What have I done now?

Closed Thread

Default What have I done now?

So I use one pic (18F6520) on one board and I use Microcode Studio Plus 3.0.0.5, PB Pro Compiler 2.50 and a MELabs usb programmer.

I set all this up about 2 yrs ago and haven't changed the set up at all. I regularly change the firmware, load it, run it and don't give it much thought.

Until today...

I grabbed a board to load a program onto and everything indicates that it loaded fine but it doesn't work. I was loading a known program so that wasn't the issue. I regularly load this program to work with. I tried several other programs same problem.

I finally went back to several known hex files that weren't compiled by Microcode Studio recently (but were compiled by it in the past) and they loaded fine. There are no known changes, to me, so I'm completely stymied.

I also tried to just compile the program and then open it from my programmer.

If you haven't guessed by now, I'm not a professionally trained programmer so I know just enough to be dangerous.

Any help is hugely appreciated.

Thank you,

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Default more digging.

I've been trying to narrow this down a bit further. I have 2 programmers from MELabs. A usb powered one and a older db9 one. I dusted off the older one to rule out the hardware. It functioned the same as the newer usb programmer.

I found a hex file that I compiled a couple weeks ago and it loads and runs fine on the board. However, the same program now compiles with no errors and it says that it successfully loads, but then nothing.

I can reload the other hex file and wall-ah, back in business. So I'm thinking this is a configuration issue but can't find anything that looks out of place. I pretty much only use this computer for programming and pcb layouts and haven't used it since the last time and it worked.

Thoughts on where to start poking?

Does it work on 16f chips ? My JDM won't do 18F chips, that's why I bought PICKIT2.