Numbers and Letters After PIC Number

Closed Thread

Default Numbers and Letters After PIC Number

Greetings Everyone,

As a bit of an introduction, I am from New Zealand and I am very new to programming PIC's. I purchased a bunch of stuff from Reynolds Electronics including the PicBasic Pro USB Bundle and a Serial LCD Display Module. Cost an arm an a leg to get the stuff delivered to New Zealand and then Customs wanted some more money. Hopefully it will all be worth it.

Must say it was a bit of mission working out how everything fitted together. It is not for the faint hearted. Anyway finally figured it out (I think) and did manage to get an LED to flash on an off so must be somewhat on the right track.

So now on to bigger and better things. My plan is to start with some of the projects at rentron.com. The first project I have decided to start with is "Reading ROM Codes From 1-Wire Devices" because I have some iButtons. The project said I need a PIC16F877 microcontroller so I go to order one here in New Zealand and I get a big list of options:

So my first silly question is: When I search for a pic to purchase I see letters and numbers after the PIC here are some examples:

PIC16F877-04/L
    PIC16F877-04/P
    PIC16F877-04/PQ
    PIC16F877-04/PT
    PIC16F877-20/L
    PIC16F877-20/P
    PIC16F877-20/PQ
    PIC16F877-20/PT

Question: What are the numbers and letters and which one should I purchase?

Thanks in advance. Cheers Bruce

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Don't buy any of them.
    Have a look at the data sheet. Microchip suggests using 16F877A

The letters indicate package type.

Default Not a silly question at all

Hi,