LED Bargraph chip (guitar LED bling-age) ..do with a PIC?

Closed Thread

Default LED Bargraph chip (guitar LED bling-age) ..do with a PIC?

Just been looking at twinkler guitar (because deep rooted in every musician is LED bling just waiting to be mounted on his guitar)...

Originally discussed here...

http://projectguitar.ibforums.com/in...howtopic=41134

with a youtube video of the end end goal here...

Here's the chip they use....
    http://www.national.com/ds/LM/LM3915.pdf

Now I'm fairly new to PICs, & even I reckon I could fairly quickly kludge some LEDs that light depending on the analogue input level, but I guess what separates my likely awful code from the likes of the h/w chip is the algorithm for fading the LEDs out smoothly (and the 3dB bit).

Has anyone done such a thing with LEDs? (not LCD bargraphs...nice bright, twinkly LEDS)...or would anyone have a good starting point ?

Ta,
    Hank.

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Smile

Hey Hank,
    that's just a LED VU meter using a bargraph IC.
    3915 is log while the 3914 is linear.
    I'm using the 3914 with a PIC in a BatteryMonitorSystem(BMS) that I
    am working on. For monitoring 18 batteries in real time.
    U don't really need a PIC for this simple VU meter.
    I've seen several "light shows" circuits using LEDs and bargraph ICs.
    IIRC, Craig Anderton had a "blinky light machine" using bargraphs.
    that's all I got for ya..... afn Tone

Quote Originally Posted by toneman View Post
    Hey Hank,
    that's just a LED VU meter using a bargraph IC.
    3915 is log while the 3914 is linear.
    I'm using the 3914 with a PIC in a BatteryMonitorSystem(BMS) that I
    am working on. For monitoring 18 batteries in real time.
    U don't really need a PIC for this simple VU meter.
    I've seen several "light shows" circuits using LEDs and bargraph ICs.
    IIRC, Craig Anderton had a "blinky light machine" using bargraphs.
    that's all I got for ya..... afn Tone
    Thanks Tone,