Making the Lab X1 communicate with the Lab X2

Closed Thread

Default Making the Lab X1 communicate with the Lab X2

Hi,

I am very new to the world of programming, and am having trouble working with interrupts, specifically with this project I am working on.

The project is getting the Lab X1 board to communicate with the Lab X2 board using only one wire (as I need to then apply what I learn to a different project where I only have one I/O pin to use) it is only a one way communication. What I want to do is;

Upon pressing switch one or two on the Lab X1, either LED 2 or 3 will light up on the Lab X2 as long as the switches are pressed.

As far as I can tell, I need the have a interrupt on the receiving chip to handle which light to turn on, with the interrupt being initiated externally, unfortunately I am not entirely sure how to do this. I also have very little idea on how to do the serial communication between the two chips...I have spent hours in RTFM sessions, with little to show for it.

I am wondering if anyone here could point me in the right direction with some stupid simple guides on external interrupts, or possibly show me some sample code and explain how it works...For some reason, all the books I have read out of don't make much sense to me when it comes to these things.

Thank you,
    Matt

skimask Guest

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Quote Originally Posted by MatthewM View Post
    I am very new to the world of programming, and am having trouble working with interrupts, specifically with this project I am working on.
    The big question is...what else have you done so far that is remotely related to a project like this?

Upon pressing switch one or two on the Lab X1, either LED 2 or 3 will light up on the Lab X2 as long as the switches are pressed.
    Then forget the interrupts and just 'make it work' without the interrupts, poll for the 'commands', wait for them, act on them, and keep going.