PIC18LF13K50 Extremly low power counter


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    737

    Default PIC18LF13K50 Extremly low power counter

    What is the best way to wake up the PIC from sleep?
    I need to check the state of pins about 30 times per second.
    I tried with tmr1 and crystal @32,768KHz, to wake up pic. But i'm not happy with results. PIC does wake up, but never on time...
    I measured time between pulses on oscilloscope, I just added in an interrupt pin high, low pin.
    Time between pulses vary for about 10ms. Why does this happen??
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    West Covina, CA
    Posts
    219


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Interrupt On Change

    Have you considered using the Interrupt On Change (IOC) feature? This way the little guy gets to sleep longer than 33ms before having to look for a status change.
    Set it up to "wake" on a change of state and go from there. (I know I make it sound so easy) A quick glance at the data sheet shows that Ports A and B have pins available with this feature.
    Louie

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    737


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I tried, but pull up resistor draw to much curent. So i use RA4 to switch on/off pull up. If pull up aren't always on, i can't use IOC. That is reason why i need to wake up...
    Now i got an idea Maybe is better to use CLKOUT from RTC, and IOC, but again i need 1 more resistor. CLKOUT is open drain... But on other side i don't need tmrosc on pic...
    What do you think about that?
    EDIT:
    Now I saw in RTC datasheet that CLKOUT can be set to 32.768 kHz, 1024 Hz, 32 Hz and 1 Hz. I'm thinking to set CLKOUT to 32 Hz. And to to use INT0 instead of IOC. I think that it should give me precise 32 wake up's per second.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by pedja089; - 12th October 2010 at 12:22.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    West Covina, CA
    Posts
    219


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The external 32Hz clock trigger is worth a try, sounds simple enough.
    For future reference, I found that I had to turn OFF particular device hardware and functions like WDT and BOR before going into Sleep mode or the unit drew too much current. It was a difference between approx. 150ua to a final 60nA while using the internal OSC set to 1MHz and 2 pins configured for IOC.
    Looking at your schematic, I don't see any external loads that would cause the high current draw so my guess would be an internal drain.
    The RTC CLKOUT looks like the simplest solution but now like you said, it needs to be pulled up.
    Louie

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    737


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I'll try this tonight or tommorow

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    737


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Finally over...
    Here's the result:
    RTC always power on, Pic 30mS in sleep, about 1 mS running, Open inputs, Average consumption about 50uA. Now just to determine the value of pull up resistors, and type of capacitors.
    By the way wich type of capacitors have the lowest leakage current?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    West Covina, CA
    Posts
    219


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Awesome!

    Cool deal! Good feeling when you get over that hurdle huh?
    I generally keep to XR7 type caps with the higher voltage (25V to 50V) rating.
    Voltage Duration: Capacitors are operated at a voltage below their rated value then the reduced stress and lower leakage current will give an improvement in the life expectancy. Since leakage current increases with temperature the benefit of a reduced operating voltage is more pronounced at higher temperatures.
    from: http://www.interfacebus.com/Engineer...acitors10.html
    Louie

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    737


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    It was not that difficult, but a nice feeling when you finish something
    The problem was that this was the first time that I work with 18LF13K50. There are some specific things about this PIC
    Now I'm trying to reduce run time on pic...
    For testing I'm using 220uF/6.3V low esr capacitor in parallel with batery, close to pic power pins, and 100nF/50V ceramic capacitor on Vusb pin.
    Thank you very much for your help

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gilroy, CA
    Posts
    1,530


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hello Pedja089,

    Sounds like an interesting project. I have never dabbled in low power. Any chance you would be willing to share some of your code? I know there is a lot of interest in the 13k50 and 14k50 chips.

    Thanks,

    Walter
    http://www.scalerobotics.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bombay, India
    Posts
    947


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Walter

    There's not much more than simply putting the PIC to sleep and turning off all peripherals you can do without. All these add up to give you a truly low power sleep operation. Typical drain should be in the 10s of uAmps if you have everything set up right.

    The things to watch out for in low power sleep
    1 - Disable the peripherals you do not need (saves some power)
    2 - Turn off all ports which are draining power. For example, if a pin has a pull up on it, turn that pin high if you can afford to do it (should not turn on some device that you do not intend to).
    3 - Keep an interrupt enabled so that you can get out of sleep

    I use sleep mode quite extensively and get almost the shelf life out of my batteries

    Regards
    Jerson

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gilroy, CA
    Posts
    1,530


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks Jerson,

    The main reason I ask is I think it would make a great little Wiki with some time/power results. I don't recall seeing anything like that on the forum. If there is not an interest here, then I will try working something up.

    Walter
    http://www.scalerobotics.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA, New England
    Posts
    164


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Can any of you folks share how you measure the average current draw? I've done a few extremely low power projects and have always sort of "eyeball averaged" the current on a standard multimeter. I'd love to learn a better method.

    Best Regards,
    Paul
    The way to avoid mistakes is to gain experience. The way to gain experience is to make mistakes.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gilroy, CA
    Posts
    1,530


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Good question. Maybe use a small capacitor, and see how long the power lasts? These guys had an interesting experiment. But at 3 weeks and counting, I think their capacitors were a bit too big. http://hackaday.com/2010/09/30/launc...o-the-extreme/
    http://www.scalerobotics.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I use a Fluke 83. It has a MIN/MAX button.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bombay, India
    Posts
    947


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Well almost all the folks who have tested use a multimeter to check. The benchmark is the datasheet which would show a typical draw of 40uA. Anything over that indicates something is drawing power and you need to check on it. I've listed some of the tricks that I used.

    This is the code I use that puts the PIC into low power sleep
    Code:
    StopNow:
            
            PORTB = $f8         ' turn all rows low for interrupt to occur
            INTCON = $8         '  RBIE = 1 to wakeup from sleep, not necessary to have GIE enabled for this
    asm
            sleep
            nop                      ' the 2 nops are a workaround for some pics 
                                       ' that slip on the  sleep
            nop
    endasm
    
            PORTB = $ff         ' turn off all rows
            INTCON = 0         ' turn off the interrupts as I don't need them now
            goto  loopstart     'start right at the front
    Besides this, things like BOR, Watchdog all consume power. You should consider if your application needs these features more than the minimized power drain.

    Check each pin of the PIC to see that it is turned to a state which does not cause power drain due to itself or connected circuitry. For example, if you have the PORTB pullups turned on, putting a PORTB pin to 0 will cause a current drain there. Turning the port to all inputs may not be the best solution always.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    737


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    scalerobotics, Here is it, but not whole code.
    Code:
                define OSC 4
                'RTC
                SYMBOL SCL = PORTC.3
                SYMBOL SDA = PORTC.6
                symbol CLCK_Alrm = portc.7
                input clck_alrm
                'Input
                symbol In1 = PORTA.1
                symbol In2 = PORTA.0
                symbol In3 = PORTA.5
                symbol In4 = PORTC.5
                INPUT PORTA.1
                INPUT PORTA.0
                INPUT PORTA.5
                INPUT PORTC.5
                'Pull
                symbol Pull= PORTA.4
                OUTPUT Pull
                output portc.4 'just for testing
                OSCCON=%01010110
                OSCCON2.2=0
                ANSEL=0            
                ANSELH=0           
                SLRCON=0           
                RCON.7=1   
    
                UCON.3=0       ' disable usb, to alow use of ra0 and ra1
                IOCA=3         ' set ioc on ra0 and ra1 EDIT: bits 0 and 1 must be set, to use ra0, ra1...
            
                INTCON=0  
                INTCON2=%10000000  
                INTCON3=%00000000  
                PIR1=0
                PIR2=0
                PIE1=0
                PIE2=0
                IPR1=0
                IPR2=0
    
        
    
                
    disable
    PWR_On:                                       
    pause 10
    I2CWrite sda,scl,$a2,$02,[1,1,1,1,1,1,1]    ' just put some valid time/date in rtc
    I2CWrite SDA,SCL,$A2,1,[%00000010]
    I2CWrite SDA,SCL,$A2,$0D,[%10000010]        'enable clockout @ 32Hz
    enable
    INTCON=%10010000                            'enable interrapt's
    on interrupt goto int
    
    
    Start:
    sleep 60                'sleep until int0                    
    goto start 
    disable interrupt
    
    Int:
    pull=1 'enable pull up
    Toggle portc.4 'do something :)
    'Read/write to portst etc.
    pull=0 ' disable pull up
    INTCON=%10010000 
    goto start   
    end
    In file ppb/18F13K50.INC I'm just put OFF where ON was
    Code:
            __CONFIG    _CONFIG1L, _CPUDIV_NOCLKDIV_1L & _USBDIV_OFF_1L
            __CONFIG    _CONFIG1H, _FOSC_IRC_1H & _PLLEN_OFF_1H & _PCLKEN_OFF_1H & _FCMEN_OFF_1H & _IESO_OFF_1H 
            __CONFIG    _CONFIG2L, _PWRTEN_OFF_2L
            __CONFIG    _CONFIG2H, _WDTEN_OFF_2H & _WDTPS_512_2H 
            __CONFIG    _CONFIG3H, _MCLRE_OFF_3H 
            __CONFIG    _CONFIG4L, _STVREN_OFF_4L & _LVP_OFF_4L & _BBSIZ_OFF_4L & _XINST_OFF_4L
    Still I wonder why TMR0 was not stable...
    Code is a similar, i just enabled tmr0osc and overflow interrupt.
    Edit2: I'm using UNI-T UT81B
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by pedja089; - 15th October 2010 at 14:24.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    West Covina, CA
    Posts
    219


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Current measurement

    Quote Originally Posted by prstein View Post
    Can any of you folks share how you measure the average current draw? I've done a few extremely low power projects and have always sort of "eyeball averaged" the current on a standard multimeter. I'd love to learn a better method.

    Best Regards,
    Paul
    Hi Paul,
    I used to use this meter for the low current stuff:
    Name:  uA meter.jpg
Views: 1135
Size:  34.3 KB
    But just as Jerson outlined the necessary steps and precautions of putting that baby to Sleep, I saw the current drop off the bottom edge, now that was exciting!
    I bought the Fluke 8050A that can measure into the 10's of nano Amps to see what was really happening.
    Last edited by LinkMTech; - 15th October 2010 at 18:40. Reason: Fix quote
    Louie

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gilroy, CA
    Posts
    1,530


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks for the code Pedja and Jerson,

    I will try that out and promote it to a wiki once I get the chip.

    I also found a little introduction to XLP (extremely low power) in Microchip's AN1267 http://www.microchip.com/stellent/id...pnote=en541031

    Paul, my multi meter doesn't go that low, so I may have to buy something that does. But I did find this at Microchip for getting theoretical average power consumption (and estimated battery life):
    http://www.microchip.com/stellent/id...cName=en545243
    Last edited by ScaleRobotics; - 17th October 2010 at 21:27.
    http://www.scalerobotics.com

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    737


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Program is not working properly ...
    Bug is in the last line of code...
    Instead GOTO start must be RESUME.
    I suppose to fill stack memory, because it is not empty when using GOTO.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA, New England
    Posts
    164


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    With regard to measuring the current draw, thanks for all the suggestions. For the bottom line, I think I foresee a new multimeter in my future.

    Best Regards,
    Paul
    The way to avoid mistakes is to gain experience. The way to gain experience is to make mistakes.

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts