Touch screen 4-wire interface


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,598

    Default Touch screen 4-wire interface

    Hi,


    Has anyone had any success in connecting a touch screem using 4-wire technology to a PIC?

    If you have, code snippets as well as a schematic would go a long ways. Here is what I've found so far, the 4-wire circuitry is the larger box across the center. It has 4 wires from the touch screen, and 6 wires to the PIC.

    I'm told this circuit is pretty much 'good', for what that's worth. What I lack is the code to interpret the information at the PIC end. BASIC would be nice, but I'd take Assembler code at this point.

    Thanks, and have a nice day!


    Robert
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Demon; - 22nd June 2005 at 08:25. Reason: I cleaned up the pic to remove the clutter.
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    695


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,598


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks Luciano!

    Great article. It also uses a ADS7843D chip to receive the data from the 4-wire, making my life even easier.

    The code for the schematic (figure 3) is excellent. Very well commented, even I can understand what is going on, and best of all, it's in PIC BASIC Pro!

    ftp://ftp.circuitcellar.com/pub/Circ...14/Dalhlin.ZIP

    I've emailed Mr. Dahlin already and asked if I can have permission to use his code in my application. I hope that email addy in the article is still good.

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  4. #4
    egayam's Avatar
    egayam Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Touch screen interface PIC

    Does anyone have a code in C?

    What PIC should the right one to interface to touchscreen?

    Thank you.

  5. #5
    njoyalappatt's Avatar
    njoyalappatt Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Touch screen 4-wire interface

    Am trying to interface a 4wire resistive touch screen to pic 16F877A. I have connected it to 4,5,6,7 pins (adc pins).I want to control my two motors of the moving robot; ie, when i touch on 4 different positions, it has to move left, right, front,and backward. I like to know how to write the interfacing program.. (if possible in mikroc)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,598


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Touch screen 4-wire interface

    You would have better luck getting help with Mikro C from their forums:
    http://www.mikroe.com/forum/

    Robert

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,614


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Touch screen 4-wire interface

    Hi, njoyalapatt

    you'd better download the last MikroCPro for Pic compiler : in the provided examples, you will find how to use your GLCD touchscreen ...
    you'll also have libraries to easily drive the GLCD and touchscreen.

    May I talk about Visual GLCD ( another product from Mikroelektronika ) that helps you to easily design nice GLCD screens ...

    Moreover, If you are an owner of a MikroC license ... just ask for and the MikroCPro licence key will be returned to you for free.

    The old MikroC is not " the thing " for such a project, and overall PBP,as you have to Write your own libraries for GLCD and for Touchscreen.



    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 31st December 2011 at 18:09.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

Similar Threads

  1. 4 pin 4 x 4 keypad interface using pic basic pro
    By dunlao_john in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 15th January 2009, 05:21
  2. touch screen
    By micro in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 13th January 2006, 03:39
  3. having problems with Hantronix 20x4 lcd
    By Rhatidbwoy in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: - 22nd December 2005, 12:22
  4. Touch Screen Wish List!!!
    By Amity in forum PBP Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 15th September 2005, 14:40
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 10th June 2005, 07:31

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts