12f509 and OSCCAL

Closed Thread

Default 12f509 and OSCCAL

I've been searching through the various threads that address the oscillator calibration for this chip and I'm a bit confused. I've never used this chip before and I think I may have wiped out the calibration value during programming. I developed my program on a 16F684 using its internal 4 MHz osc but when I ported it over to the 509 the serial data is garbled. The scope show data at approximately the correct timing and sometimes a few correct characters make it through OK. So it seems like the timing is off just a bit.

The manual and several posts state that PBP handles the OSCCAL automatically. Does that mean that if I erase the chip prior to programming that somehow PBP puts the factory assigned value back into the OSCCAL register?

How does one go about "tweaking" the OSCCAL register?

Thanks all,
    Mark

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

As been stated many times..The internal OSC may not be stable enough.

Getting a few correct characters would indicate this. Stick an external OSC on and see what happens.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

Yes, I am aware of the importance of using a crystal. However, in this case, it is not possible. After I relealized what was probably happening I started programming the 509 without first erasing it. Those parts work fine. In fact I have used the internal oscillators in many other applications involving serial data up to 9600 baud without any problems. But that was always with parts that have a "precision 4 MHz" oscillator. Any project that would be subjected to large tempature extremes would certainly require a crystal.

So, back to my original question: How do I alter the value in the OSCCAL register?

Mark

This one doesn't let you output the internal osc frequency/4 on OSC2, so you're pretty
    limited on fine tuning the internal osc.

A somewhat easy way is to start off with 0 in OSCCAL, setup a simple loop sending serial