Can't remove code protection of 16F88!!!


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    SWITZERLAND (french speaking)
    Posts
    891

    Unhappy Can't remove code protection of 16F88!!!

    Hello,

    I just can't remove the code protection of my 16F88. Something must have gone wrong during a programming process since I never use this protection mode.

    I'm using two different programmers: the AN589 (parallel) & and the VELLEMAN "8076'1" (serial). Both work usually fine.

    I'm programming the chips using the ICSP method.

    I have found some older threads about this type of issue and tried almost anything possible.

    Is there any "master" reset possible for this chip?
    Roger

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kolkata-India
    Posts
    563


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Which Programming Software are you using ?

    Hi,

    Have you tried erasing the MCU ? A bulk erase should remove the code protection bits as well.
    Regards

    Sougata

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    373


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Using internal oscillator and turning the MCLR into an input will make it very difficult to reprogram the chip. From the discussion with Melabs, and other threads on the list, it appears that the program starts running before the programmer can take control.
    Without a way to reset, or control of the system clock, the exact timing needed to take control of the processor before the program starts running is hard to achieve.Powering the chip from the programmer, if possible, helps, but doesn't guarantee success. When I need to use all outputs and the internal oscillator, I will program the chip with MCLR active until the last moment. I check out all operations short of the one attached to the MCLR pin, and change the config after the final revision.
    Hope this helps,
    Ron

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    SWITZERLAND (french speaking)
    Posts
    891


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Okay,

    I'm using WINPIC.

    Ron,

    I've heard about what you mention but never had this problem up to now.

    I don't "touch" the original MCLR register settings because of this problem.

    These are my settings (fuses & used registers):
    Code:
    @ DEVICE PIC16F88,INTRC_OSC_NOCLKOUT,PROTECT_OFF,WDT_ON,PWRT_ON,MCLR_ON
    @ DEVICE PIC16F88,BOD_ON,LVP_OFF,CPD_OFF,DEBUG_OFF,CCPMX_OFF
    OSCCON     = %01100000  'Internal RC set to 4MHZ
    ANSEL      = %00000000  'Disable Analogue Inputs
    ADCON0     = %00000000  'A/D converter is OFF
    TRISB      = %11000000  'Buttons are Inputs / LEDs Outputs / BUZZER Output
    OPTION_REG = %01010101  'Set TMR0 to interrupt every 16.384 ms & disable PORTB pullups
    INTCON     = %10100000  'Enable TMR0 interrupts
    a.- Shall I consider my PIC as definitively dead?

    b.- Is there any programming "artifice" (PAUSE or any other command on the top of your program) to avoid this?
    Roger

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    373


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If you have MCLR on, then totally disregard my above comment! :<) If the chip is soldered in, look for a cold solder joint, short, or there is too much load on the programming pins for the chip's liking. Also, I once had a processor in circuit, and it would only programming with power to it, because the larger than .1uF bypass capacitor on the Vdd pin caused the power to stabilize too slowly for the programmer's liking. I always find the problem after replacing the chip, most often realizing it was something simple, and the chip was fine.

    Ron

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    SWITZERLAND (french speaking)
    Posts
    891


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Low Voltage Programming - possible solution?

    Just an idea: would it be possible to overcome the code protection issue by programming the PIC with a Low Voltage method?

    Actually, I've never done this so I don't know how to do and and if it would work.

    BTW: I put the µC on my breadboard with "nothing" connected to it appart from a 0,1µF cap between Vdd and Vss.
    Last edited by flotulopex; - 17th December 2006 at 17:16.
    Roger

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    SWITZERLAND (french speaking)
    Posts
    891


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Bulk erase (Chip erase)

    Hello,

    Does anyone know what, in the PIC's programming process, is different if I program an application or if I just "bulk erase" it?

    Is there a way to do some kind of "manual bulk erase" using another PIC programmed accordingly to the "Flash Memory Programming Specification"?

    I just can't understand that the "bulk erase" command doesn't work if I can normally program the chip....
    Roger

Similar Threads

  1. Code works on 16F84A but not on 16F88?
    By pharaohamps in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 6th November 2009, 18:29
  2. How much code space do PBP statements use.
    By Darrel Taylor in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 13th February 2009, 21:31
  3. Loop with two motor and 2 sensors
    By MrRoboto in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 8th December 2008, 23:40
  4. Making Program Code Space your playground...
    By Melanie in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 19th July 2008, 08:26
  5. Code Protection with Verify Blues
    By Squibcakes in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 6th February 2006, 12:23

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts