Help setting up MPASM with MicroCode studio


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    21

    Default Help setting up MPASM with MicroCode studio

    I decided to start playing with the interrupts and came across Darrel Taylor "Instant interrupts" includes and wanted to try them. However they call for MPASM and I've never used it before (all I ever use is MicroCode studio + PM).
    1. Can someone help me setup and use MPASM with the Microcode studio please?
    2. Apart from DT interrupts, is there any advantage of using MPASM vs PM in everyday pic projects?
    Thanks,
    Tom

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    With the 18Fs you need MPASM.

    Install MPLAB, MPASM is included.
    In MCS, under View - Compile and Program Options - Click the Assembler tab.
    There is a check box there -- Use MPASM ---
    Click find Automatically.
    Should find it if MPLAB is installed in the normal place.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    21


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks, I'm using 16F628A but I think I still have to use MPASM for Darryl's instant interrupts. Is that correct?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Yep, MPASM is required for DT's interrupts.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    21


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    1. Installed MPLAB 8.1
    2. In MCS, under View - Compile and Program Options - Click the Assembler tab.
    3. There is a check box there -- Use MPASM ---
    4. Click find Automatically. FOUND.

    Is that it, how do I use it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomexx View Post
    1. Installed MPLAB 8.1
    2. In MCS, under View - Compile and Program Options - Click the Assembler tab.
    3. There is a check box there -- Use MPASM ---
    4. Click find Automatically. FOUND.

    Is that it, how do I use it?
    As long as the box is checked to use MPASM, when you compile a program ( F9 on the key board), MCS will use MPASAM to assemble the code, you do not have to do anything else.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    21


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    IT is, that's it then.
    So PBP is the compiler and MPASM the assembler right? Not sure what is the difference. I thought the compiler translated source into .hex file. What does the assembler do then?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    PIC Basic compiles the code into assembly language. The assembler generates the hex.

    Refer to the PBP manual section 8, for more info.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    21


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Yeah, just read section 8,
    Thanks mackrackit

Similar Threads

  1. PICKit2 - warning about configuration words
    By flotulopex in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: - 4th August 2009, 14:01
  2. Microcode studio loader problem
    By woodygjw in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 10th September 2007, 01:18
  3. Setting Fuses using Microcode Studio Plus
    By NO2K in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 18th May 2007, 23:14
  4. MicroCode Studio Plus won't use mpasmwin
    By sjohansson in forum USB
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 4th January 2007, 22:10
  5. Microcode studio can't find MPASM
    By DynamoBen in forum General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 26th September 2006, 00:47

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts