New At PIC's, need some help with code


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    SOHCKing03's Avatar
    SOHCKing03 Guest

    Default New At PIC's, need some help with code

    Hi everyone,

    I am currently in the works of making a car product where I need to make LED's sequence down a line. i.e 0=off 1=on so...

    0000
    1000
    1100
    1110
    1111
    0111
    0011
    0001
    0000

    I think I have come up with a good code but I don't know how to increment the PIN number in my code during a DO LOOP. Each LED is driven by one output and so I need to increment the outputs to sequence them. Will I have turn on the LED from one output in one LOOP then do another in another LOOP and so on?

    If I'm not clear then I'll try to explain it better.

    -Brad

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Joe,

    Take a look at this.

    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=3753



    Regards.
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah USA
    Posts
    517


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    BRAD,

    What PIC? You posted in the PBC section and not PBP - is this correct? If you are using PBC, try

    Code:
    'Example for 16F628A with PBC (Not PBP)
    
    POKE $86, 0	' all of PORTB output (optional line but good programming practice) 
    POKE $06, 0	' all of PORTB low (optional line but good programming practice) 
    
    MAIN:
    PAUSE 500     ' no LED on
    
    FOR B0 = 0 to 3
         HIGH B0      ' turn ON  RB0, then RB1, then RB2, then RB3
         PAUSE 500 ' pause half a second
    NEXT B0
    
    FOR B0 = 0 to 3
         LOW B0      ' turn OFF  RB0, then RB1, then RB2, then RB3
         PAUSE 500 ' pause half a second
    NEXT B0
    
    PAUSE 500     ' no LED on
    
    GOTO MAIN
    
    END
    You might also want to check out Melanie's excellent post here

    http://tinyurl.com/gpt6b

    and search the forum for "rider" (as in knight rider) for more visual ideas.

    Any questions?
    Paul Borgmeier
    Salt Lake City, UT
    USA
    __________________

  4. #4
    SOHCKing03's Avatar
    SOHCKing03 Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks for the replies...

    I think I will test out a code I created using some of the elements from the code you guys gave me...

    Hopefully it'll work and I can get this thing going...

    -Brad

  5. #5
    SOHCKing03's Avatar
    SOHCKing03 Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Okay well I will use the code from the link Sayzer gave me...

    I am making an LED Underbody Kit though and so one PIC will control the front left, one will control the left side, one will control the the back left, and the same for the right side. So I will need my PIC's to communicate. When the last LED on the front left is turned on I want the side to start sequencing and same goes for the transition from side to back.

    To do this will I have to set the final output on the front left to go high and then have it connected to an input on the side PIC? That way I could tell the side PIC not to do anything until that input receives a "high" signal from the other PIC. I could do that correct? If so, how would I program it?

    Thanks again for all your help guys.

    -Brad

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If I understood correct, this should be it. Just an example though.



    Code:
    Wait:
    
    IF PORTA.1 = 1 THEN GOTO Loop
    'This is the pin you get the input signal from the other PIC.
    
    GOTO Wait
    
    
    Loop:
    
    'Your loop code should be here....
    'When the last loop index is achieved, 
    'you will HIGH a pin to activate the next PIC
    'and you will go back to "Wait"
    
    
    GOTO loop
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  7. #7
    SOHCKing03's Avatar
    SOHCKing03 Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Here is the code I came up with...

    ------------------------------------------------------

    SYMBOL PORT_PIN = PORTA
    X VAR BYTE ' For loop & bit index pointer

    Wait:

    IF PORTA.1 = 1 THEN GOTO Main 'checks if input recieves high signal
    GOTO Wait

    On:

    ADCON1 = 7 ' All digital
    PORTA = 0 ' Clear all port pins
    PORTB = 0
    PORTC = 0

    TRISA = 0 ' Make them all outputs
    TRISB = 0
    TRISC = 0

    FOR X = 0 TO 23
    PORT_PIN.0[X] = 1 ' Set all porta, portb, and portc pins high
    PAUSE 200
    NEXT X

    GOTO Off

    Off:

    ADCON1 = 7 ' All digital
    PORTA = 0 ' Clear all port pins
    PORTB = 0
    PORTC = 0

    TRISA = 0 ' Make them all outputs
    TRISB = 0
    TRISC = 0

    FOR X = 0 TO 23
    PORT_PIN.0[X] = 0 ' Set all porta, portb, and portc pins low
    PAUSE 200
    NEXT X

    GOTO On

    ---------------------------------------------------

    My only question now is, how do I set PORTA.1 to be an input? In my code I set all PORTA pins to be outputs. Is there a way I can set just PORTA.1 to be input?

    As always, I appreciate your help.

    -Brad

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    1. You first need to set the TRIS register for a port. Having TRISA = %00000000 makes all pins output. From right to left they are arranged as porta.0 to porta.7. (F877 has 6 pins on PORTA). If you want to make one of them an input, say you need PORTA.1 as input, then you state TRISA = %00000010. Now, all of them are outputs except for PORTA.1 (also for some PICs, you need to watch for MCLR pin which is an input-only pin).
    OR, you can just say INPUT PORTA.1

    2. You should keep all registers at the beginning. No need to put them into each subroutine.

    3. ON is a reserved word. Thus, you can not use it for another purpose.

    4. In your code you have "goto Main" but there is no Main. I think you meant "goto ON", but since you can not use "ON", just change ON to Main.

    5. For the FOR loop you have, you will not have 8-bits on PORTA. Thus you need to have a look at there. Check Bruce's example on the link above.


    Check the datasheet of the PIC you will use. Check which pin can be used as an input-only and/or output-only etc.

    Also, check how many pins you have on each port.


    ----------

    ------------
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  9. #9
    SOHCKing03's Avatar
    SOHCKing03 Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Okay so then here is an updated code:

    '----------Code for the Front Left, Front Right, Back Left, and Back Right

    SYMBOL PORT_PIN = PORTB
    X VAR BYTE ' For loop & bit index pointer


    ADCON1 = 7 ' All digital

    PORTB = 0 ' Clear port pins

    TRISB = 0 ' Make them all outputs

    Main:

    FOR X = 0 TO 7
    PORT_PIN.0[X] = 1 ' Set all pins high
    PAUSE 200
    NEXT X

    GOTO Off

    Off:

    ADCON1 = 7 ' All digital

    PORTB = 0 ' Clear port pins
    PORTC = 0

    TRISB = 0 ' Make them all outputs
    TRISC = 0

    FOR X = 0 TO 7
    PORT_PIN.0[X] = 0 ' Set all pins low
    PAUSE 200
    NEXT X

    GOTO Main

    '----------Code for Both Sides

    SYMBOL PORT_PIN = PORTB
    X VAR BYTE ' For loop & bit index pointer


    ADCON1 = 7 ' All digital
    PORTA = 0
    PORTB = 0 ' Clear port pins
    PORTC = 0

    TRISB = 0 ' Make them all outputs
    TRISC = 0

    Wait:

    INPUT PORTA.0
    IF PORTA.0 = GOTO Main

    GOTO Wait

    Main:

    FOR X = 0 TO 15
    PORT_PIN.0[X] = 1 ' Set all pins high
    PAUSE 200
    NEXT X

    GOTO Off

    Off:

    ADCON1 = 7 ' All digital

    PORTB = 0 ' Clear port pins
    PORTC = 0

    TRISB = 0 ' Make them all outputs
    TRISC = 0

    FOR X = 0 TO 15
    PORT_PIN.0[X] = 0 ' Set all pins low
    PAUSE 200
    NEXT X

    GOTO Main

    -------------------------------------------------

    How does that look? For the front and back ones I only need 6 outputs but I need 16 for the sides. I hope I did that INPUT thing right. I assumed that PORT_PIN would still equal PORTB since I'm only using PORTA for the INPUT. Did I do everything correct? Also, I am using a 16F876 so all PORTB and PORTC pins can be outputs, however PORTA.6 and PORTA.7 are unimplemented so that is why I am starting with PORTB.

    Thanks again.

    -Brad

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    IF PORTA.0 = GOTO Main
    there's a missing value in that one, 0 or 1

    Also, as you're using PORTB and PORTC, there's no special need to use the array method. Just use
    HIGH x (from 0 to 15)=> refer to section 4.11 of your PBP manual

    something like
    Code:
    X VAR BYTE ' For loop & bit index pointer
    ADCON1 = 7 ' All digital
        '   
        ' Clear portB&C pins
    PORTB = 0 
    PORTC = 0 
        '
        ' Make them all outputs
    TRISB = 0 
    TRISC = 0
        '
        ' Set PORTA.1 as input
    TRISA.1=1
        
