PIC16F876A-I/SO oscillator problem


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Default PIC16F876A-I/SO oscillator problem

    Hi all,
    I知 using PBP 2.45a in conjunction with CDlite version 1.6 Built 3 and MeLabs programmer software version 3.00.
    I知 trying to convert an application from PIC16F876-20 I/SP, 28 pin DIP to PIC16F876A-I/SO, 28 pin SOIC.
    The specs show that both PICs can go up to 20 MHz crystal but for some strange reason I can not get the 876a to go higher then 4 MHz.
    Just by using a simple program like this:

    @ device pic16F767, wdt_on
    DEFINE OSC 16
    Led VAR PORTB.0
    Loop:
    High led
    Pause 1000
    Low led
    Pause 1000
    Goto loop
    END

    It works with the DIP 876 but does not work with the SOIC 876A. The crystal does not oscillate. I知 using the same crystal and capacitors (22pF).
    Is there a configuration fuse I have to change to get it going and force it in HS mode?
    Any suggestion will be more then appreciated.
    Best Regards,
    Nick

  2. #2
    Payatronico's Avatar
    Payatronico Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Cool ayuda para el amigo...

    the same code that you generate for pic's 16f87x can run if you only will turn on and off a led in port b.0 so, generate the code for any pic 16f87x I try with 116f877 for any program and it works well

    other solution could be that you are not selecting the oscilator to XL in the programmer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    41


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default PIC not working at 20 MHz

    Don't forget that the configuration fuses are set before you load your basic code. You might have a PIC set for RC or slow speed (XT) to save power.

    To operate at 20 MHz you must set the oscillator option to HS in EPIC or whatever programmer you use.

    Check you @ device line and add the command for HS oscillator.

    HTH
    Brian

  4. #4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thank you Payatronico and Brian.
    I'm having a blank right now.
    What will that command for HS configuration be?
    Thanks again.

    Nick

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  6. #6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thank you all.
    I found the missing piece.
    I needed a hs_osc to my CONFIG line.
    Thanks again for your help.

    Nick

Similar Threads

  1. Bit Banging input to output on PIC16F876A
    By Bronurstomp in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 26th June 2008, 19:50
  2. PIC16F876A and KMZ52 Magnetic Sensor
    By Stephen in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 3rd January 2008, 09:59
  3. Migrating PIC16F876a to PIC18F252
    By cohenjdc in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 1st June 2007, 13:55
  4. Runing a PIc16F876A
    By lerameur in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 7th January 2007, 12:54
  5. how to get PCF8574 and PIC16F876A work together
    By nomada in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 15th December 2004, 02:07

Members who have read this thread : 2

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts