Need guidance with DC motor controller - PWM & H-Bridge

Closed Thread

Default Need guidance with DC motor controller - PWM & H-Bridge

Hello all,

I'm wanting to continue advancing my PIC programming knowledge by taking my recent train controller project to another level. If you have read my postings, and/or assisted me, on my recent project, then you know that I'm a novice in the true meaning.

I've done quite a bit of reading the past couple days but just haven't found the right starting code for what I'm wanting to do. Maybe one of you can point me to some code that will help jump-start my project.

I'm wanting to control the speed and direction of the small dc motor in a HO gauge train. The current requirement is less than 1 amp. The max voltage would be ~12 VDC. I would like to use a pot to control the speed and I would use my existing reed switches to control the direction, via the PIC input pins.

In addition to some pointers to code samples, do you think that I can use a 12F683 or should I go to the 16F684. Of course, any other PIC that is you feel more suitable. What H-bridge IC would you recommend and do you know of any schematic diagrams that you could point me to that might show a PIC interfacing to the h-bridge?

Thanks,
    Mitch

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

The attachment might help.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

Thanks Dave,

I read that one yesterday and, while I'm not opposed to building with discrete components, the cost is somewhat higher. Also, more components to mount and solder into the pcb.

The L298HN is an IC that seems to be popular and I have found some circuitry and code to control direction but just need to add the PWM speed control.

Anyway, the code in Scott Edwards article seemed pretty simple so I wasn't sure if it offered a good smooth speed control. Guess I could breadboard it and see...

Regards,
    Mitch