    Main:
         FOR X = 0 TO 7
             HIGH X ' Set all pins high
             PAUSE 200
             NEXT X
    Off:
        FOR X = 0 TO 7
            LOW X ' Set all pins low
            PAUSE 200
            NEXT X
    
        GOTO Main
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  11. #11
    SOHCKing03's Avatar
    SOHCKing03 Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Alright here is an updated code as of 10:12 last night

    Code:
    '---------- FRONT TWO PICS' CODE
    X VAR BYTE
    ADCON1 = 7  'sets all as digital
    PORTB = 0  'clears port pins
    TRISB = 0  'sets as outputs
    
    Main:                              'turns each LED on
         FOR X = 0 TO 7
              HIGH X
              PAUSE 200
         NEXT X
    
    PAUSE 7000                     'waits for sequence to finish
    
    GOTO Off
    
    Off:                                'turns each LED off
         FOR X = 0 TO 7
              LOW X
              PAUSE 200
         NEXT X
    
    PAUSE 6000
    
    GOTO Main
    Code:
    '---------- SIDE TWO PICS' CODE
    X VAR BYTE
    ADCON1 = 7  'sets all as digital
    PORTB = 0  'clears all port pins
    PORTC = 0
    TRISB = 0  'sets all as outputs
    TRISC = 0
    TRISA.0 = 1  'set as input
    
    Wait:                              'wait for high signal
         INPUT PORTA.0
         IF PORTA.0 = 1 THEN GOTO Main
    GOTO Wait
    
    Main:                               'turns each LED on
         FOR X = 0 TO 15
              HIGH X
              PAUSE 200
         NEXT X
    
    GOTO Wait_Again
    
    Wait_Again:                   'waits for low signal
         INPUT PORTA.0
         IF PORTA.0 = 0 THEN GOTO Off
    
    GOTO Wait_Again
    
    Off:                              'turns each LED off
         FOR X = 0 to 15
              LOW X
              PAUSE 200
         NEXT X
    
    GOTO Wait                     'restarts
    Code:
    '---------- BACK TWO PICS' CODE
    X VAR BYTE
    ADCON1 = 7  'sets all as digital
    PORTB = 0  'clears all port pins
    TRISB = 0  'sets all as outputs
    TRISA.0 = 1  'set as input
    
    Wait:                             'wait for high signal
         INPUT PORTA.0
         IF PORTA.0 = 1 THEN GOTO Main
    GOTO Wait
    
    Main:                             'turns each LED on
         FOR X = 0 TO 7
              HIGH X
              PAUSE 200
         NEXT X
    
    GOTO Wait_Again
    
    Wait_Again:                   'waits for low signal
         INPUT PORTA.0
         IF PORTA.0 = 0 THEN GOTO Off
    
    GOTO Wait_Again
    
    Off:                              'turns each LED off
         FOR X = 0 to 7
              LOW X
              PAUSE 200
         NEXT X
    
    GOTO Wait                     'restarts

    How does that look? I went and double checked everything so I think it is near completion. Are there any mistakes or better ways to code it?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    First code:
    You don't need the GOTO Off... it will jump there anyway

    Second code:
    Wait and Off are reserved word, so you need to change them
    Code:
    GOTO Wait_Again    '******* not needed
    
    Wait_Again:                   'waits for low signal
    Code:
    Wait:                              'wait for high signal
         INPUT PORTA.0 '***** this one you don't need it as it's 
                       ' already defined above
    Code:
    Wait_Again:                   'waits for low signal
         INPUT PORTA.0 '******* same thing here
    another method
    Code:
    '---------- SIDE TWO PICS' CODE
    X VAR BYTE
    ADCON1 = 7  'sets all as digital
    PORTB = 0  'clears all port pins
    PORTC = 0
    TRISB = 0  'sets all as outputs
    TRISC = 0
    TRISA.0 = 1  'set as input
    
    Start:
         While PORTA.0=0 : Wend ' wait 'till PORTA.0=1
    
         FOR X = 0 TO 15
              HIGH X
              PAUSE 200
              NEXT X
    
         While PORTA.0=1 : Wend 'waits for low signal
    
         FOR X = 0 to 15
             LOW X
             PAUSE 200
             NEXT X
    
        goto start
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mister_e
    ....
    Wait and Off are reserved word, so you need to change them

    Who/what reserves the "wait" Steve?

    I did not know that!
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  14. #14
    SOHCKing03's Avatar
    SOHCKing03 Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Okay I updated it again...

