LCD Memory Writing


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    86

    Default LCD Memory Writing

    I have found several good threads that helped me figure out how to write to the custom characters of an LCD, but I couldn't find anywhere including the data sheets on how often I can write to those memory locations. If I want to do an animation that updates every second, does that mean if I hit 100,000 writes after a day and a half I might start getting corrupted results? Hopefully someone has a better data sheet or has done some long term projects already.

    Thanks
    David
    Matko
    800-814-4053

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Your LCD probably doesn't use EEPROM for storing special characters but dynamic (or static) RAM. This does not have the kind of WRITE limitations that older EEPROM designs had. After all, your PC's RAM is updated thousands of times a second, if it had that kind of limitation your PC wouldn't last more than a minute!

    How can you check whether you have EEPROM or dynamic RAM? Create a custom character, save it to LCD, power off, and check if it's still there a couple of hours later! If it's gone, then you're safe. If it's still there... well... you still might be OK...

    Technology is in a state of continual flux, you have some new PICs on the market today that have many kB of static RAM (the kind that doesn't get erased when you power-off) and which doesn't have the EEPROM life-limit. There's also EEPROM's on the market that last millions of WRITE cycles - not just a 100k.

    So, in summary, what I've written probably won't help you. Your LCD's Datasheet and/or manufacturers technical helpline is a better bet.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    86


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks for the help, I'll swap out my LCD with a new one for the day and test the original tomorrow. Thanks for the details explanation.

    David

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    604


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melanie View Post
    ....you have some new PICs on the market today that have many kB of static RAM (the kind that doesn't get erased when you power-off) and which doesn't have the EEPROM life-limit.
    Which PICs have static RAM that doesn't get erased when you power-off?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    604


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Too bad. I had high hopes for this.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    From Micros web site
    Static RAM or SRAM
    Static Random Access Memory. Program memory you can Read/Write on the target board that does not need refreshing frequently.
    Look to you data sheets. Many have SRAM.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    604


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Does the static ram retain its contents when you power off?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    604


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Anything?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Not on a PIC.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Sorry, I haven't been paying attention to this thread... I implied (perhaps erroneously) that all Static RAM is non-voltatile (trouble when reading too many different manufacturers product Datasheets). Only some types are. I haven't gone through all of Microchips offerings so I can't answer if there is non-volatile RAM amongst their product range - a question that could be posed to their technical enquiry line.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    604


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    There are no Microchip (or Atmel, Freescale, Infineon, Renesas, ST, TI, etc.) offerings that have non-volatile Static RAM. The only MCU's with non-volatile RAM are a few from Fujitsu and Ramtron - however, their RAM is implemented as FRAM (ferro-magnetic RAM) which is quite a different technology altogether.

    There are also external RAM devices based on the above mentioned FRAM and BBSRAM (battery backed Static RAM) from several sources.

Similar Threads

  1. Is this code not initialising the LCD properly?
    By Platypus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 30th January 2010, 19:14
  2. 16f688 LCD what have I done wrong
    By spitfiredriver in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 8th August 2009, 19:54
  3. Play with LCD on PICDEM
    By The IceMan in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 22nd August 2008, 16:56
  4. Need help with LCD number display.
    By Steve Matson in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 26th June 2007, 23:07
  5. LCD will not start
    By btaylor in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: - 24th May 2007, 02:30

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts