Someone Posts a Code Example, Then What?

Closed Thread

Default Someone Posts a Code Example, Then What?

Hello Everyone,
    As you will no doubt gather from the following question, i am very new to PIC's, PIC Programmers and their corresponding code. I have a question about two peices of code i found posted in the forum archives;

Exibit A
    <code>
    '-----PIC12F629-----
    ' Sends 2 bytes + their bitwise complements using a variation of the NEC IR protocol
    ' repeats every 15 seconds
    ' I've used this (and seen it used in commercial RF products) using 12-48 bits
    ' with lead-in pulses from 2.5-9.5mS and lead-in spaces from 2.5-4.5mS

@ __config _INTRC_OSC_NOCLKOUT & _WDT_OFF & _PWRTE_ON & _MCLRE_OFF & _BODEN_ON & _CP_OFF & _CPD_OFF

RF VAR byte[4]
    Copies VAR byte 'RF copies
    c VAR byte 'loop index (RF copies)
    b VAR byte 'loop index (RF[b])
    i VAR byte 'bit index
    wb VAR byte 'work byte

CMCON = 7
    Copies = 4
    'Put data in RF[0] & RF[2]
    SendRF: RF[0]=80:RF[1]=~RF[0]:RF[2]=66:RF[3]=~RF[2]
    Low 4
    For c=1 To Copies
    PulsOut 4, 880 '8.8mS lead-in pulse
    PauseUs 4400 '4.4mS space
    For b=0 To 3
    wb=RF[b]
    For i=0 To 7 'LSB first
    PulsOut 4, 50 '0.5mS pulse
    If wb.0=1 Then
    PauseUs 1500 '1.5mS space
    Else
    PauseUs 500 '0.5mS space
    EndIf
    wb=wb>>1
    Next
    Next
    PulsOut 4, 50 '0.5mS pulse
    Pause 40: '40mS GAP
    Next
    Sleep 15 '15 SEC DELAY
    GoTo SendRF

End
    </code>

And Exibit B
    <code>
    '-----PIC12F629-----
    'Receives 32 bits of NEC protocol
    'RF with initial lead-in of 8.8mS
    'sends codes via RS232 @ 9600bps on GPIO.2

@ __config _INTRC_OSC_NOCLKOUT & _WDT_OFF & _PWRTE_ON & _MCLRE_OFF & _BODEN_ON & _CP_OFF & _CPD_OFF

DEFINE PULSIN_MAX 968 '>968 RETURNS 0
    DEFINE DEBUG_REG GPIO
    DEFINE DEBUG_BIT 2 'GPIO.2
    DEFINE DEBUG_MODE 1 'Inverted
    DEFINE DEBUG_BAUD 9600
    DEFINE OSCCAL_1K 1

RF VAR byte[4]
    space VAR byte
    i VAR byte