Options? Need to read off flash card, parse, and send out SPI - What am I up against?

Closed Thread

Question Options? Need to read off flash card, parse, and send out SPI - What am I up against?

OK - I included that subject line just so you guys wouldn't blow me off as another MP3 player guy asking for somebody to do my work for me.

I'm kinda wondering what I'm up against here. The facts are as follows.

I can program, and I know BASIC well. I've been playing with it for about 20 years now.
    I don't know C. Should I learn? Microchip seems to have a hundred different expensive compilers for every chip they make.

I need to get chunks of data off some kind of flash RAM - SD, MMC whatever, that will have been saved in a FAT file system in simple file names or numbers. I have no need to read the names of the files - in fact, I may even be able to refer to them by their starting and ending blocks, or to grab individual parts of one big file - example:

Copy block of 512 bytes from file to RAM, starting at position 52356
    Send 512 bytes from RAM out over SPI
    Copy the next block of file to RAM, and then send it out too.
    Do this a total of 10 times because I want positions 52356-52366

bit rates might be anywhere from 20-30 kbps

Coincidently, the SPI will be going to the newer VLSI MP3 decoder chip - I think it's the VS1012. I have a developer board from Futurlec. Took weeks to arrive from Thailand. I'm not married to this chip, and I'd be thrilled to get suggestions for other solutions. if there are better ones. I just bought this thing on impulse, and now I have an application.