    Code:
    '---------- FRONT TWO PICS' CODE
    X VAR BYTE
    ADCON1 = 7  'sets all as digital
    PORTB = 0  'clears port pins
    TRISB = 0  'sets as outputs
    
    Turn_On:                        'turns each LED on
         FOR X = 0 TO 7
              HIGH X
              PAUSE 200
         NEXT X
    
    PAUSE 7000                     'waits for sequence to finish
    
    
    Turn_Off:                       'turns each LED off
         FOR X = 0 TO 7
              LOW X
              PAUSE 200
         NEXT X
    
    PAUSE 6000
    
    GOTO Turn_On
    Code:
    '---------- SIDE TWO PICS' CODE
    X VAR BYTE
    ADCON1 = 7  'sets all as digital
    PORTB = 0  'clears all port pins
    PORTC = 0
    TRISB = 0  'sets all as outputs
    TRISC = 0
    TRISA.0 = 1  'set as input
    
    Waiting:                              'wait for high signal
    
         IF PORTA.0 = 1 THEN GOTO Turn_On
    
    GOTO Waiting
    
    Turn_On:                               'turns each LED on
         FOR X = 0 TO 15
              HIGH X
              PAUSE 200
         NEXT X
    
    
    Wait_Again:                       'waits for low signal
    
         IF PORTA.0 = 0 THEN GOTO Turn_Off
    
    GOTO Wait_Again
    
    Turn_Off:                              'turns each LED off
         FOR X = 0 to 15
              LOW X
              PAUSE 200
         NEXT X
    
    GOTO Waiting                     'restarts
    Code:
    '---------- BACK TWO PICS' CODE
    X VAR BYTE
    ADCON1 = 7  'sets all as digital
    PORTB = 0  'clears all port pins
    TRISB = 0  'sets all as outputs
    TRISA.0 = 1  'set as input
    
    Waiting:                             'wait for high signal
    
         IF PORTA.0 = 1 THEN GOTO Turn_On
    
    GOTO Waiting
    
    Turn_On:                             'turns each LED on
         FOR X = 0 TO 7
              HIGH X
              PAUSE 200
         NEXT X
    
    
    Wait_Again:                   'waits for low signal
    
         IF PORTA.0 = 0 THEN GOTO Turn_Off
    
    GOTO Wait_Again
    
    TURN_Off:                              'turns each LED off
         FOR X = 0 to 7
              LOW X
              PAUSE 200
         NEXT X
    
    GOTO Waiting                    'restarts
    I changed the names to unreserved names and I took out my INPUT statements.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    PAUSE 7000 'waits for sequence to finish

    This line will execute AFTER the sequence is finished.

    So you wait 7 seconds additionaly; and while waiting nothing will take place.
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  16. #16
    SOHCKing03's Avatar
    SOHCKing03 Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    No, the first PIC does its sequencing then it waits 7 seconds for the next two PICs to sequence. Cause after an LED is turned on a 200ms pause happens so I have the first PIC waiting for all this to get done. The lights will stay on for another second or two then after the first PIC's pause is over the lights will begin to turn off.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I see.

    Why Don't you do it by sending a kind of signal to each other?
    Just like making a pin high etc...?

    Would be safer I think.


    ---------------------
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sayzer
    Who/what reserves the "wait" Steve?

    I did not know that!
    wait is also a modifier for Hserin, Serin2, etc etc.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    "There's no problem. Only learning opportunities."


    --------------
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  20. #20
    SOHCKing03's Avatar
    SOHCKing03 Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sayzer

    Why Don't you do it by sending a kind of signal to each other?

    ---------------------
    I am sending a signal from PIC to PIC. Pic one sends the high signal to PIC two to start the side sequencing and after that the second PIC sends a high signal to PIC three to start the back sequencing. I just didnt wanna have to run a wire all the way from the back to the front just to send a high signal. Plus, if I have a PAUSE then I can control how long I want the LEDS to stay on when they are all lit.

    But other than that, does it seem okay?

Similar Threads

  1. decoding quadrature encoders
    By ice in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 93
    Last Post: - 28th February 2017, 09:02
  2. Nokia COLOR LCD PicBasicPro 2.50a example code
    By skimask in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: - 28th September 2011, 01:43
  3. Making Program Code Space your playground...
    By Melanie in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 19th July 2008, 08:26
  4. Code: Why is this code greater than 2000 words?
    By DrDreas in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: - 1st June 2007, 19:51
  5. Writing code for battery operated projects
    By jessey in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 16th June 2005, 03:39

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts