Where should I discuss SD/MMC FAT issues?

Closed Thread

Hybrid View

Red face Where should I discuss SD/MMC FAT issues?

Hey there guys and gals, new poster here, long time tinker of PBP.

Where (what forum) should I post questions and issues revolving around SD/MMC FAT16 and FAT32? My project could use the memory card as a bit-bucket and then 232 the data out, but I'd rather have the cards PC readable.

For the first time ever, I've bit-banged an MMC card into submission using a 16F876A. I'm finally in and reading data after about 5 hours of chit (not including the hardware), but working with FAT's is giving me a migraine. I guess I don't really know what questions to ask right now as I'm still learning the FAT structure. I'm still trying to sort out the strait-line math 2^x AND (2^z(y+1) >> 7) ... etc. ... yadi, yadi, yadi... just to find the next location of the next math nightmare.

Just would like to know where would be the best place for this topic?

Thanks,

Gary

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Default Don't care where - just do it

Hi JD123,

I am also trying to use a MMC card as a large data store that MUST be PC readable. I bought some development hardware from Ron Diol at Compsys a year back but the project got pushed aside by the urgent driving out the important. Ron was very helpful and there are some good links there.

http://www.compsys1.com/workbench/On...c_project.html

http://elm-chan.org/docs/mmc/mmc_e.html

I am thinking along the lines of preformatting the SD/MMC card in FAT 16 or 32 and loading two files of known names on the card. The SPI mode does not require any CRC calculations (I think) and is plenty fast enough for my needs.