Random Numbers


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Random Numbers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Holmfirth England
    Posts
    116

    Default Random Numbers

    Hello,

    I am trying to make a random numbrt generator that choses 5 numbers between 1 and 8. The problem i am having is that if the first number is 6 then the sequence will always be 61253, and if it is 1 then the sequence is always 12537, and so on for all 1 to 8. Any sugestions would be appreciated.

    Here is my code:-

    jmp1:
    random temp
    if sw1 = 1 then goto start
    goto jmp1


    start:
    pause 2000
    lcdout $fe, 1

    number1:
    random temp
    if temp > 8 then number1
    let num1 = temp
    lcdout $fe, 1, dec num1

    number2:
    random temp
    if temp > 8 then number2
    if temp = num1 then number2
    let num2 = temp
    lcdout " ", dec num2

    number3:
    random temp
    if temp > 8 then number3
    if temp = num1 then number3
    if temp = num2 then number3
    let num3 = temp
    lcdout " ", dec num3

    number4:
    random temp
    if temp > 8 then number4
    if temp = num1 then number4
    if temp = num2 then number4
    if temp = num3 then number4
    let num4 = temp
    lcdout " ", dec num4

    number5:
    random temp
    if temp > 8 then number5
    if temp = num1 then number5
    if temp = num2 then number5
    if temp = num3 then number5
    if temp = num4 then number5
    let num5 = temp
    lcdout " ", dec num5

    goto jmp1
    end

    Best regards
    Bob...

  2. #2
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BobEdge View Post
    I am trying to make a random numbrt generator that choses 5 numbers between 1 and 8. The problem i am having is that if the first number is 6 then the sequence will always be 61253, and if it is 1 then the sequence is always 12537, and so on for all 1 to 8. Any sugestions would be appreciated.
    Random numbers with PBP aren't really random, they're pseudo-random.
    If you seed the random number generator with X, you'll always get Y. That's just the way it is. That's what the PBP manual means by 'walking length'. All things being equal, the random number output will repeat itself with the same sequence if you use it exactly the same way every time.
    Add some element of real random-ness, and you might get what you want...i.e. start up one of the timers and pre-seed the random value with the timer value when a button is pushed, that's just one example.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    So Cal and loving it
    Posts
    40


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I place a random statement to the main loop, that way while waiting for a button push you are randomizing in the background.

    Paul
    +-------------------------------------------------------------------+
    | PBP 2.47/2.50 | MCS+ 3.0.0.5 | U2 Prog | Vista x64 | NO SLEEP!!!!!!! |
    +-------------------------------------------------------------------+

  4. #4
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by locko View Post
    I place a random statement to the main loop, that way while waiting for a button push you are randomizing in the background.
    Not bad...not a bad idea at all...pseudo-random - pseudo-randomness...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Holmfirth England
    Posts
    116


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    Thnx for the replies, as you can see i did have a loop like that right at the beginning of the program

    jmp1:
    random temp
    if sw1 = 1 then goto start
    goto jmp1

    I first tried using a similar loop between each number fetching routine, but this meant pressing the button 5 times.

    In the end i have used 2 pics. The first one uses 5 random vars to pause for random ammounts of micro seconds, and acts as the button press, the second one simply counts up until it sees a button press, then i use //9 to get the number from 0 to 8. checks to see if it is zero or has already been chosen & repeats if so.

    In conclusion, the pbp random statement is the least random thing I have ever come across, a mate tells me he had a similar problem with visual basic, so it is not a flaw with PBP. I just wish the lottery used a computer, I might be able to work out the winning numbers.

    Thanks for the help guys

  6. #6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Try something like this:
    LET X = 0

    JMP1:
    LET X = (X + 1)
    IF X >=9 THEN LET X = 0
    IF SW1 = 1 THEN START
    GOTO JMP1

    YOU WILL GET A RANDOM NUMBER FROM 0 TO 8. IT WILL BE TRULY RANDOM. IT IS POSSIBLE FOR THE NUMBER TO BE THE SAME WITH A SUBSEQUENT PUSH OF THE SWITCH.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by peterdeco1 View Post
    Try something like this:
    LET X = 0

    JMP1:
    LET X = (X + 1)
    IF X >=9 THEN LET X = 0
    IF SW1 = 1 THEN START
    GOTO JMP1

    YOU WILL GET A RANDOM NUMBER FROM 0 TO 8. IT WILL BE TRULY RANDOM. IT IS POSSIBLE FOR THE NUMBER TO BE THE SAME WITH A SUBSEQUENT PUSH OF THE SWITCH.
    Not sure it can be called truly random. Given a certain amount of time the number will always be the same.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  9. #9
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    What I usually do when I need to use RANDOM, is to seed it with a 16 bit timer value, and then add a few other variables I've got around and always tie grabbing that random number with some sort of human interaction.
    If you've got an event that relies on human interaction somehow (i.e. button press) and a tight loop somewhere, there ain't no way you're going to get a continuously repeatable result.
    True, RANDOM in PBP isn't all that random, but when you start adding the 'YOU' factor to it, you can get decent results...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    72


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default why not use noise?

    Like maybe use a floating pin or some other means for a spare pin to pick up some "static" to generate an interupt or something?. But there again you may only pick up 60Hz (or 50), but i have heard of people doing this to get random randomness

  11. #11


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Like maybe use a floating pin or some other means for a spare pin to pick up some "static"
    This has crossed my mind also ( didnt tryed yet though ).
    I think that you can get decent random results using a spare pin with ADC grabbing nothing but noise.

    You can then get 1 ou 2 bits from that "noise" which i believe it would be pretty random.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    So Cal and loving it
    Posts
    40


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    This is untested, but was thinking of trying it someday....

    The theory.
    Leave an analog pin floating and take a voltage measurement to use as the seed for the random number.

    Not sure how mach variation there will be in each of the measurements. The other thing would be to reduce the sample time for the conversion which may give to less accuracy and give better random results.
    Also, if the pin is connected to a wire or long track, it should act as an antenna and increase the variation in the measurements.

    Maybe some of the experts around here will have any ideas if this could work

    Paul
    +-------------------------------------------------------------------+
    | PBP 2.47/2.50 | MCS+ 3.0.0.5 | U2 Prog | Vista x64 | NO SLEEP!!!!!!! |
    +-------------------------------------------------------------------+

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    45


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I once did a project that used a DS18B20 temperature sensor. I used this sensor to also make the seed number for the random generator, worked quite well.

Similar Threads

  1. Questions on random numbers and multiplexing LEDs
    By AaronM in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 17th June 2009, 05:22
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 15th April 2009, 02:54
  3. Limite random numbers from 1 to 9
    By Pedro Santos in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 15th March 2007, 13:34
  4. 6 random numbers limiting to 49 ?????
    By SuB-ZeRo in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 16th June 2005, 00:27
  5. random numbers 1-4
    By tekdavid in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 30th March 2005, 12:05

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts