Problem with a program...


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    hawk72501's Avatar
    hawk72501 Guest

    Unhappy Problem with a program...

    I have made the following program:
    INCLUDE "modedefs.bas"

    TRISB=%11111111
    TRISC=%00001010

    W1 VAR WORD
    W2 VAR WORD
    loop:
    Count PORTB.7,3000,W1
    Count PORTB.6,3000,W2

    SerOut2 PORTC.0,84,["TIMES COUNTSa:",DEC W1,13,10]
    SerOut2 PORTC.0,84,["TIMES COUNTSb:",DEC W2,13,10]

    GoTo loop
    In pins B.7 and B.6 i have connected the 2 channels of an incremental quadrate encoder.The problem is that channel A(PortB.7) shows the right pulses but channel B(PortB.6) shows always 0 !I am sure that i have made the right connections .Do you know what goes wrong?

    Thank you in advance.Don't hesitate to answer me.I am desperate!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    how you connect the encoder? Pull-up, PUll-down resistor are there??
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Are you rotating the encoder for all six seconds? If you only rotate it while counting pulses on PortB.7, you will miss the pulses on portB.6.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,615


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Thumbs down With a little help from the manual ...

    You're right, ingvar ...

    as PBP can't do two things at a time ...it reads Portb.7 for 3 seconds and THEN Portb.6 for the 3 following seconds ...

    No hope this way ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  5. #5
    hawk72501's Avatar
    hawk72501 Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Ingavr and acetronics thanks for replying!Have you any idea how to make it working to count simultaneously the 2 channels?

    Mister_e thanks for replying.If i use a pull-up resistor of 2.7K is that ok?Should i turn the internal pull-ups off?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,615


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink

    Hi Hawk,

    another thread is still open on this subject ... SEARCH function !!!

    11 results ... no less !!!

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Ingavr and acetronics thanks for replying!Have you any idea how to make it working to count simultaneously the 2 channels?
    COUNT is not design to count on 2 pin at the time. You can use Interrupt on PORTB change. Once in the interrupt routine, read the whole PORTB, keep only the upper bit and see wich is LOW, increment a counter variable and TADA.

    OR without interrupt routine, poll the interrupt flag and do the same as above.

    HTH
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

Similar Threads

  1. Simple program - Strange problem!
    By Megahertz in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 19th December 2009, 22:52
  2. confused problem with interrupt in a working program
    By illuminator4 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 14th November 2008, 17:01
  3. Making Program Code Space your playground...
    By Melanie in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 19th July 2008, 08:26
  4. Problem to compile my program
    By wagner in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 7th July 2008, 20:17
  5. serial program and sensor problem
    By win_832001 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 10th April 2006, 04:16

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts