writing word variables to data memory


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    malc-c's Avatar
    malc-c Guest

    Default writing word variables to data memory

    Guys (and gals)

    Following on from This Thread , I've spent best part of this evening searching the forum and web for examples of how to save a word variable to the PICs memory so that it reads them back when the PIC should the power fail.

    Can anyone put me out of my misery

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida USA
    Posts
    637


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by malc-c View Post
    Guys (and gals)

    Following on from This Thread , I've spent best part of this evening searching the forum and web for examples of how to save a word variable to the PICs memory so that it reads them back when the PIC should the power fail.

    Can anyone put me out of my misery
    What exactly are you trying to write to memory? From your other thread, you said it is a combination of words and bytes. What variables are bytes and which ones are words?

    Robert
    "No one is completely worthless. They can always serve as a bad example."

    Anonymous

  3. #3
    malc-c's Avatar
    malc-c Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Sorry I might not of got the point over

    lightsetHR[fn]
    lightsetMN[fn]

    lightoffHR[fn]
    lightoffMN[fn]

    droptemp[fn]
    normtemp[fn]

    StartHour[fn]
    StartMin[fn]
    StopHour[fn]
    StopMin[fn]

    alarmhigh[fn]
    alarmlow[fn]


    They are all WORD variables, but as all those in blue have values that are typically two digits (eg Hours will be between 00 and 23, with minutes being 00 to 59). they get saved and read OK for some reason. All those in red will be three digit values, eg 327, 150 and it's these that don't get saved. Each Word variable has 4 elements for example ,

    alarmhigh[0]
    alarmhigh[1]
    alarmhigh[2]
    alarmhigh[3]

    These will have different values depending on what has been set in a previous section
    eg:

    alarmhigh[0]=340
    alarmhigh[1]=360
    alarmhigh[2]=400
    alarmhigh[3]=370

    Hope that helps clarify my issue

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,611


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi, Malc

    Did you simply tried to Open the Holy Manual ???

    supposing you use the PBP 2.60a Version ... it is at page 175 ...

    supposing you use previous version ( 2.50b ) ... it is at page 162 ...

    examples for WORDs given.

    You also should have a look to $ 4.4 p 25 " Aliases " ... where it is shown how to " slice " your values ...

    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 5th August 2010 at 12:08.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  5. #5
    malc-c's Avatar
    malc-c Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Acetronics View Post
    Hi, Malc

    Did you simply tried to Open the Holy Manual ???



    Alain
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...2176#post92176

    Just don't quite understand it... (sorry I'm thick ! - care to actually explain how I would do this " Aliases " ... where it is shown how to " slice " your values thing ?)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,611


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by malc-c View Post
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...2176#post92176

    Just don't quite understand it... (sorry I'm thick ! - care to actually explain how I would do this " Aliases " ... where it is shown how to " slice " your values thing ?)
    Ok Malc ...

    let's make it easy :

    The last PBP2.60 Version has introduced a Qualifier that permits you NOT to care with slicing your variables ...
    so, if you own a v2.60 ( and You SHOULD ) ... the link you gave me becomes ... obsolete.

    as you, NOW, just have to write:

    WRITE Location, Word AlarmHigh[1] , Word AlarmHigh[2] , Word AlarmHigh[3] ,...

    READ Location, Word AlarmHigh[1], Word AlarmHigh[2] , Word AlarmHigh[3], WA[1],WA[2],WA[3]

    BUT remember a word need 2 EEPROM locations ... so,

    WRITE Location +6 , Word AlarmHigh[4]
    READ Location +6 , Word AlarmHigh[4] ,WA4

    Alain

    PS: of course, you can keep on using the " old method "

    WRITE Location, AlarmHigh[1].Lowbyte
    WRITE Location+1, AlarmHigh[1].Highbyte
    WRITE Location+2, AlarmHigh[2].Lowbyte
    WRITE Location+3, AlarmHigh[2].Highbyte
    WRITE Location+4, AlarmHigh[3].Lowbyte
    WRITE Location+5, AlarmHigh[3].Highbyte
    WRITE Location+6, AlarmHigh[4].Lowbyte
    WRITE Location+7, AlarmHigh[4].Highbyte

    ... but, is it really reasonnable ???
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 5th August 2010 at 13:53.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  7. #7
    malc-c's Avatar
    malc-c Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The part I really find it hard to grasp is the WA[1], WA[2] bit and how to format the two eprom locations

    So assuming the start address is 80

    Could this then be changed to
    Code:
    For x = 0 to 3
    For fn = 0 to 8
    Write Word (80+fn) AlarmHigh[fx] highbyte
    If fn >= 4 then 
    x = 0 
    Write Word (80+fn) AlarmHigh[fx] lowbyte
    Next fn
    Next x
    I just can't seem to make this sink in !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,611


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    [QUOTE=malc-c;92222]

    So assuming the start address is 80

    Could this then be changed to
    Code:
    For x = 0 to 3
    For fn = 0 to 8
    Write Word (80+fn) AlarmHigh[fx] highbyte
    If fn >= 4 then 
    x = 0 
    Write Word (80+fn) AlarmHigh[fx] lowbyte
    Next fn
    Next x
    Oh my god ... you really thick ... ( YOU told it, not me ... )

    following your explanation:

    [code]

    For fn = 0 to 3
    Write (80+2*fn), Word AlarmHigh[fn+1]
    next fn

    [code]

    LOCATION MUST BE PLACED BEFORE THE DATA !!!

    ( sorry for other users , but it's the 4 th time I repeat ... )


    Business looks to have turned you deaf and blind ...

    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 5th August 2010 at 21:26.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  9. #9
    malc-c's Avatar
    malc-c Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    This seems to compile

    Code:
      for fn = 0 to 3
      write (10*fn + 80),lightsetHR[fn]
      write (10*fn + 82),lightsetMN[fn]
      write (10*fn + 84),lightoffHR[fn]
      write (10*fn + 86),lightoffMN[fn]
      write (10*fn + 88),word droptemp[fn]
      write (10*fn + 90),word normtemp[fn]
      write (10*fn + 92),StartHour[fn]
      write (10*fn + 94),StartMin[fn]
      write (10*fn + 96),StopHour[fn]
      write (10*fn + 98),StopMin[fn]
      write (10*fn + 100),word alarmhigh[fn]
      Write (10*fn + 102),word alarmlow[fn]
      next fn

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,611


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by malc-c View Post
    This seems to compile

    Code:
      for fn = 0 to 3
      write (10*fn + 80),lightsetHR[fn]
      write (10*fn + 82),lightsetMN[fn]
      write (10*fn + 84),lightoffHR[fn]
      write (10*fn + 86),lightoffMN[fn]
      write (10*fn + 88),word droptemp[fn]
      write (10*fn + 90),word normtemp[fn]
      write (10*fn + 92),StartHour[fn]
      write (10*fn + 94),StartMin[fn]
      write (10*fn + 96),StopHour[fn]
      write (10*fn + 98),StopMin[fn]
      write (10*fn + 100),word alarmhigh[fn]
      Write (10*fn + 102),word alarmlow[fn]
      next fn
    Malc,

    Yes, It compiles BUT:

    IF fn = 1 ...

    @ location 110 & 111 you write AlarmHigh[1]

    IF fn = 2

    location 110 & 111 are overwritten by NormTemp[2]

    IF fn = 3

    location 110 is overwritten by lighsetHR[3]

    and I only give you 3 examples ...

    so, ... try

    Code:
     
     write  80,lightsetHR[1]),lightsetMN[1],lightoffHR[1],lightoffMN[1],word droptemp[1] ,word normtemp[1],StartMin[1],StopHour[1],StopMin[1],word alarmhigh[1],StartHour[1],word alarmlow[1] ; need 16 locations
     
     write  100,lightsetHR[2]),lightsetMN[2],lightoffHR[2],lightoffMN[2],word droptemp[2] ,word normtemp[2],StartMin[2],StopHour[2],StopMin[2],word alarmhigh[2],StartHour[2],word alarmlow[2]
     
     write  120,lightsetHR[3]),lightsetMN[3],lightoffHR[3],lightoffMN[3],word droptemp[3] ,word normtemp[3],StartMin[3],StopHour[3],StopMin[3],word alarmhigh[3],StartHour[3],word alarmlow[3]
     
     
     write  140,lightsetHR[4]),lightsetMN[4],lightoffHR[4],lightoffMN[4],word droptemp[4] ,word normtemp[4],StartMin[4],StopHour[4],StopMin[4],word alarmhigh[4],StartHour[4],word alarmlow[4]
    This Way, your EEPROM Map is neat ... and you know where to find What ...
    ...

    What did you tell me by PM ???

    I just call that pedagogics ...

    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 5th August 2010 at 22:09.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  11. #11
    malc-c's Avatar
    malc-c Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Alain,

    Many thanks......

    Apologies for the PM - just having a bad day.

    I'll give that a try in the morning

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida USA
    Posts
    637


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by malc-c View Post
    This seems to compile

    Code:
      for fn = 0 to 3
      write (10*fn + 80),lightsetHR[fn]
      write (10*fn + 82),lightsetMN[fn]
      write (10*fn + 84),lightoffHR[fn]
      write (10*fn + 86),lightoffMN[fn]
      write (10*fn + 88),word droptemp[fn]
      write (10*fn + 90),word normtemp[fn]
      write (10*fn + 92),StartHour[fn]
      write (10*fn + 94),StartMin[fn]
      write (10*fn + 96),StopHour[fn]
      write (10*fn + 98),StopMin[fn]
      write (10*fn + 100),word alarmhigh[fn]
      Write (10*fn + 102),word alarmlow[fn]
      next fn
    Malcolm,

    This code won't work anymore like Alain already mentioned. Now, you have words instead of bytes. Also, now you have 12 variables instead of 10 .

    Now, if you try to write 12*2*4=96 bytes at location 80 then you are going to overwrite all the stuff that you wrote at location 150 with your DATA command (from your other post).

    I would suggest that you should try first to clear up the mess by organizing the data that you put in EEPROM. It looks like the amount of data that you are putting in memory by doing "Data @0,0 and Data @150" is 58 bytes for each DATA command. So, instead of "Data @0,0 and Data @150" try something like "Data @0,0 and Data @58". Then from location 116 and up you have no data that could get overwritten.

    Next, try the same code as above but with the following changes.

    Code:
    for fn = 0 to 3
      write (12*fn + 116),lightsetHR[fn]
      write (12*fn + 118),lightsetMN[fn]
      write (12*fn + 120),lightoffHR[fn]
      write (12*fn + 122),lightoffMN[fn]
      write (12*fn + 124),word droptemp[fn]
      write (12*fn + 126),word normtemp[fn]
      write (12*fn + 128),StartHour[fn]
      write (12*fn + 130),StartMin[fn]
      write (12*fn + 132),StopHour[fn]
      write (12*fn + 134),StopMin[fn]
      write (12*fn + 136),word alarmhigh[fn]
      write (12*fn + 138),word alarmlow[fn]
    next fn
    I replaced 10 by 12 since now you have 12 variables. I hope that this helps.

    Robert
    Last edited by rsocor01; - 6th August 2010 at 01:23.
    "No one is completely worthless. They can always serve as a bad example."

    Anonymous

  13. #13
    malc-c's Avatar
    malc-c Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Thanks

    Robert, thanks for the input, and yes I agree that it needs tidying up. I've already moved Alain's code down by 10 (ie first line starts at 70, the second 90 etc as I thought that I might be getting close to over-writing data at the 150 location.

    Guys, I appreciate the time and trouble you have gone to... sorry that it seemed an uphill struggle - it must be the medication I'm on (that's my story and I'm sticking to it )

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,611


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by malc-c View Post
    I've already moved Alain's code down by 10 (ie first line starts at 70, the second 90 etc as I thought that I might be getting close to over-writing data at the 150 location.
    Hi, Malc you also can optimize memory use a bit not to hit location 150 ... see: 80 = $ 50 ... as you need 16 locations per fn value ... locations $50 ...$5F for fn = 1 ............ $60 ...$6F for fn = 2 ... ... .............$80 ... $8F for fn = 4 ... $8F = 143 ... it makes it !!! so, simply change locations to:
    Code:
    write  $50,lightsetHR[1]),lightsetMN[1],lightoffHR[1],lightoffMN[1],word droptemp[1] ,word normtemp[1],StartMin[1],StopHour[1],StopMin[1],word alarmhigh[1],StartHour[1],word alarmlow[1] ; need 16 locations
     
     write  $60,lightsetHR[2]),lightsetMN[2],lightoffHR[2],lightoffMN[2],word droptemp[2] ,word normtemp[2],StartMin[2],StopHour[2],StopMin[2],word alarmhigh[2],StartHour[2],word alarmlow[2]
     
     write  $70,lightsetHR[3]),lightsetMN[3],lightoffHR[3],lightoffMN[3],word droptemp[3] ,word normtemp[3],StartMin[3],StopHour[3],StopMin[3],word alarmhigh[3],StartHour[3],word alarmlow[3]
     
     write  $80,lightsetHR[4]),lightsetMN[4],lightoffHR[4],lightoffMN[4],word droptemp[4] ,word normtemp[4],StartMin[4],StopHour[4],StopMin[4],word alarmhigh[4],StartHour[4],word alarmlow[4]
    and moreover, you'll see your values nicely ordered into your EEPROM Watch Window ... Have a nice day Alain PS: sorry , but there's a forum bug with " carriage return ", it seems ...
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 6th August 2010 at 13:24.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts