How to choose best oscillator frequency?

Closed Thread

Default How to choose best oscillator frequency?

How do you guys pickup the best oscillator frequency for your application?
    The higher the better ?

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Not alway's true
    If low power consumption is required then a low frequency is then good.
    If you use the internal u(s)art, look then what baudrate you want to use, and with which xtal you can build it.
    Also the frequency of the pwm depends on the xtal freq.

Thanks Mat

Aside of those issues, is there really a " performance" differences by clocking the PIC higher ? Better processing speed ?

I am new to PIC, but I guess as it happens on PC , the higher the frequency, the better is the performance ( 3,2 Ghz vs. 1.6 Ghz )

Default There is NO "best" speed

The oscillator speed must be chosen to meet your overall design objectives. There is no point running at 20 MHz if you are driving slow devices with the PWM output. There, 4 MHz may be a better solution. Likewise if you need specific timing pulses from TMR0 or TMR1 then you must balance the timer bit length with the clock speed and the desired output rate. If you want longest battery life then slower clocks are better.

In general a faster clock lets you get through more code per unit time so faster is better but you must look at the other system requirements.

HTH
    Brian

Default 10 MHz is great

If you use a 18- pic with PLL then 10 is a good choice. Not that power hungry at 10 but with the possibility to kick in the "turbo" and go to 40 MHz with just a change in the config fuses.

/me

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by Johan View Post
    Aside of those issues, is there really a " performance" differences by clocking the PIC higher ? Better processing speed ?

I am new to PIC, but I guess as it happens on PC , the higher the frequency, the better is the performance ( 3,2 Ghz vs. 1.6 Ghz )

Wrong !