Need advise on PIC controlling a variable resistor


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    baldwics's Avatar
    baldwics Guest

    Default Need advise on PIC controlling a variable resistor

    Hi All,

    I am working on a project that needs a variable resistor, and a really want to digitally control this from a PIC. I am investigating Digital Potentiometers but they are limited to only 256 wiper steps. Also considering a D/A converter, but the sticker shock for a good 16-bit converter is quite high!

    Has anyone faced this challenge and how did you solve it without spending $20 for a fancy D/A 16bit converter?
    Last edited by baldwics; - 6th February 2006 at 22:01.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,820


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    More details?

    What are you trying to control?

    Why is needed more than 256 step?

    Remember that Digital Pot's have a minimum resistance at 0 level, usually around 100 ohms or less.

    Ioannis

  3. #3
    baldwics's Avatar
    baldwics Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I am trying to control an audio oscillator from 20Hz to 20KHz. The individual note pitch values are not linear but rather a log function. The manual pot that I am using is 100K Audio Log "LAW" pot that can sweep from 20Hz to 20KHz.

    Trying to find a programmable/PIC'able solution to the Log Pot.

    Thanks,
    Scott

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,820


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    You mean that a 100K pot is controling by means of a DC voltage an oscillator? If this is the case, what voltage range is your DC control?

    Ioannis

  5. #5
    MikeTamu's Avatar
    MikeTamu Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Look into using Pulse Width Modulation if your voltage range is 0 to 5 Volts. Or you could even modulate a transistor with a higher voltage at the collector. Your PIC might have a built in PWM generator and if so, you can easily control the duty cycle to give you changeable output analog voltage abilities.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,615


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink servo drive ???

    Hi, Baldwicks

    if your tone steps are not too short in time ... you could use an ALPS motorized pot ( see i.e. www.selectronic.fr ref 50.6278 as an example ) and a PIC to control the output freq and then correct the pot as desired. A kind of servo motor ... driven to give freq instead of position.

    you could then also keep manual drive of the freq ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kolkata-India
    Posts
    563


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Lightbulb If its a VCO you can try a different approach

    Hi,

    If you are using a VCO then you might use a few more pins on the PIC to shift the voltage level on both ends of the POT. Your options are high = 5 volts, low = 0 volts and input = HighZ.

    In this way you would increase the resolution of the whole thing.So your software would control the voltage ranges between say,

    0v to 1v
    1v to 2v
    3v to 4v
    4v to 5v

    and you get 256 steps on each. Since it is a self oscillator you can feed the osillator signal back to the PIC and make a dynamic calibration routine for drifts in your ladder DA circuit + POT.


    Wishing a speedy recovery to our forum member steve who is hurt in a car accident.

    Best Regards
    Sougata

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Auckland/New Zealand
    Posts
    19


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Improving DPP resolution

    Hello Baldwics,
    Find attached .pdf file on how to improve DPP resolution.
    suded.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Similar Threads

  1. Presetting Configuration Fuses (PIC Defines) into your Program
    By Melanie in forum FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions
    Replies: 82
    Last Post: - 15th December 2013, 09:54
  2. SMS via pic
    By kenandere in forum GSM
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 10th March 2010, 10:00
  3. Replies: 67
    Last Post: - 8th December 2009, 02:27
  4. HSERIN & Interupts (aka controlling PIC programs from a remote PC)
    By HankMcSpank in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: - 17th June 2009, 14:46
  5. Battery Backup with PIC controlling switch
    By Dwayne in forum Schematics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 27th December 2003, 13:16

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts