Student Final Project Need help

Closed Thread
    marco Guest

Post Student Final Project Need help

Hi, guys

I am currently working on my final project, and I do need some help.
    Ihave to build an IR remote control extender. I successfully transmit and receive my signal from the remote without the 40KHz but now I need some help in putting back that 40KHz to the signal at the ouput of my receiver.

I WANTED to use the microcontroller in a way that whenever its senses a logic high, it will output a 40KHz signal.

I have NO EXPERIENCE what so ever with MICROCONTROLLER and looking for some advise on if its possible to use a micro controller for that application.
    Thx
    Last edited by marco; - 28th March 2007 at 16:58.

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

If you have built a video transmitter a 40KHz oscillator should be a piece of cake. What do you need a micro controller for?

When the IR receiver receives an input, that could then start the 40KHz oscillator via transistor to an IR LED to extend the range.

Again, if you have built the video components, why do you have to ask about IR?

Or, have you got a bunch of stuff pre-built and ran a few cables?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

Default I think he is not transmitting video @ 40Khz

Hi,

He is actually querying for the IR extender part. Its good that he wants to use a microcontroller. Otherwise he could just use a 555 timer IC to generate the 40KHz for lighting up his IR LEDs. Marco please note you need a duty cycle between 10 and 20 % to get effective IR beaming. And your receiver expects that. That is receivers (depends on which one used) may fail at a 50% duty cycle.

For the 555 thing try this link http://wolfstone.halloweenhost.com/T...TimerCalc.html also most receivers are centered around 38KHz not 40KHz. Use the reset pin (4) of 555 to switch on-off your IR.