4x40 LCD control problem


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Default 4x40 LCD control problem

    I have a 4x40 LCD display with two enable signals.

    I like to control this display with 4 bit data transfer,
    when 1 made a program for just a 4x20 lcd display it works fine but i can't get any signal on a 4x40 LCD display.

    Does sombody have a PICbasic sample program (with schematic (no must)) to control a 4x40 display?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    what about if you tie to ground the 2nd ENABLE line? In this case do you have at least few characters?

    Which display are you using?
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  3. #3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    that won't work i'm using a YMS404-01 display

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    762


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    NL2TTL,

    the LCD should work on Line 1 and Line 2 if you connect only E1 to the PIC and tie E2 to GND.

    for a quick test you could also connect E2 to E1, Line 3 will than be the same as Line 1 and Line 4 the same as Line 2.

    On the link INGVAR has already posted you'll find an example of how to toggle between the two controllers using only one additional pin on the PIC.

    IF the LCD is displaying nothing at all I guess VEE is not set correctly.

    Attached is the Datasheet of the YMS404-01

    Regards

    Ralph
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    thank you very much, only the problem is that i've already tried that.

    So i have to do more tests when it's working i will post the complete schematic include the source

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    may try a long delay time at the begining... some need close to 2 seconds for initializing correctly(as i heard, not those i currently work with).

    Some define may be include/try too

    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS

    and

    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS

    Contrast pin may be connected to a trim pot for testing. Memory allocation should be different too.

    let us know

    regards
    Last edited by mister_e; - 14th December 2004 at 15:29.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  8. #8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Oke it works.

    here is the code
    Attached Files Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. LCD problem with 16F628
    By ngeronikolos in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: - 19th September 2016, 08:28
  2. Newbie? Problem with LCD
    By lew247 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: - 7th December 2009, 19:48
  3. LCD 4X40 Futurlec
    By Bill Legge in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: - 8th April 2009, 04:35
  4. LCD problem
    By Andre_Pretorius in forum General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 27th January 2009, 15:47
  5. LCD Problem
    By karenhornby in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 19th June 2008, 11:43

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts