Vdip1


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Vdip1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default Vdip1

    Need help to do reflashing of the VDIP1 module. We tried using flash disk to do so but seems that it has failed. We connected the 5V and GND pins to the signals required. But when we plug in the flash disk, nothing seems to happen. We were wondering, do we need any extra hardware configuration for reflashing VDIP1 module?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,614


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi,

    May be ( ? ) some interesting links here :

    http://www.elektor.fr/magazines/2008...b.712338.lynkx

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  3. #3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    You need to ground one pin before power up.
    For more information see this:
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=7700

    Regards,

    Nick

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If you have all of the power pins connected and pin 10 (CTS) connected to ground the LEDs should blink when ever a memory stick is plugged in.

    If the stick has a file named
    FTRFB.FTD
    in the root directory, the VDIP module will start the flash process from there.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    VDIP1 is really driving me crazy. Thanks for all the help. Hope it works.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    By the way, do we have to do something to the jumper setting for reflashing the VDIP1? Which mode of jumper should we use?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    How do we know that the Firmware has been loaded in successfully? The 2 LED's of VDIP1 flashes alternately on powering ON. When flash disk is plugged in, 1st LED ON and 2nd LED OFF for under 1 sec. After that, the state of the 2 LED's change and lastly, the LED state became stable (only LED1 is ON). Does this mean the FW has been loaded in (VDIP1 reflashed)?? The process happened in just few seconds, is this ok?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sky071022 View Post
    By the way, do we have to do something to the jumper setting for reflashing the VDIP1? Which mode of jumper should we use?
    If you are using serial mode then the two sets of jumpers with three pins should be jumped across 1 and 2 or 2 and 3. It does not matter as long as both are the same.

    How do we know that the Firmware has been loaded in successfully?
    The easy way I think is to connect pin 6 through a level shifter (max232) and monitor the VDIP on a terminal. It does not take long to update/change the firmware, small file.

    For that matter , use a terminal to learn how the VDIP works, practice sending commands and reading the feed back.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    We are trying to design a product to transfer data using FIFO mode. The problem now is it doesn't show any respond like when we connect it using UART mode. The LED's just ON alternately for 2 seconds only indicating power on. But, when a flash disk is plugged in, nothing happens. What seems to be the problem?
    Should ground all the address lines? Any other hardware config?

    By the way, can MCU 8051 be used as a monitor for VDIP1? Is it compatible with VDIP1? Or maybe any other suggestion for the monitor?

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I have never used FIFO mode...

    In UART mode I have the jumper as stated above, the two grounds going to ground, 5 Volt pin connected, CTS(pin 10) to ground, RTS(pin 9) to the PIC for flow control, TXD(pin 6) and RXD (pin 8) going to the PIC for data transfer. all other pins are floating.

    MCU 8051is not a serial level converter. To connect the VDIP to a PC you will to invert the signal... MAX232 or similar.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Any PIC that you would recommend to us?
    We were planning to use PIC16F688 or PIC16F560. Would that be a good choice?
    RTS of VDIP1 is to be connected to which pin of PIC? Any pin of the port?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sky071022 View Post
    Any PIC that you would recommend to us?
    We were planning to use PIC16F688 or PIC16F560. Would that be a good choice?
    I think the main thing to consider (in your case) when picking a PIC is to find one that has enough code space ram and I/Os for the application. The smallest PIC I have used with the VDIP1 is a 16F88. As the project progressed I found that I was scrambling for pins. But that happens with a lot of projects.
    RTS of VDIP1 is to be connected to which pin of PIC? Any pin of the port?
    RTS can be connected to most any pin, just consider ADC and comparators may be on the same pin and need to be shut off.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Should I include in the program to make PIC to send data to VDIP1 only when RTS is low? Does RTS function in such way?

    For the programming part, does it work by just simply sending command through TXD to VDIP1? Any delays to be considered?

    Can I have an example of PIC code to make VDIP1 perform data backup of flash drives to another flash drive? We have added an external USB port for VDIP1, but we are just having problems with the programming. We've tried many codes that we wrote ourselves but most fails..

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sky071022 View Post
    Should I include in the program to make PIC to send data to VDIP1 only when RTS is low? Does RTS function in such way?
    The link given up in post#3 tells all about writing data to the VDIP1.
    For the programming part, does it work by just simply sending command through TXD to VDIP1? Any delays to be considered?
    Do you mean for upgrading the VDIP1 firmware? Like I said before, the easy way is to have the new firmware on a flash drive. When the VDIP1 starts the firmware will be updated.
    Can I have an example of PIC code to make VDIP1 perform data backup of flash drives to another flash drive?
    Nope, I do not have such code.
    We have added an external USB port for VDIP1, but we are just having problems with the programming. We've tried many codes that we wrote ourselves but most fails..
    If you post your code we might be able to help you figure out what is wrong.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 6 days left

    Do we have to send just the command "210D" to VDIP1 to make it fetch data automatically from host Flash drive to slave Flash drive?
    Last edited by sky071022; - 26th February 2009 at 11:44.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    6 days left...
    for what?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 5 days....

    Going to pass up product. any1 can help???

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sky071022 View Post
    Going to pass up product. any1 can help???
    Actually we are suppose to come out with a product for this course we take, known as "System Design".
    We are trying to design a device to perform USB memory backup device. From one USB mass storage to another.
    Few posts above are posted by my friends.
    We are still having problems with the programming part now.

Similar Threads

  1. VDIP1 (Vinculum - FTDI) problems
    By BrianT in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 20th August 2013, 13:51
  2. How to drive the Vinculum VDIP1 in UART mode
    By BrianT in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: - 23rd May 2013, 12:34
  3. PIC interfacing with FTDI's VDIP1
    By Vidya in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 12th May 2008, 17:02
  4. USB-FTDI[UM232R] with PIC16f877a
    By bjox in forum USB
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 23rd February 2008, 22:40
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 3rd January 2008, 23:41

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts