Some Adviced Needed Please.

Closed Thread

Default Some Adviced Needed Please.

Hi guys.

im still a relative newbie at pic programming.
    i recently completed my ds18b20 temp monitor project.
    it now monitors 9 sensors and logs to serial.

this brings me to my next project.

im looking to build a ds18b20 based temp logger.

heres what im planning.

has to be small. size of a chicken egg.
    log 1 sensor every x seconds (dependant on memory storage)
    a way to retrieve data on pc.

any suggestions?

im currently thinking...

12f683 / 12f629 / 16f628 as i have theses already
    and possibly using a micro-sd card in spi mode for storage.

if anyone has any code or suggestions they are more than welcome..

Thanks.
    Last edited by sccsltd; - 16th January 2010 at 20:55.

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Default Thinking of Skimask . . .

Size of a chicken egg huh? How big are the Chickens in your neighborhood ? Sounds like your instructor gave you some wiggle room there. Log how much data? will an eeprom do? This is the job of an engineer, Ask those questions and develop the answers, it is also where most engineers go astray and allow " Feature Bloat " to drive up their item's cost / complexity / difficulty of use. Look at the typical cell phone as an example. got more computer than my 5 year old desktop computer, and why? All it really needs to do is make and receive calls.
    What will VISTA do that's so much better than a properly working WIN 98 SE system? I find most of those things just annoy me, I. E. Java apps that get in the way, Thank God for ADBLOCK !
    So, I guess my question is . . . what are you looking for?
    You already know how to measure the sensors , you already have an assortment of PICs with features, each a little different.
    Roll up your sleeves and write some code and post it when you have problems, and ask about the problems.