101] DT_INTS-14 TEST.ASM 235 : ERROR: (wsave variable not found,)
    Error[101] DT_INTS-14 TEST.ASM 201 : ERROR: (" Add:" wsave VAR BYTE $20 SYSTEM)
    Error[101] DT_INTS-14 TEST.ASM 256 : ERROR: (Chip has RAM in BANK1, but wsave1 was not found.)
    Error[101] DT_INTS-14 TEST.ASM 208 : ERROR: (" Add:" wsave1 VAR BYTE $A0 SYSTEM)


    Should I be able to do this with a PIC12F683?
    Can anyone provide some input to this problem?

    I have attached a copy of the full code for review.

    Cheers
    Barry
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: DT Instant Interrupts - Clarification?

    The cool thing is the answer is in the error message.
    Error[101] DT_INTS-14 TEST.ASM 235 : ERROR: (wsave variable not found,)
    Error[101] DT_INTS-14 TEST.ASM 201 : ERROR: (" Add:" wsave VAR BYTE $20 SYSTEM)
    So..
    Put
    wsave VAR BYTE $20 SYSTEM
    in your code's variable section.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: DT Instant Interrupts - Clarification?

    Thanks Dave.

    I have added the two variables wsave and wsave1 as specified in DT_INST-14.bas
    I now have more errors at compilation:

    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPMPLAB.BAT" -ampasmwin -k# -p12F683 "DT_INTS-14 Test.bas"
    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -k# -p12F683 "DT_INTS-14 Test.bas"
    PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.60C, (c) 1998, 2011 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.
    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPMPLAB.BAT" -ampasmwin -k# -p12F683 "DT_INTS-14.bas"
    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -k# -p12F683 "DT_INTS-14.bas"
    PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.60C, (c) 1998, 2011 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.
    ERROR: Unable to execute mpasmwin.Error[113] C:\PBP\PBPPIC14.LIB 1165 : Symbol not previously defined (INT_ENTRY)
    Error[101] C:\PBP\PROJECTS\DT_INTS-14 TEST\DT_INTS-14.ASM 187 : ERROR: (wsave variable not found,)
    Error[101] C:\PBP\PROJECTS\DT_INTS-14 TEST\DT_INTS-14.ASM 153 : ERROR: (" Add:" wsave VAR BYTE $20 SYSTEM)
    Error[101] C:\PBP\PROJECTS\DT_INTS-14 TEST\DT_INTS-14.ASM 208 : ERROR: (Chip has RAM in BANK1, but wsave1 was not found.)
    Error[101] C:\PBP\PROJECTS\DT_INTS-14 TEST\DT_INTS-14.ASM 160 : ERROR: (" Add:" wsave1 VAR BYTE $A0 SYSTEM)
    Halting build on first failure as requested.

    Any clues here?

    Again, I have attached a copy of my main code for review.

    Cheers
    Barry
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: DT Instant Interrupts - Clarification?

    It's trying to compile both your source file and the include file separately.
    Remove DT_INTS-14.bas from the "Source Files".

    You should only have your main program in the source files list of MPLAB.
    DT

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: DT Instant Interrupts - Clarification?

    Hi guys ,

    although this thread is old , it has been helpful in me understanding some of the setup and use of DT instant interrupts , as well as using IOC setting in the 12F683

    I do have a question on using IOC and DT_interupt,bas

    If the pin for the interrupt is used both as input as well as output , do i need to change anything in setting on the IOC pin (IOC.4=1 - set interupt on change from high on gp4 ) or within DT interrupt.bas when the GPIO its set to output

    do i need to turn off or to stop the interrupt routine being called incorrectly if pin is then set to output

    Or is the IOC and DT interrupt routines only applicable when its GPIO is an input

    regards

    Sheldon

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    33


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: DT Instant Interrupts - Clarification?

    It has been awhile since I used "instant interrupts." All my projects are working fine. Last summer I upgraded to PBP 3.0. When I went to load "Instant Interrupts" today the text file says install in the directory where "PBPW.exe" exists; it is not there anymore. I see "PBPX.exe" under C:\PB3 directory; is that the replacement for PBPW.exe ??

    I did search of the forum but could not find anything on the subject. Sorry, for asking a dumb question but I am a little rusty these days!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,795


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: DT Instant Interrupts - Clarification?

    PBPX is the new executable. It runs in normal mode or with the switch -n in LONG (variable) mode.

    Ioannis

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts