+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 29 of 29
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    31

    Default P16F1827 and LCD Problems

    I am new to all of this:
    I have triple checked my wiring to the PIC<16F1827> and LCD as follows:

    PIC LCD
    RB0 = D4
    RB1 = D5
    RB2 = D6
    RB3 = D7
    RB4 = RS
    RB5 = E
    The R/W is tied to ground. VCC = +5 volts.
    I have tried just about every sample program I could find on this forum and they will either not compile (Pic Basic Pro) or I could not figure out the correct ports to change around to match my configuration. I am using a PICKIT3 to program with and it does see and properly identify my chip.
    Would be wonderful if someone could point me at some proper sample code to just initialize the LCD.... let alone make it say hello.
    I have not done any PIC programming, and haven't done much basic programming since the days of my Atari 800. Most of the compile errors I was receiving were stating that "Program" was expected. Newbie error I guess.
    Some one please re-aim my compass


    Hi, we are pleased to see that you are using our forum.

    We'd like you to become a member of our community. Membership is FREE, please REGISTER and view our forums without these annoying reminders!

    Once registered you may post on the forums, download from the file areas and use the WIKI without interruption.





  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,841

    Default

    Can you post the code you have along with your config settings?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Here is the latest code I have been trying to build.
    And this is the error message I receive :
    3 304 Syntax error: Expected "program" but "module" found TEST.mbas

    '*Header****************************************** ************/

    module TEST
    sbit LCD_RS at RB4_bit;
    sbit LCD_EN at RB5_bit;
    sbit LCD_D4 at RB0_bit;
    sbit LCD_D5 at RB1_bit;
    sbit LCD_D6 at RB2_bit;
    sbit LCD_D7 at RB3_bit;
    sbit LCD_RS_Direction at TRISB4_bit;
    sbit LCD_EN_Direction at TRISB5_bit;
    sbit LCD_D4_Direction at TRISB0_bit;
    sbit LCD_D5_Direction at TRISB1_bit;
    sbit LCD_D6_Direction at TRISB2_bit;
    sbit LCD_D7_Direction at TRISB3_bit;
    // End LCD module connections

    unsigned char ch; //
    unsigned int adc_rd; // Declare variables
    char *text; //
    long tlong; //

    void main() {
    INTCON = 0; // All interrupts disabled
    ANSEL = 0x04; // Pin RA2 is configured as an analog input
    TRISA = 0x04;
    ANSELH = 0; // Rest of pins are configured as digital

    Lcd_Init(); // LCD display initialization
    Lcd_Cmd(_LCD_CURSOR_OFF); // LCD command (cursor off)
    Lcd_Cmd(_LCD_CLEAR); // LCD command (clear LCD)

    text = "mikroElektronika"; // Define the first message
    Lcd_Out(1,1,text); // Write the first message in the first line
    text = "LCD example"; // Define the second message
    Lcd_Out(2,1,text); // Define the first message

    ADCON1 = 0x82; // A/D voltage reference is VCC
    TRISA = 0xFF; // All port A pins are configured as inputs
    Delay_ms(2000);

    text = "voltage:"; // Define the third message

    while (1) {
    adc_rd = ADC_Read(2); // A/D conversion. Pin RA2 is an input.
    Lcd_Out(2,1,text); // Write result in the second line
    tlong = (long)adc_rd * 5000; // Convert the result in millivolts
    tlong = tlong / 1023; // 0..1023 -> 0-5000mV
    ch = tlong / 1000; // Extract volts (thousands of millivolts)
    // from result
    Lcd_Chr(2,9,48+ch); // Write result in ASCII format
    Lcd_Chr_CP('.');
    ch = (tlong / 100) % 10; // Extract hundreds of millivolts
    Lcd_Chr_CP(48+ch); // Write result in ASCII format
    ch = (tlong / 10) % 10; // Extract tens of millivolts
    Lcd_Chr_CP(48+ch); // Write result in ASCII format
    ch = tlong % 10; // Extract digits for millivolts
    Lcd_Chr_CP(48+ch); // Write result in ASCII format
    Lcd_Chr_CP('V');
    Delay_ms(1);

    Bob

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    582

    Default

    Try asking here mikroC PRO for PIC General
    Why use 8 bits when you get 32 for less?
    ARM CORTEX Rules!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bobw55 View Post
    Here is the latest code I have been trying to build.
    And this is the error message I receive :
    3 304 Syntax error: Expected "program" but "module" found TEST.mbas

    '*Header****************************************** ************/

    module TEST
    sbit LCD_RS at RB4_bit;
    sbit LCD_EN at RB5_bit;
    sbit LCD_D4 at RB0_bit;
    sbit LCD_D5 at RB1_bit;
    sbit LCD_D6 at RB2_bit;
    sbit LCD_D7 at RB3_bit;
    sbit LCD_RS_Direction at TRISB4_bit;
    sbit LCD_EN_Direction at TRISB5_bit;
    sbit LCD_D4_Direction at TRISB0_bit;
    sbit LCD_D5_Direction at TRISB1_bit;
    sbit LCD_D6_Direction at TRISB2_bit;
    sbit LCD_D7_Direction at TRISB3_bit;
    // End LCD module connections

    unsigned char ch; //
    unsigned int adc_rd; // Declare variables
    char *text; //
    long tlong; //

    void main() {
    INTCON = 0; // All interrupts disabled
    ANSEL = 0x04; // Pin RA2 is configured as an analog input
    TRISA = 0x04;
    ANSELH = 0; // Rest of pins are configured as digital

    Lcd_Init(); // LCD display initialization
    Lcd_Cmd(_LCD_CURSOR_OFF); // LCD command (cursor off)
    Lcd_Cmd(_LCD_CLEAR); // LCD command (clear LCD)

    text = "mikroElektronika"; // Define the first message
    Lcd_Out(1,1,text); // Write the first message in the first line
    text = "LCD example"; // Define the second message
    Lcd_Out(2,1,text); // Define the first message

    ADCON1 = 0x82; // A/D voltage reference is VCC
    TRISA = 0xFF; // All port A pins are configured as inputs
    Delay_ms(2000);

    text = "voltage:"; // Define the third message

    while (1) {
    adc_rd = ADC_Read(2); // A/D conversion. Pin RA2 is an input.
    Lcd_Out(2,1,text); // Write result in the second line
    tlong = (long)adc_rd * 5000; // Convert the result in millivolts
    tlong = tlong / 1023; // 0..1023 -> 0-5000mV
    ch = tlong / 1000; // Extract volts (thousands of millivolts)
    // from result
    Lcd_Chr(2,9,48+ch); // Write result in ASCII format
    Lcd_Chr_CP('.');
    ch = (tlong / 100) % 10; // Extract hundreds of millivolts
    Lcd_Chr_CP(48+ch); // Write result in ASCII format
    ch = (tlong / 10) % 10; // Extract tens of millivolts
    Lcd_Chr_CP(48+ch); // Write result in ASCII format
    ch = tlong % 10; // Extract digits for millivolts
    Lcd_Chr_CP(48+ch); // Write result in ASCII format
    Lcd_Chr_CP('V');
    Delay_ms(1);

    Bob

    http://forums.basicmicro.net/feedbac...ead-t9279.html
    Last edited by mark_s; - 19th January 2011 at 21:07. Reason: Wrong

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    211

    Default 1333

    Hi;
    That program is writen in MicroC. It will not work in PBP.

    Regards
    Thanks and Regards;
    Gadelhas

    http://www.gadelhas.cambs.net/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    31

    Default

    I knew it had to be something supidly simple. I have been looking at and trying to understand some of the coding, they all start to look the same to me. Have to see if I can compile it with MPLAB.


    THANKS

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    211

    Default

    No, you will not be able to compile that program with MPLAB, only with MicroC.
    Thanks and Regards;
    Gadelhas

    http://www.gadelhas.cambs.net/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Yuppers... just found that out the hard way. About ready to put 1KV thru this PIC and say the hell with it..... NOT

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    211

    Talking

    Don't do that give it to me!!!
    Thanks and Regards;
    Gadelhas

    http://www.gadelhas.cambs.net/

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    31

    Default

    I'll figure something out.
    I should have known the simple would be hard

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Tried another sample file with MPLAB and actually managed to get it to build and load. But "NO" LCD initialization, still a top row boxes.
    Will have to Google the 16f1827 some more and see if someone has Ideas.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,841

    Default

    Do you have pin 3 of the LCD (contrast) connected to a POT?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    31

    Default

    YES I do.... Should have mentioned that earlier on.
    Actually used a little interface board from here :http://www.mikroe.com/eng/products/v...adapter-board/ pre-wired for 4 bit mode

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,841

    Default

    That POT is for the backlight according to the data sheet.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    31

    Default

    The pot is for the contrast, I have 3 pots on a separate board to control the RGB back light.
    The display DOES use the standard LCD controller, I made sure I at least got that part right.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    31

    Default

    I think some of the problems I am having is not being sure of what coding the file example I am trying to copy is in (Basic, C, Assembly).
    To just initialize the LCD I am assuming I have to Code the port/Pins the LCD is on, and then send the initialization string "LCD_Init" .

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look behind you.
    Posts
    2,610

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bobw55 View Post
    I am new to all of this:
    I have triple checked my wiring to the PIC<16F1827> and LCD as follows:

    PIC LCD
    RB0 = D4
    RB1 = D5
    RB2 = D6
    RB3 = D7
    RB4 = RS
    RB5 = E
    The R/W is tied to ground. VCC = +5 volts.
    I have tried just about every sample program I could find on this forum and they will either not compile (Pic Basic Pro) or I could not figure out the correct ports to change around to match my configuration. I am using a PICKIT3 to program with and it does see and properly identify my chip.
    Would be wonderful if someone could point me at some proper sample code to just initialize the LCD.... let alone make it say hello.
    I have not done any PIC programming, and haven't done much basic programming since the days of my Atari 800. Most of the compile errors I was receiving were stating that "Program" was expected. Newbie error I guess.
    Some one please re-aim my compass
    Hello Bob,
    To be clear, you DO / Do Not have the Pic Basic Pro compiler from MeLabs?
    Anti virus software seems a little like hiring the Mafia to protect you.

    Moderators are just regular members empowered to drop the hammer on a SPAMMER



  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    31

    Talking

    I only have the demo version which does NOT support the 16F1827.
    I have:
    MPLAB 8.63 PICKIT3
    MikroBasic
    MikroC-Pro
    MikroPro-Suite

    I found the Assembly template file for the 16F1827 and will start using that to build with.
    From my reading last night I figured out that I have to define or tell the program the pinout of the LCD to the PIC. Set the LCD for 4bit High nibble, then I can send the initialization string to it. (I think)
    My first goal is just to get it to Initialize.
    Second Print some text.
    Third read and display the value of a switch.
    I will do this, even if it takes a sledge hammer

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    31

    Default Getting there

    Managed to get some code written and displayed.

    THANK YOU ALL FOR THE POINTERS


    Bob
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    875

    Default



    Awesome Bob!!
    -Bert

    The glass is not half full or half empty, Its twice as big as needed for the job!

    http://foamcasualty.com/ - Warbird R/C scratch building with foam!

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    211

    Default

    Well Done Bob!
    Thanks and Regards;
    Gadelhas

    http://www.gadelhas.cambs.net/

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,896

    Default

    Now how about sharing it for humanity purpose
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Le Treport 76 FRANCE
    Posts
    3,339

    Default

    Hello BobW

    About "your" MikroC Pro program ...

    1) are you sure it has been written ( by you ??? ) for a '1827
    2) did you create a project ??? ( the " module " error comes from here )

    once " trimmed " it gives :

    0 1 mikroCPIC1618.exe -MSF -DBG -pP16F1827 -DL -O11111114 -fo8 -N"C:\Program Files\Mikroelektronika\mikroC PRO for PIC\Examples\tEST.mcppi" -SP"C:\Program Files\Mikroelektronika\mikroC PRO for PIC\defs\" -SP"C:\Program Files\Mikroelektronika\mikroC PRO for PIC\Uses\P16_Enh\" -SP"C:\Program Files\Mikroelektronika\mikroC PRO for PIC\Examples\" "tEST.c" "__Lib_Math.mcl" "__Lib_MathDouble.mcl" "__Lib_System.mcl" "__Lib_Delays.mcl" "__Lib_ADC.mcl" "__Lib_LcdConsts.mcl" "__Lib_Lcd.mcl"
    0 1139 Available RAM: 368 [bytes], Available ROM: 4096 [bytes]
    0 126 All files Preprocessed in 50 ms
    0 122 Compilation Started tEST.c
    63 123 Compiled Successfully tEST.c
    0 127 All files Compiled in 80 ms
    0 1144 Used RAM (bytes): 63 (17%) Free RAM (bytes): 305 (83%) Used RAM (bytes): 63 (17%) Free RAM (bytes): 305 (83%)
    0 1144 Used ROM (program words): 1198 (29%) Free ROM (program words): 2898 (71%) Used ROM (program words): 1198 (29%) Free ROM (program words): 2898 (71%)
    0 125 Project Linked Successfully tEST.mcppi
    0 128 Linked in 210 ms
    0 129 Project 'tEST.mcppi' completed: 451 ms
    0 103 Finished successfully: 30 janv. 2011, 18:02:00 tEST.mcppi
    1198 ROM .... should compile fine with the demo version, no ???

    [HUMOUR ON]

    How much with PBP ????

    nooooooo .... not on the head !!!


    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gilroy, CA
    Posts
    1,527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Acetronics View Post
    How much with PBP ????
    With PBP, give or take a few:
    Program Memory Words Used: 285
    Program Memory Words Free: 3811

    Give or take a little. So, about 7%, compared to MicroC's 29% used.

    Now, this is not a fair comparison, because I don't know what MicroC's test program you are using, or what it does. PBP numbers are for just printing two variables to an LCD display.
    Last edited by ScaleRobotics; - 30th January 2011 at 18:07.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Le Treport 76 FRANCE
    Posts
    3,339

    Default

    Now, this is not a fair comparison, because I don't know what MicroC's program is doing
    Hoooooo ...

    See #4

    Program just reads voltage on ADC channel 2 , prints a text on line one of the LCD and prints the ADC voltage in V.VVV format on the second line ... of course with the Unit !

    Comparison is not unfair at all as the shortest MkC Pro available way to display numbers is used here ...
    you had also noted the LONG type use for "calculations" ... unavoidable with MkC.

    I already made a comparison on this Forum and result was similar ...
    PBP and Proton were quite the same for the result.

    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics; - 30th January 2011 at 18:15.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    31

    Talking

    I am not sure which program you are referring to?
    The one That gave me the display was written by me on a PIC16F88 using C.
    I gave up on the 16F1827 do to lack of programming knowledge and lack of sample programs for that chip. Now that I have a somewhat grasp on the basics, I have been able to read and display the ADC value of a pot, (will use that later to read 3 switches on one pin).
    It is all the PIC dependent declarations at the very beginning of the program that trip me up.

    Bob

    You have to crawl before you walk, and I am starting to crawl pretty well.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Le Treport 76 FRANCE
    Posts
    3,339

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bobw55 View Post
    I am not sure which program you are referring to?
    Without any further notice we all were on posts #1 and #3 ...
    The one That gave me the display was written by me on a PIC16F88 using C.
    Of course result was not exactly that expected with #3 program ...
    I gave up on the 16F1827 do to lack of programming knowledge and lack of sample programs for that chip. Now that I have a somewhat grasp on the basics, I have been able to read and display the ADC value of a pot, (will use that later to read 3 switches on one pin).
    It is all the PIC dependent declarations at the very beginning of the program that trip me up.
    So, comes the killing question ...

    Did you notice we're aboard a PICBASIC PRO ( MeLabs brew ) forum, and we are supposed to "speak" Basic ???

    me too ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Yes I do know this is a BASIC forum.
    My post was only to thank those who were trying to help me get started.

    Bob

Members who have read this thread : 3

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts