PBP v2.60 upgrade: MCSP compile issue


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gilroy, CA
    Posts
    1,530

    Default PBP v2.60 upgrade: MCSP compile issue

    Hello,

    So I installed the new upgrade for PBP with the new MPLAB 8.33 included on the install disk. I was able to compile PBP v2.60 code properly, using the MPLAB IDE environment (after changing my system path variables). However, when I try to use MCSP, instead of getting the box that looks like this:


    I get this box:



    In MCSP, I have set the location for the assembler to the directory that mpasmwin is in. It is set to C:\Program Files (x86)\Microchip\MPASM Suite

    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by ScaleRobotics; - 23rd July 2009 at 16:46.
    http://www.scalerobotics.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    32


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Microchip changed the default behavior of MPASMWIN recently. The new PBP plugin controls this in MPLAB, but it has changed the assembly display in MicroCode.

    The black screen in MicroCode is normal behavior at the moment. The compile/assembly is still valid.

    Mecanique was affected by the recent changes Microchip made, as were we. Mecanique is also tasked with updating the interface to match the new version of PBP. The new PBP commands and keywords won't be highlighted in color for now.

    There are no problems with the functionality of MicroCode and PBP 2.60. The only issues involve screen display, and these do no impede compilation at all.

    Mecanique is aware of the changes that have been made. I patiently await a MicroCode Studio update, with much appreciation for the efforts of David Barker and Mecanique.
    Charles Leo
    microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    http://melabs.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Adding Info:

    I still have MPLAB 8.10, MPASM 5.20, and I don't get that window.
    Everything works fine.

    Well, except for the configs for an 18F14K50 which don't match the PBP .inc file.

    Maybe they fixed them in later versions of MPASM?
    <br>
    DT

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    32


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I just checked in saved versions:

    Microchip changed the progress bar default in MPASM 5.30 (MPLAB 8.20).

    The 18F14K50 header file was changed in MPASM 5.22.
    Charles Leo
    microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    http://melabs.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Charles_Leo View Post
    The 18F14K50 header file was changed in MPASM 5.22.
    AH HA!
    There's the answer!

    I think I'll pass on the MPLAB upgrade for now, and just comment the configs in the .inc.

    Thanks a lot Charles.
    <br>
    DT

Similar Threads

  1. PBP 2.50 UPGRADE problems!!!!
    By earltyso in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: - 7th March 2008, 15:42
  2. need 18F4550.BAS to compile with PBP?
    By jocovo in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 3rd December 2006, 01:23
  3. PBP upgrade queries
    By muddy0409 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 7th November 2006, 12:45
  4. 18F2620 compile problems in PBP
    By Joe Rocci in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: - 13th August 2006, 10:11
  5. Newby- PBP wont compile for 18F (MPLAB)
    By jd76duke in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 17th December 2005, 23:30

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts