Do i have to use max232??


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    49

    Exclamation Do i have to use max232??

    When i am trying to send data pic to another pic do i have to use MAX232?
    coz i am trying these codes and not working....

    '''''''''''''''''''MASTER
    include "modedefs.bas"
    define CHAR_PACING 100
    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTD
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 4
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTD
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTD
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 1
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50
    adcon1=7
    t1 var word
    t1=0
    basla:
    t1=0
    lcdout $fe,1
    lcdout "counter"
    loop:
    if portb.0=0 then goto birinci
    goto loop
    birinci:
    serout porte.0,5,[1,13]
    serin porte.1,5,30,gel1,#t1
    gel1:
    lcdout $fe,1
    lcdout "counter",
    lcdout $fe,$c0
    lcdout "count:",#t1
    pause 2000
    goto basla
    end


    ''''''''''''''''SLAVE
    include "modedefs.bas"
    define CHAR_PACING 100
    CMCON = 7
    TRISA =%11111111
    b0 var byte
    b0=0
    COUNTER var word
    COUNTER = 0
    b1 var byte
    b1 =0
    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 4
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 3
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50
    sil:
    COUNTER=0
    lcdout $FE, 1
    lcdout "COUNTER"
    lcdout $fe,$c0
    lcdout "COUNT:"#COUNTER
    loop:
    serin portb.1,5,10,kontrol,B0
    if b0=1 then goto ok
    goto kontrol
    goto loop
    kontrol:
    button porta.4 ,0,255,255,b1,1,goster
    goto loop
    goster:
    COUNTER = COUNTER + 1
    lcdout $FE, 1
    lcdout "COUNTER"
    lcdout $fe,$c0
    lcdout "COUNT:"#COUNTER
    goto loop
    ok:
    pause 20
    serout portb.2,5,[#COUNTER,13]
    lcdout $FE, 1
    lcdout "COUNTER"
    lcdout $fe,$c0
    lcdout "COUNT SEND"
    pause 1000
    GOTO sil
    END


    SLAVE = 16F628 have a button on porta.4
    MASTER=16F877 have a button on portb.0
    Asking is not a shame but not learning is a SHAME!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Wichita KS
    Posts
    511


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hello Sub Zero,

    SZ>>When i am trying to send data pic to another pic do i have to use MAX232?<<

    No, you do not... your signal does not need to be inverted or anything like that.

    Take a look at the following:

    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=579


    Remember, take one step at a time... Can you verify your output with a scope? Can you verify data is being sent? Nothing like attempting to send data on a port that is not capable... like Porta.3 which is a input for some chips. <g>

    Dwayne
    Ability to Fly:
    Hurling yourself towards the ground, and missing.

    Engineers that Contribute to flying:
    Both optimists and pessimists contribute to the society. The optimist invents the aeroplane, the pessimist the parachute

    Pilots that are Flying:
    Those who know their limitations, and respect the green side of the grass...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    49


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question I did all of them but...

    I did all of them but not working.
    1. Make sure your Pins that you are using are I/O pins.
    2. Make sure your chip is running (MCLR not on Reset)
    3. Make sure there is no noise between the two pins. You may need a Resistor to Ground for this.
    4. Make sure you are using the simplest of the SerOut commands. No "Additives" yet!... Got to get the basics going first.
    5. Use the same Baud Rates, and use a SLOW Baud rate.
    6. Its best to use the same Clock speed at first, until communications has been established.

    2.do u mean i will not connect a resistor to mclr?(on both pics?)
    3.do u mean i must connect TX and RX to ground with a resistor like 1 K?
    Last edited by SuB-ZeRo; - 25th July 2005 at 23:25.
    Asking is not a shame but not learning is a SHAME!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    762


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Have a look at PBP Manual Sections 5.68 & 5.70

    Code:
    serin porte.1,5,30,gel1,#t1
    gel1:
    Doesn't make much sense
    regards

    Ralph

    _______________________________________________
    There are only 10 types of people:
    Those who understand binary, and those who don't ...
    _______________________________________________



  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    49


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Unhappy Ok i chage the command but it becomes worse

    i change the commands like u re suggestion
    like this
    serout porte.0,5,[1,13]
    serin porte.1,5,t1
    but this time nothing works
    Asking is not a shame but not learning is a SHAME!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    762


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I'm sorry Sub,

    I did not suggest to change it to what you have changed it to,

    I suggested to have a look at the Manual !
    regards

    Ralph

    _______________________________________________
    There are only 10 types of people:
    Those who understand binary, and those who don't ...
    _______________________________________________



Similar Threads

  1. PIC18F4680 to PC via MAX232 (RS232 serial) no output
    By opticsteam1 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 14th April 2008, 20:39
  2. PIC and MAX232 in/out
    By The Master in forum Serial
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: - 29th March 2008, 20:41
  3. RS232, max232
    By kutsi in forum General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 30th May 2007, 06:39
  4. MAX232 and DB9 connecter
    By Tomas in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: - 25th March 2006, 16:02
  5. MAX232 Level Converter
    By HarryK in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 8th March 2005, 08:25

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts