microcontroller vs plc vs 'microprocessor w/ peripherals'

Closed Thread

Default microcontroller vs plc vs 'microprocessor w/ peripherals'

i worked as a technician for a japanese company that shall remain undisclosed but anyway in the machines in their assembly line i saw on a machine that it had more than one plc(programmable logic controller) in it, as well as a computer but with no monitor (machine just interfaced to the computer via a port) and i dont know if it had any microcontroller chips in it.. but anyway i have a few questions

why would a control system need all of these? why cant one control the whole thing? why more than one plc? what can a plc do that a micro or a microcontroller or microprocessor can't? and vice-versa? all i know is that a plc is usually more expensive than a microcontroller so what exactly are you getting for that extra you're spending?

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Default Re: microcontroller vs plc vs 'microprocessor w/ peripherals'

Without more details on the application, multiple microcontrollers can be used in a modular approach. One microcontroller per task; it makes for simplified programming = lower costs.

There are many other advantages: you can replace one defective module, no need for expensive high-end multi-feature microcontroller, easier to add future modules, etc.

I always design in a modular fashion. It's so much easier to program, debug and repair.

Robert

(I have no experience with PLC)

Quote Originally Posted by Demon View Post
    Without more details on the application, multiple microcontrollers can be used in a modular approach. One microcontroller per task; it makes for simplified programming = lower costs.

There are many other advantages: you can replace one defective module, no need for expensive high-end multi-feature microcontroller, easier to add future modules, etc.

I always design in a modular fashion. It's so much easier to program, debug and repair.

Robert