16F1827 setup


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 26 of 26

Thread: 16F1827 setup

  1. #1

    Question 16F1827 setup

    Hello All,

    I have looked high and low for 16F1827 code examples. Basically I am looking for a template that initializes common hardware features I want to use...not the other 400 pages of features in the data sheet.

    I want to use the ADC, HWPWM1 and 2, and some digital only I/O's. Some how I don't think copying and pasting my old 16F877A code will work. I think the configuration registers don't have the same naming convention.....or do they? I suppose I could drop the code in, sit back and gawk at the never ending list of errors.....I would rather not though, there should be a better way



    Nick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,818


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Macgman2000 View Post
    Hello All,

    I have looked high and low for 16F1827 code examples. Basically I am looking for a template that initializes common hardware features I want to use...not the other 400 pages of features in the data sheet.

    I want to use the ADC, HWPWM1 and 2, and some digital only I/O's. Some how I don't think copying and pasting my old 16F877A code will work. I think the configuration registers don't have the same naming convention.....or do they? I suppose I could drop the code in, sit back and gawk at the never ending list of errors.....I would rather not though, there should be a better way



    Nick
    Hi Nick,
    go to your MPASM Suite root directory and find the file named P16F1827.inc , open it using either notepad or MCS. There you will find all the available configs, which usually are near the bottom, also; you will see all the available registers too.
    If you do not believe in MAGIC, Consider how currency has value simply by printing it, and is then traded for real assets.
    .
    Gold is the money of kings, silver is the money of gentlemen, barter is the money of peasants - but debt is the money of slaves
    .
    There simply is no "Happy Spam" If you do it you will disappear from this forum.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,611


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink

    Hi, Joe

    I do think this file means ...

    '************************************************* ***************
    '* 16F1827.BAS *
    '* *
    '* By : Leonard Zerman, Jeff Schmoyer *
    '* Notice : Copyright (c) 2009 microEngineering Labs, Inc. *
    '* All Rights Reserved *
    '* Date : 06/23/09 *
    '* Version : 2.60 *
    '* Notes : *
    '************************************************* ***************
    Somebody already did the job ...

    I want to use the ADC, HWPWM1 and 2, and some digital only I/O's
    and the dedicated library is here ...

    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 5th February 2010 at 21:05.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Most peripherals on the 16F1827 are the same as previous parts, but you will need to
    spend some time going through the 1827 data sheet to find out which ones are the same,
    and which ones have changed.

    Definitely have a look at the APFCON0 & APFCON1 registers.

    Also, check your PI14EEXT.BAS to make sure it has APFCON0 VAR BYTE EXT and not
    APFCON VAR BYTE EXT.

    There should also be these definitions in the PI14EEXT.BAS file;
    Code:
    MDCON  VAR BYTE EXT
    MDSRC  VAR BYTE EXT
    MDCARH VAR BYTE EXT
    MDCARL VAR BYTE EXT
    If these aren't in there, just add them.

    Then you can do cool stuff like this with the new Data Signal Modulator....
    Code:
    '****************************************************************
    '*  Name    : DSM.BAS                                           *
    '*  Author  : B. Reynolds                                       *
    '*  Notice  : Copyright (c) 2010 http://www.Rentron.com         *
    '*          : All Rights Reserved                               *
    '*  Date    : 2/5/2010                                          *
    '*  Version : 1.0                                               *
    '*  Notes   : Using the 16F1827 Data Signal Modulator for IR    *
    '*          : serial communications with onboard USART.         *
    '****************************************************************
    
    ' MODOUT, RB3, outputs whatever you send with HSEROUT as a 40kHz
    ' modulated data stream. 
    
    ASM
      __config _CONFIG1, _FOSC_INTOSC & _WDTE_OFF & _PWRTE_ON & _MCLRE_OFF & _CP_OFF & _CPD_OFF & _BOREN_ON & _CLKOUTEN_OFF & _IESO_OFF & _FCMEN_OFF
      __config _CONFIG2, _PLLEN_OFF & _LVP_OFF & _VCAPEN_OFF & _LVP_OFF & _STVREN_OFF
    ENDASM
    
    DEFINE OSC 8
    DEFINE HSER_BAUD 2400  
    Duty VAR WORD
    TRISB = 0
    
    Init:
      PR2 = 49             ' Set PWM for ~40kHz
      CCP1CON = %00001100  ' Mode select = PWM
      T2CON = %00000100    ' %00000100 = TMR2 ON 1:1 prescale
    
      Duty = 100           ' Roughly 50% duty cycle
      CCP1CON.4 = duty.0   ' Setup 10-bit duty cycle as
      CCP1CON.5 = duty.1   ' a 10-bit word
      CCPR1L = DUTY >> 2
      APFCON0 = 1          ' CCP1 PWM output on RB0
      OSCCON = %01110000   ' 8MHz internal
      ANSELA = 0           ' all digital. A/D disabled
      ANSELB = 0
      MDCON = %11100000    ' modulator, MODOUT pin, slew rate limiting enabled
      ' Note: set MDSRC.7 to eliminate the TX signal output on RB2/TX
      MDSRC = %00001010    ' USART TX is modulation source, TX output still active
      MDCARH = %00000000   ' carrier OFF during idle periods
      MDCARL = %00000100   ' carrier ON only when sending data
    
    Main:
      HSEROUT [$55]        ' sends USART data out modulated at 40kHz
      PAUSE 50
      GOTO Main
      END
    The output of your 40kHz IR module spits out serial data you send with HSEROUT.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  5. #5


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Hello Bruce,

    I am not all that familiar with this chip yet. How is it different than the 16F877A using PWM1 at 38.8Khz and sending serial data out on say RB4 data out? The IR LED would then be placed between PWM1 out and RB4 to modulate the data stream.

    Just wondering if the 1827 has a nifty way of doing it... Do you have a schematic of how the IR led connects to the I/O, using the code you attached?

    Best Regards,
    Nick

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I am not all that familiar with this chip yet.
    Neither am I. That's the 1st bit of code I've compiled or tested on this one.
    How is it different than the 16F877A using PWM1 at 38.8Khz and sending serial data out on say RB4 data out?
    Quite a lot. With the 16F1827 you only need a single pin. Here's a schematic;
    RB3 ----/\/\/\-----|>|---GND.

    Or you could use an NPN transistor if you need more range. Look at the logic picture below.

    The top signal is the modulated data output from RB3 MODOUT. The lower signal is
    the USART TX output.

    Here's a copy of the previous code with better explanations, and both the USART TX out,
    and PWM output pins disabled.
    Code:
    ' MODOUT, RB3, outputs whatever you send with HSEROUT as a 40kHz
    ' modulated data stream. 
    
    ASM
      __config _CONFIG1, _FOSC_INTOSC & _WDTE_OFF & _PWRTE_OFF & _MCLRE_OFF & _CP_OFF & _CPD_OFF & _BOREN_ON & _CLKOUTEN_OFF & _IESO_OFF & _FCMEN_OFF
      __config _CONFIG2, _PLLEN_OFF & _LVP_OFF & _VCAPEN_OFF & _LVP_OFF & _STVREN_OFF
    ENDASM
    
    DEFINE OSC 8
    DEFINE HSER_BAUD 2400  
    Duty VAR WORD
    TRISB = 0
    
    Init:
      CCPTMRS = %00000000  ' CCP1 is based off Timer 2 in PWM Mode
      PR2 = 49             ' Set PWM for ~40kHz
      CCP1CON = %00001100  ' Mode select = PWM
      T2CON = %00000100    ' %00000100 = TMR2 ON 1:1 prescale
    
      Duty = 100           ' Roughly 50% duty cycle
      CCP1CON.4 = duty.0   ' Setup 10-bit duty cycle as
      CCP1CON.5 = duty.1   ' a 10-bit word
      CCPR1L = DUTY >> 2
      APFCON0 = 1          ' Assigns CCP1 PWM output to RB0 (RB3 is used for MODOUT)
      OSCCON = %01110000   ' 8MHz internal
      ANSELA = 0           ' all digital. A/D disabled
      ANSELB = 0
    
      ' Data Signal Modulator setup
      ' Notes: 
      ' MDSRC.7 = 1, which eliminates the USART TX signal output on RB2/TX.
      ' The PWM output signal, on CCP1 pin, which is set to RB0 with APFCON0=1
      ' has been disabled by setting MDCARL.7
      ' So even with the hardware USART outputting data, and PWM on, thier output pins
      ' are disabled. PWM and the serial data output from the USART are "mixed" internally
      ' by the Data Signal Modulator.
    
      MDCON = %11100000    ' modulator, MODOUT pin, slew rate limiting enabled
      MDSRC = %10001010    ' USART TX is modulation source, TX output "pin" disabled
      MDCARH = %00000000   ' carrier OFF during idle periods
      MDCARL = %10000100   ' carrier ON only when sending data, CCP1 PWM "pin" output disabled
    
    Main:
      HSEROUT [$55]        ' sends USART data out modulated at 40kHz
      PAUSE 500
      GOTO Main
      END
    Even with PWM on, and the USART sending data, there is no PWM output on the CCP1 pin
    or data output on the USART TX pin. Both signals are mixed internally by the DSM,
    and output only on RB3 or MODOUT.

    I only had the USART TX pin output enabled to capture the logic analyzer traces below to
    show the MODOUT signal compared to the USART TX output signal.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  7. #7


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Hello Bruce,

    I tried to compile your code, it had many errors. I have PBP 2.60, using PB assembler (not MASM). I went through the PI14EEXT.BAS and made the changes you advised. I have 1 error left "CCPTMRS". This does not exist in the PI14EEXT.BAS, only CCPTMRS0 and CCPTMRS1.

    Which of these did you intend?

    thanks!
    Nick

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Nick,

    Add CCPTMRS to your PI14EEXT.BAS file. There were several register definitions missing.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  9. #9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Hello Bruce,

    I made the changes, still nothing. I am getting a bunch of errors saying that the 16F1827.inc could not be found. It is giving me a BUNCH of errors. Errors for symbol not previously defined portA, PortB, portC...etc.

    I found the 16F1827.inc within the PBP directory, opened it up and it says not to use PB assembler, but rather MPASM. So I selected MPASM as my assembler, still I am getting a ton of errors using MPASM. I have never seen this many errors ever...wow.

    Nick

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Does your version of MPASM support the PIC16F1827?

    If it does you should have a P16F1827.inc file in your MPASM directory. If not, you need to
    update to the latest version. Without the include file it will return a ton of errors.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,611


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Hi, Bruce

    Sorry for Nick,

    But once mods done in the EEXT and 1827.inc files ... everything fine ( may I say : as usual .... )

    BTW: no CCPTMRSx alert ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  12. #12


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Bruce,

    I have IDE 7.52. No didn't see the 16F1827.INC in the MPASM directory....sigh. If I upgrade now will it screw up all my other working code for other chip bodies?

    ggrrrrr.

    Best Regards,
    Nick

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,611


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Unhappy I do not believe it !!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Macgman2000 View Post
    I have IDE 7.52. No didn't see the 16F1827.INC in the MPASM directory....sigh. If I upgrade now will it screw up all my other working code for other chip bodies?

    ggrrrrr.
    You're joking Nick ???

    MPLAB is @ 8.43 Version !!! ... Ok if PBP 2.60 already is on your computer.

    v 8.15 if not ...

    No soucy when Upgrading MPLAB ...

    Not forbidden ( read recommended ) to save your projects files BEFORE upgrading ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  14. #14


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Alain,

    Still nothing. I upgraded to 8.46. Now when I compile it opens up a DOS window and does something REALLY quick using MPASMwin.exe then returns with a bunch of errors.....my code is below....

    Is it sufficient to choose the device in MicroStudio or do I need to call it within the ASM section in the code?



    DEFINE OSC 8

    ASM
    __config _CONFIG1, _FOSC_INTOSC & _WDTE_OFF & _PWRTE_OFF & _MCLRE_OFF & _CP_OFF & _CPD_OFF & _BOREN_ON & _CLKOUTEN_OFF & _IESO_OFF & _FCMEN_OFF
    __config _CONFIG2, _PLLEN_OFF & _LVP_OFF & _VCAPEN_OFF & _LVP_OFF & _STVREN_OFF
    ENDASM



    TRISA = 0
    TRISB = 0


    Duty VAR WORD


    Init:
    CCPTMRS = %00000000 ' CCP1 is based off Timer 2 in PWM Mode
    PR2 = 49 ' Set PWM for ~40kHz
    CCP1CON = %00001100 ' Mode select = PWM
    T2CON = %00000100 ' %00000100 = TMR2 ON 1:1 prescale

    Duty = 100 ' Roughly 50% duty cycle
    CCP1CON.4 = duty.0 ' Setup 10-bit duty cycle as
    CCP1CON.5 = duty.1 ' a 10-bit word
    CCPR1L = DUTY
    APFCON0 = 1 ' Assigns CCP1 PWM output to RB0 (RB3 is used for MODOUT)
    OSCCON = %01110000 ' 8MHz internal
    ANSELA = 0 ' all digital. A/D disabled
    ANSELB = 0

    ' Data Signal Modulator setup
    ' Notes:
    ' MDSRC.7 = 1, which eliminates the USART TX signal output on RB2/TX.
    ' The PWM output signal, on CCP1 pin, which is set to RB0 with APFCON0=1
    ' has been disabled by setting MDCARL.7
    ' So even with the hardware USART outputting data, and PWM on, thier output pins
    ' are disabled. PWM and the serial data output from the USART are "mixed" internally
    ' by the Data Signal Modulator.

    MDCON = %11100000 ' modulator, MODOUT pin, slew rate limiting enabled
    MDSRC = %10001010 ' USART TX is modulation source, TX output "pin" disabled
    MDCARH = %00000000 ' carrier OFF during idle periods
    MDCARL = %10000100 ' carrier ON only when sending data, CCP1 PWM "pin" output disabled

    Main:
    HSEROUT [$55] ' sends USART data out modulated at 40kHz
    PAUSE 500
    GOTO Main
    END

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,611


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Ok ...

    1) Did you make the mods Bruce pointed at in his 6th February post ???

    you DO have to make them ...


    Also, check your PI14EEXT.BAS to make sure it has APFCON0 VAR BYTE EXT and not
    APFCON VAR BYTE EXT.

    There should also be these definitions in the PI14EEXT.BAS file;

    Code:
    MDCON VAR BYTE EXT
    MDSRC VAR BYTE EXT
    MDCARH VAR BYTE EXT
    MDCARL VAR BYTE EXT

    If these aren't in there, just add them.

    2) just Paste Bruce's code in MCS:

    Code:
    '****************************************************************
    '****************************************************************
    '*  Name    : DSM.BAS                                           *
    '*  Author  : B. Reynolds                                       *
    '*  Notice  : Copyright (c) 2010 http://www.Rentron.com         *
    '*          : All Rights Reserved                               *
    '*  Date    : 2/5/2010                                          *
    '*  Version : 1.0                                               *
    '*  Notes   : Using the 16F1827 Data Signal Modulator for IR    *
    '*          : serial communications with onboard USART.         *
    '****************************************************************
    
    ' MODOUT, RB3, outputs whatever you send with HSEROUT as a 40kHz
    ' modulated data stream. 
    
    ASM
      __config _CONFIG1, _FOSC_INTOSC & _WDTE_OFF & _PWRTE_ON & _MCLRE_OFF & _CP_OFF & _CPD_OFF & _BOREN_ON & _CLKOUTEN_OFF & _IESO_OFF & _FCMEN_OFF
      __config _CONFIG2, _PLLEN_OFF & _LVP_OFF & _VCAPEN_OFF & _LVP_OFF & _STVREN_OFF
    ENDASM
    
    DEFINE OSC 8
    DEFINE HSER_BAUD 2400  
    Duty VAR WORD
    TRISB = 0
    
    Init:
      PR2 = 49             ' Set PWM for ~40kHz
      CCP1CON = %00001100  ' Mode select = PWM
      T2CON = %00000100    ' %00000100 = TMR2 ON 1:1 prescale
    
      Duty = 100           ' Roughly 50% duty cycle
      CCP1CON.4 = duty.0   ' Setup 10-bit duty cycle as
      CCP1CON.5 = duty.1   ' a 10-bit word
      CCPR1L = DUTY >> 2
      APFCON0 = 1          ' CCP1 PWM output on RB0
      OSCCON = %01110000   ' 8MHz internal
      ANSELA = 0           ' all digital. A/D disabled
      ANSELB = 0
      MDCON = %11100000    ' modulator, MODOUT pin, slew rate limiting enabled
      ' Note: set MDSRC.7 to eliminate the TX signal output on RB2/TX
      MDSRC = %00001010    ' USART TX is modulation source, TX output still active
      MDCARH = %00000000   ' carrier OFF during idle periods
      MDCARL = %00000100   ' carrier ON only when sending data
    
    Main:
      HSEROUT [$55]        ' sends USART data out modulated at 40kHz
      PAUSE 50
      GOTO Main
      END
    MUST compile without any error in MCS if 1) has been done.

    As simple as that.

    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 19th February 2010 at 17:53.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  16. #16


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Alain,

    I recopied the code from your post. Still getting

    Symbol not previously defined (PortC)
    Symbol not previously defined (TRISC)
    etc etc etc

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,611


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Lightbulb Bingo !!!

    Hi,

    Got it ...

    Devices affected: 16F1826, 16F1827
    Date encountered: 08/2009
    Error class: safe (always reported)

    There are invalid port aliases in the PBP header file for these parts. The following assembly errors will be generated:

    Symbol not previously defined (PORTC)
    Symbol not previously defined (TRISC)
    Workaround:

    Edit the files 16F1826.BAS and 16F1827.BAS (found in the PBP install folder) as follows:

    PORTL VAR PORTB
    PORTH VAR PORTA ' PORTC invalid, change to PORTA
    TRISL VAR TRISB
    TRISH VAR TRISA ' TRISC invalid, change to TRISA
    This is from a Melab's errata sheet Darrel Pointed at some times ago ....
    I made the mod a while ago ... so couln't see what's wrong.

    Have a nice evening

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  18. #18


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Alain,

    Ok getting somewhere now. When I comment out all the fuse configurations between the ASM and ENDASM I get no errors. With all the mods that you suggested.

    I am down to 3 errors.

    overwriting previous address contents (8007)
    symbol not previously defined (_CAPEN_OFF)
    overwriting previous address contents (8008)

    What other files do I have to modify to get rid of these errors?

    Nick

  19. #19


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Alain & Bruce,

    I almost resolved all the errors by modifying the files you and Bruce suggested, except for 1. I went into 16F1827.INC (PBP file) and commented out existing fuse settings and let the main code define those functions. So of the 3 remaining errors, 1 is left _VCAPEN_OFF symbol not previously defined.

    I opened up the P16F1827.INC (MPASM file) to see if there is an address for _VCAPEN_OFF....it is not listed at all...not even under Config1 or Config2.

    Wow this has been an uphill battle getting this thing to compile. Any suggestions on how to resolve this last issue would be appreciated.

    thanks,
    Nick

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Just remove _VCAPEN_OFF from your config line.

    It's definitely in my P16F1827.INC file, but if Microchip has updated include files, it may
    not be in the one you have. It should work either way.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  21. #21


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink

    Bruce,

    Thanks for the help. It compiled without errors. Now off to testing! I will post back my results later.

    Nick

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    263


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Thumbs up

    I'll bet this thread has already saved me much frustration and gnashing of teeth.

    I assume that, when the device is erased, the CONFIGx registers are all 1s; and that all I have to specify are the parameters that would require a 0 to get what I want. Anything wrong with that assumption?
    Russ
    N0EVC, xWB6ONT, xWN6ONT

    "Easy to use" is easy to say.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Pinckney, Michigan
    Posts
    91


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Macgman2000 View Post
    Bruce,

    Thanks for the help. It compiled without errors. Now off to testing! I will post back my results later.

    Nick
    Hello Macgman2000

    Were you ever able to get anything working? If so how?

    I've followed the suggestions in this thread, although all my files were already updated in my v2.60a. I still get the errors. I have the latest and greatest Mplab and Bruces' code simply will not compile.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,795


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16F1827 setup

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce View Post
    It's definitely in my P16F1827.INC file, but if Microchip has updated include files, it may
    not be in the one you have. It should work either way.
    Hi Bruce.

    I searched on two MPLAB installations for this VCAPEN thing.

    It is not in my *.inc files and also it is absent from the DS41391C pdf file too.

    I wonder what is this for. Just curious.

    Ioannis

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16F1827 setup

    Hi Ioannis,

    In an early data sheet (and silicon I assume?) this was a config2, bit 4 option like in the 16F193x series for the voltage regulator capacitor enable/disable.

    It magically vanished when the newer data sheet & .inc files were released, so I would just ignore it.

    If you look in the CONFIG 2 section you'll see where they changed bit #4 to Reserved. Not sure what happened?
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,795


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: 16F1827 setup

    Hmm, maybe ghosts in the bits...

    Who knows?

    Thanks anyway.

    Ioannis

Similar Threads

  1. 16F913 setup
    By Andre_Pretorius in forum General
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: - 18th April 2010, 00:45
  2. TMR1 external LP xtal setup check
    By comwarrior in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 13th October 2009, 19:11
  3. ADCIN setup for PIC16F688
    By PixController in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 29th February 2008, 19:38
  4. ADCIN setup help need
    By dangill in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 26th February 2008, 16:22
  5. Use Button For setup
    By tump in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: - 21st November 2007, 20:43

Members who have read this thread : 2

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts