SSD1306 INCLUDE for PBP3


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 40 of 102

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,821


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: SSD1306 INCLUDE for PBP3

    Yes, you are right. I took it for granted that this was taken care in the include file. Now it works OK with hard I2C also.

    Next, how to import the 16x16 characters into the 5x7 library.

    Can these co-exist?

    I tried to add your pawn example after the 5x7 data but obviously this does not work if one wants to print character 128...

    I attach my failed try.

    Ioannis
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,391


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: SSD1306 INCLUDE for PBP3

    I took it for granted that this was taken care in the include file
    it is to some extent , the correct tris setting for sda and scl is the power on default of input for both hw and software i2c
    if the user decides to overwrite those settings its extremely difficult to rectify in an include file since the pins can be virtually
    anywhere on any port depending on chip used

    Next, how to import the 16x16 characters into the 5x7 library.
    you cannot , the font is 5x7 hard coded

    Can these co-exist?
    not as a font
    I tried to add your pawn example after the 5x7 data but obviously this does not work if one wants to print character 128...
    i see no impediment to 5x7 chrs being added to the font to a byte sized quantity, the upper font boundary is not enforced
    mixed font heights is not implemented
    I attach my failed try.
    if you want 16x16 fonts see here, its a completely different strategy
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=24218
    if you want to persist with this code, the chess pieces will need to be bitmaps
    bitmaps in an array would be fairly straight forward, two for each piece type , one as solid the other an outline, with a blank w and blk too
    the board could also be a bit map a piece could then be or-ed or exor-ed into a square depending piece colour and square colour
    Warning I'm not a teacher

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,391


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: SSD1306 INCLUDE for PBP3

    looks like a 4550 just hasn't the resources for graphics work

    here is a look a my 16x16 pawn font on a 26k22
    Name:  pawns.jpg
Views: 961
Size:  324.8 KB

    its still a bit clunky @ 16x16

    bmp 48x51
    Name:  bmpp.jpg
Views: 864
Size:  477.6 KB
    Last edited by richard; - 27th December 2021 at 05:07.
    Warning I'm not a teacher

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,821


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: SSD1306 INCLUDE for PBP3

    The thing is getting more and more complicated...

    I am considering to switch over to a 3,5" Nextion display. Much easier, preloaded images. Even a 12F could handle that! Still I have to use the USB port, so 4550 is the least to use.

    The last try of 48x51 looks great! I do not care about white or black pieces or even the board. White pieces is just fine. But if the resources needed are too much, I don't know if it is worth to keep on trying...

    Thanks a lot for the efforts,
    Ioannis

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,391


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: SSD1306 INCLUDE for PBP3

    Bitmaps take very modest resources, that one just 48 x 8 bytes of flash
    Warning I'm not a teacher

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,821


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: SSD1306 INCLUDE for PBP3

    That is nice! Is there any post on the forum how this can be done?

    This needs 2304 bytes for 6 pieces and I think this can be managed.

    Ioannis

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,391


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: SSD1306 INCLUDE for PBP3

    LCDAssistant.exe
    GLCDtool.exe

    will get you close [keep height to multiple of 8]
    Warning I'm not a teacher

Similar Threads

  1. SSD1306 Include example
    By timc in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: - 28th November 2017, 08:53
  2. SSD1306 start display problem
    By harryweb in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 14th December 2016, 19:16
  3. Using INCLUDE to add a text file in PBP3
    By Sumobob in forum PBP3
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 16th May 2016, 18:56
  4. PBP3 to include 18F97J94?
    By fowardbias in forum PBP3
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 18th December 2013, 16:42
  5. Help With OLED Display / 128X64 SSD1306
    By Denner in forum General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 25th May 2013, 15:40

Members who have read this thread : 22

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts