Trying to integrate Visual Basic with PIC 16f877a

Closed Thread
    vtolentino Guest

Talking Trying to integrate Visual Basic with PIC 16f877a

Hello buddies,

I'm new here and this is my first post. The last year of Mechatronic Engineering course is driving me crazy.
    My classmates and myself are trying to build a manipulator arm assisted by computer.
    The idea is the following:
    1. Design the mechanical arm;
    2. Program a PIC so as to control the arm
    3. Control the arm from the computer by a interactive screen where the users could input values of coordinates.

The first big problem we've found was the fact we don't know how to build a software capable to control an external equipment (manipulator arm).
    I've found some materials concerning the integration HMI - Human Machine Interface. As I'm a novice in this field of expertise, I'd like to know if you guys could lead us or even give us some tips.
    I intend to use Visual Basic to send a signal in order to control the manipulator arm, though I don't know if it's the best solution. I mean, maybe there is another way to control a external equipment with a interactive screen (computer).
    OBS: We don't have any experience in Visual Basic.

Please, let me know you can help me !!!

Thanks in advance,

Victor Oliveira Tolentino

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Default Re: Trying to integrate Visual Basic with PIC 16f877a

Quite a while ago I wrote something similar. A Visual Basic program running on a PC that communicated with a PIC through the serial port. Visual Basic will let you fashion a GUI with buttons etc to execute code. I was controlling a pan and tilt servo device, so my buttons were up/down/left/right/center/scan. Each button just sent a command (a number) to the serial port. The PIC listened to the serial port and depending on what command was sent, would drive the proper servo by the desired amount.